Decarbonising the Energy Intensive Basic Materials Industry through Electrification

Implications for future EU electricity demand

Socket
  • News 08.12.2016

The need for deep decarbonisation in the energy intensive basic materials industry is increasingly recognised. In light of the vast future potential for renewable electricity, Stefan Lechtenböhmer (Wuppertal Institute), Lars J. Nilsson (Lund University), Max Åhman (Lund University) and Clemens Schneider (Wuppertal Institute) explore the implications of electrifying the production of basic materials in the European Union in a what-if thought experiment.

Their analysis suggests that electrification of basic materials production is technically possible but could have major implications on how the industry and the electric systems interact. It also entails substantial changes in relative prices for electricity and hydrocarbon fuels.

The paper "Decarbonising the energy intensive basic materials industry through electrification - Implications for future EU electricity demand" was published in Energy, Volume 115, part 3. It is available for download via ScienceDirect.


Further information

Links

Die energieintensive Rohstoffindustrie durch Elektrifizierung dekarbonisieren

Auswirkungen auf den Strombedarf der EU

Steckdose
  • News 08.12.2016

Zunehmend setzt sich die Erkenntnis durch, dass die Deep Decarbonisation auch in der energieintensiven Rohstoffindustrie notwendig ist. Im Hinblick auf das enorme Potenzial der erneuerbaren Elektrizität werfen Stefan Lechtenböhmer (Wuppertal Institut), Lars J. Nilsson (Lund University), Max Åhman (Lund University) und Clemens Schneider (Wuppertal Institut) einen Blick auf die Auswirkungen einer Elektrifizierung der Rohstoffproduktion in der Europäischen Union mittels eines Gedankenexperiments.

Ihre Analyse zeigt, dass eine Elektrifizierung der Rohstoffproduktion technisch umsetzbar ist, allerdings einschneidende Veränderungen in der Interaktion der Industrie mit Energiesystemen mit sich bringen würde. Hinzu kämen beachtliche Veränderungen der relativen Preise von Elektrizität und Treibstoffe.

Das Paper "Decarbonising the energy intensive basic materials industry through electrification - Implications for future EU electricity demand" wurde in Energy, Volume 115, Teil 3, veröffentlicht. Es steht via ScienceDirect zum Download zur Verfügung.


Weitere Informationen

Links