Euro Crafts 21 - Vocational Education for Sustainability in European Craft Sector

  • Project no.3429
  • Duration 10/2008 - 09/2010

In the context of future-orientated enterprises the capacity of sustainable management is more and more being considered as a factor of success. In view of a better integration of ecological, economical and social components into business politics and processes, the sustainability aspects have to be more intensively considered in the field of competence development within vocational education and training systems.

For the European craft sector appropriate qualification and consulting possibilities are still missing especially for employees in small-sized enterprises. Yet, due to the employment figures and the huge significance concerning the importance for the support of jobs and the influence regarding to growth, innovation and initiative, the European craft sector has been identified as an significant target group. The European umbrella organisation, Union Européenne de l'Artisanat et des Petites et Moyennes Entreprises (UEAPME), as an example, represents the interests of 11 million enterprises with about 50 million employees.

A pilot project called "development and testing of a trade-overarching qualification- and consulting concept for sustainable economy in the German craft sector" was realised in North Rhine-Westphalia. Within the project "Euro Crafts 21", it is now to be adapted at the European level by innovation transfer in order to improve the vocational education in Europe. Germany, Finland, Austria, Slovakia, Spain and Hungary are among the participating partner countries. Target groups for the development of competences in the field of sustainable economy and management in the European craft sector are:

  • Educational stuff at vocational education and training institutes;
  • Factory owners and business executives;
  • Consultants;
  • Multipliers.

The achievement of the above-mentioned aim will be realised by developing, pilot testing and disseminating adapted and expanded qualification and consulting offers. Following results and products (in English language and the languages of the partner countries) are to be explored:

  • Concept for the transfer and the adaption of a national Qualification and Consulting Concept (QCC) for the use in foreign European countries;
  • Train-the-Trainer concept for the QCC;
  • Country-specific qualification modules;
  • CD-Rom containing an adapted and expanded European QCC;
  • European teaching/learning materials and curricula for the European craft sector;
  • Project homepage with information and online-media;
  • Country-specific information and image brochures for the craft sector.

The Wuppertal Institute is responsible, together with the Trifolium Consultancy Ltd., to design and realise the innovation transfers by elaborating an adaptation concept for the already existing product that for example contains the conceptual disign, implementation and evaluation of the Train-the Trainer workshops.


Further project information

Links

Euro Crafts 21 - Kompetenzentwicklung zum Nachhaltigen Wirtschaften im europäischen Handwerk

  • Projekt-Nr. 3429
  • Laufzeit 10/2008 - 09/2010

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften wird zunehmend als Erfolgsfaktor für Unternehmen angesehen. Damit ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Komponenten jedoch besser in die Geschäftspolitik und -prozesse integriert werden können, müssen Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte verstärkt bei der Kompetenzentwicklung in der beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung berücksichtigt werden.

Für das europäische Handwerk liegen bisher kaum entsprechende Qualifizierungs- und Beratungsangebote vor, speziell für die Beschäftigten der Klein- und Kleinstbetriebe. Dabei kommt ihnen eine große Bedeutung hinsichtlich der Förderung unternehmerischer Initiative und Innovation sowie der Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen zu. So vertritt der europäische Dachverband, die Union Européenne de l'Artisanat et des Petites et Moyennes Entreprises (UEAPME), die Interessen von 11 Millionen Unternehmen mit rund 50 Millionen Beschäftigten.

Die Entwicklung und Erprobung eines gewerbe-übergreifenden Qualifizierungs- und Beratungskonzeptes für Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften im Handwerk war Gegenstand eines Pilotprojekts in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Dieses soll nun im Projekt "Euro Crafts 21" durch einen Innovationstransfer auf die europäische Ebene übertragen werden, um die berufliche Bildung im europäischen Handwerk zu verbessern. Beteiligte Partnerländer sind Deutschland, Finnland, Österreich, Slowakei, Spanien und Ungarn. Zielgruppen für die Kompetenzentwicklung in Hinblick auf eine nachhaltige Wirtschaftsweise im europäischen Handwerk sind:

  • Personal in der beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung;
  • Betriebsinhaber und Führungskräfte des Handwerks;
  • Betriebsberater im Handwerk;
  • Multiplikatoren.

Die Kompetenzentwicklung erfolgt über die Erstellung, Pilotierung und Verbreitung des adaptierten und ergänzten Qualifizierungs- und Beratungsangebots.
Folgende Ergebnisse sollen in englischer Sprache und in den Sprachen der Partnerländer entwickelt werden:

  • Konzept für den Transfer und die Adaptation eines nationalen QuB-Konzeptes in das europäische Ausland;
  • Train-the-Trainer Konzept für das QuB-Konzept;
  • Landesspezifische Qualifizierungsmodule;
  • CD-ROM mit adaptiertem und erweiterten europäischen QuB-Konzept;
  • Europäisches Lehr-/Lernmaterial und Curricula für das europäische Handwerk;
  • Projekt-Homepage mit Informationsangebot und Online-Medien;
  • Länderspezifische Informations- und Imagebroschüren für das Handwerk.

Die Aufgabe des Wuppertal Instituts zusammen mit der Trifolium Beratungsgesellschaft mbH ist es, den Innovationstransfers zu gestalten und zu realisieren. Dazu wird ein Konzept für die Adaptation des bestehenden Produktes erarbeitet, welches beispielsweise die Konzeptionierung, Durchführung und Evaluierung der Train-the-Trainer-Workshops beinhaltet.