Promotion of Climate Protection and Energy Efficiency in the Integrated Urban Development

  • Project no.1255
  • Duration 12/2009 - 09/2010

As the result of a broad public debate and ambitious climate policies at all legislative levels, there is currently a high demand for consultancy and information at municipal level about how climate protection can be successfully planned and implemented . In the German federal state of Schleswig-Holstein, the planning of integrated urban development strategies (ISEK) and municipal housing market concepts (WMK) provide an important framework for supporting the issues of climate protection and energy efficiency in the integrated urban development. Beside these concepts there are numerous decision-making situations where climate protection and energy-efficiency has to be integrated in current planning.
The primary objective of the project "Promotion of Climate Protection and Energy Efficiency in Integrated Urban Development" is the preparation of a guideline for municipalities in order to enable them to develop and pursue integrated urban development strategies and municipal housing market concepts.
A first working package explores the initiatives already existing in the municipalities of Schleswig-Holstein including the corresponding climate protection approaches and measures. A second working package develops a strategy for the state to further activate cities to implement ISEK and WMK-processes. A workshop with 60 participants and 22 participating municipalities held in July 2010 shall be an important basis. The aim of the third working package is to finally design a guideline for the implementation and follow-up of ISEK and WMK including the components energy (efficiency) and climate protection.
The project is conducted by the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy in cooperation with the ILS - Research Institute for Regional and Urban Development.

Förderung von Klimaschutz und Energieeffizienz in der integrierten Stadtentwicklung

  • Projekt-Nr. 1255
  • Laufzeit 12/2009 - 09/2010

Als Folge der breiten öffentlichen Diskussion und einer forcierten Klimaschutzpolitik auf allen legislativen Ebenen besteht derzeit auf kommunaler Ebene ein starker Beratungs- und Informationsbedarf zur Frage, wie Klimaschutz lokal sinnvoll konzeptioniert und erfolgreich umgesetzt werden kann. In Schleswig-Holstein bietet die Entwicklung von integrierten Stadtentwicklungskonzepten (ISEK) und kommunalen Wohnungsmarktkonzepten (WMK) einen wichtigen Rahmen, Belange des Klimaschutzes und der Energieeffizienz in der integrierten Stadtentwicklung zu stärken. Aber auch außerhalb dieser Konzepte können Kommunen in zahlreichen Entscheidungssituationen Klimaschutz und Energieeffizienz "mitdenken".
Die primäre Zielsetzung des Projekts "Förderung von Klimaschutz und Energieeffizienz in der integrierten Stadtentwicklung in Schleswig-Holstein" besteht in der Erstellung einer Arbeitshilfe für Kommunen zur Integration von Klimaschutz- und Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen in die Stadtentwicklung.
Hierzu wird in einem ersten Arbeitspaket ein Überblick über die von schleswig-holsteinischen Kommunen bereits erstellten ISEK und WMK und darin enthaltener Klimaschutzansätze und -maßnahmen sowie weiterer expliziter und impliziter Maßnahmen zur Integration von Klimaschutz in die Stadtentwicklung gewonnen. Ein zweites Arbeitspaket entwickelt eine Strategie des Landes zur Aktivierung von weiteren Städten in Sachen Klimaschutz und Energieeffizienz aktiv. Hierzu bieten die Ergebnisse eines Workshops mit ca. 60 Teilnehmern aus 22 Kommunen im Juli 2010 eine wichtige Grundlage. Im dritten Arbeitspaket wird schließlich eine Arbeitshilfe für die Integration von Klimaschutz und Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen in die Stadtentwicklung erstellt.
Die Erarbeitung des Projekts erfolgt durch das Wuppertal Institut für Klima Umwelt, Energie (WI) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Landes- und Stadtentwicklungsforschung (ILS).