"Sustainable McDonald's Germany" - Sustainable Value Creation and Healthy Diet

  • Project no.1439
  • Duration 11/2011 - 12/2015

The food sector is associated with high levels of resource use and occupation of arable land. In terms of total material requirements (TMR), the production of food and feed (including beverages) accounts for 465 million t per year and the sector ranks second in Germany in terms of resource use, right behind the construction industry.

Societal trends like increased mobility and flexibility of labour encourage out-of-house catering. In 2014 the take-away sector achieved over 71,1 billion Euros in sales. The sales figures illustrate that sustainable management in out-of-house catering (e.g. in schools, kindergartens, universities, hospitals, nursing homes, canteens or restaurants) may play a significant role with respect to the protection of resources and climate, as well as changing diets in Germany. As the market leader in system catering in Germany, McDonald's affects sustainability of people's dietary habits directly. In 2010, McDonald's has started to develop and implement a sustainability strategy with defined fields of activity and goals. These are continuously being implemented and refined.

The scientific interest of the Wuppertal Institute focused on possible transformative processes within the corporation towards more sustainable production und consumption patterns as well as their environmental and societal effects.

Core Research questions were:

  • Which sustainability potentials are within the scope of McDonald's influence along the value chain?
  • To which extent can McDonald's contribute to a (re-)configuration of more sustainable dietary habits?
  • Which future scenarios and strategies can be developed for McDonald's and the catering sector as a whole?
  • How can sustainability oriented change processes be initiated and which recommendations can be given?

Therefore, particular areas of research were:
"Sustainable Corporate Management"

  • Study "Sustainable McDonald's Germany"
  • Sustainability Strategy / Management

"Sustainable Value Chains"

  • Supply Chain Optimisation towards Sustainability

The results were presented in publications and events of diverse formats.

"Sustainable McDonald's Deutschland" - Nachhaltige Wertschöpfung und gesunde Ernährung

  • Projekt-Nr. 1439
  • Laufzeit 11/2011 - 12/2015

Der Bereich Ernährung ist mit hohen Ressourcenverbräuchen und Flächenbelegungen verbunden. Der Produktionssektor Nahrungs- und Futtermittel (inklusive Getränke) hat in Deutschland mit etwa 465 Mio. t pro Jahr (TMR) nach der Baubranche den zweithöchsten Ressourcenverbrauch.
Gesellschaftliche Trends wie verstärkte Mobilität und Flexibilisierung der Arbeit führen zu erhöhter Nachfrage nach Außer-Haus-Verpflegung. Im Jahr 2014 wurde im Außer-Haus-Markt ein Umsatz von über 71,1 Milliarden Euro erzielt. Diese Umsatzzahlen legen nahe, dass in der Außer-Haus-Verpflegung - sei es in Schule, Kindergarten, Universität, Krankenhaus, Pflegeheim, Betriebskantinen oder in der Gastronomie - ein nachhaltiges Wirtschaften einen großen Einfluss auf Ressourcenschonung und Klimaschutz sowie Ernährungsstile in Deutschland haben könnte. In der deutschen Systemgastronomie beeinflusst McDonald's als Marktführer mit, wie nachhaltig sich die Menschen ernähren. McDonald's hat 2010 begonnen, eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie mit definierten Aktivitätsfeldern und Zielen zu entwickeln. Diese befindet sich in kontinuierlicher Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung.

Das wissenschaftliche Interesse des Wuppertal Instituts richtete sich auf mögliche Veränderungsprozesse im Unternehmen und ihre Wirkungen hin zu nachhaltigerer Produktion und nachhaltigerem Konsum sowie mögliche Effekte auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft.
Zentrale Forschungsfragen waren u. a.:

  • Über welche Nachhaltigkeitspotenziale verfügt McDonald's in seinen Handlungsbereichen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette?
  • Inwieweit kann McDonald's dazu beitragen, Ernährungsgewohnheiten nachhaltiger zu gestalten?
  • Welche Zukunftsszenarien und -strategien lassen sich für McDonald's und die "Außer-Haus-Verpflegung" entwickeln?
  • Wie können nachhaltigkeitsorientierte Veränderungsprozesse angestoßen werden und welche Handlungsempfehlungen lassen sich ableiten?

Themenbereiche der Forschung waren daher:
"Nachhaltige Unternehmensführung"

  • Studie "Sustainable McDonald's Deutschland"
  • Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie /-management

"Nachhaltige Wertschöpfungsketten"

  • Supply Chain Optimierung in Richtung Nachhaltigkeit

Die Ergebnisse wurden in Fachpublikationen sowie auf Veranstaltungen unterschiedlichen Formats vorgestellt.