Social CSP

Energy and Development: Exploring the Local Livelihood Dimension of the NOORo I CSP Project in Southern Morocco

  • Project no.3158
  • Duration 03/2013 - 07/2015

This study conducted by Wuppertal Institute and Germanwatch explores how the social pillar of sustainability at the local level could be met in Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) projects. For this purpose, the authors evaluate the livelihood dimension of CSP technology based on a case study conducted on the 160 MW pilot CSP plant NOORo I in Ouarzazate, Morocco.

Two main approaches are pursued to develop answers to the research question "What are the positive and negative livelihood impacts at the local level stemming or anticipated from CSP projects, and how can livelihood co-benefits be maximized to achieve sustainable development in adjacent communities?":

1. Analyzing and assessing livelihood consequences: By conducting a partly ex-ante empirical case study of the Moroccan NOORo I project, the authors explore how the deployment of CSP technology evolves along with the livelihood realities of local communities and could lead to both positive and negative livelihood consequences.

2. Improving practice: The insights gained from the case study are combined with the analysis of existing sustainability frameworks from other fields. This allows to define applicable sustainability safeguards and best practice guidelines which can help to match the future design and operation of CSP technology with the development needs and livelihood realities of local communities.

The findings of the assessment indicate that in general the introduction of NOORo I was received very positively in the region of Ouarzazate. Although CSP technology (like any other comparable utility-scale infrastructure development) is not a panacea to alleviate regional poverty and to deliver broader socio-economic development gains, several benefits for the region were evaluated. Especially the creation of local employment opportunities, strengthened capacity, and improvements to social infrastructure in adjacent communities were found to be the most significant ways for demonstrating shared value and providing direct development prospects. Other, more indirect positive effects are strengthened family ties and social support from reversed migratory flows and an increased public interest in renewable energy.

In light of the region's precarious vulnerability context, most of the negative livelihood effects are only partially attributable to project activities. The majority of the identified change processes and adverse impacts are not new but are intertwined with the existing sustainability challenges in the region. That particularly includes impacts on land and water consumption but also a mismatch between the training currently offered by local institutions to address the requirements to work as well as a rise in local cost. Unlike the potential harm associated with mining activities and fossil fuel power plants at the local level, the negative impacts stemming from NOORo I were found to be low and significantly lower in areas including harm to public health and air and water pollution.

Based on both the results of the impact assessment and the suggestions provided by various local stakeholders, recommendations for the Moroccan Solar Plan and a set of 18 livelihood sustainability safeguards and best practice guidelines for planning and implementation schemes of CSP power plants were derived. They may help project developers, governments, and international lenders to address the needs and livelihood realities of local communities by building up CSP capacities in the MENA region. The lessons-learned generated in Morocco could enrich the sustainability debate by illustrating how utility-scale CSP projects could be designed to allow for triple wins in regards to climate protection, energy security and sustainable development.

The research was supported by the German Bonn International Center for Conversion (BICC), the Moroccan research and consultancy institute MENA Renewables and Sustainability (MENARES), the Moroccan Association Draa pour les Énergies Renouvelables, the Egyptian consultancy ETHRAA, as well as a team of independent researchers from Morocco, Egypt, Germany, and the United States.

Social CSP

Energie und Entwicklung: Untersuchung der Auswirkungen des NOORo I CSP-Projekts auf die lokalen Lebensgrundlagen in Südmarokko

  • Projekt-Nr. 3158
  • Laufzeit 03/2013 - 07/2015

Die vorliegende Studie von Wuppertal Institut und Gemanwatch untersucht, wie solarthermische Kraftwerke (CSP, concentrated solar power) die soziale Säule der Nachhaltigkeit auf lokaler Ebene stärken können. Am Beispiel des 160 MW CSP-Kraftwerks NOORo I in Ouarzazate, Marokko, werden die Auswirkungen dieser Technologie auf die lokalen Lebensgrundlagen evaluiert.

Um die zentrale Forschungsfrage "Welches sind die beobachteten und erwarteten positiven und negativen Auswirkungen eines CSP-Projekts auf die lokalen Lebensgrundlagen, und wie können die positiven Nebeneffekte auf die Lebensgrundlage maximiert und somit eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in umliegenden Gemeinden erreicht werden?" beantworten zu können, verfolgt die Studie im Wesentlichen zwei Untersuchungsrichtungen:

1. Auswirkungen auf die Lebensgrundlagen analysieren und bewerten: Durch eine (teilweise ex-ante durchgeführte) empirische Analyse des Kraftwerks NOORo I wird untersucht, inwiefern die umliegende Region vom Bau des CSP-Kraftwerkes profitiert, in welchem Umfang lokale Bedürfnisse berücksichtigt und inwiefern die Lebensgrundlagen der Bevölkerung vor Ort positiv oder auch negativ beeinflusst werden.

2. Praxis und Verfahren verbessern: Die durch die Fallstudie gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden durch Aspekte von Nachhaltigkeitsansätzen aus anderen Fachgebieten ergänzt. Dies ermöglicht, Nachhaltigkeits-Anforderungen und Best Practice-Vorgaben zu benennen, mit denen zukünftige CSP-Vorhaben in Einklang mit Entwicklungsbedürfnissen der lokalen Bevölkerung gebracht werden können.

Die Ergebnisse der Studie zeigen, dass Planung und Bau des Kraftwerkes NOORo I durch die lokale Bevölkerung sehr positiv aufgenommen wurde. Obwohl ein derartiges CSP-Projekt (ebenso wie jede andere vergleichbare Infrastrukturmaßnahme) keine allumfassende Lösung für Marokkos drängende Entwicklungserfordernisse darstellt, wurde dennoch eine Vielzahl von Zusatznutzen für die gesamte Region sichtbar. Insbesondere werden die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen, die Stärkung lokaler Kapazitäten sowie die Verbesserung der sozialen Infrastruktur in angrenzenden Gemeinden als hoch bedeutsam für die Entwicklung vor Ort wahrgenommen. Daneben und in deren Folge gibt es zahlreiche indirekte positive Auswirkungen wie ein stärkerer Familienzusammenhalt, soziale Unterstützung für zurück gekehrte Wanderarbeiter oder ein gesteigertes öffentliches Interesse an erneuerbaren Energien.

Neben diesen positiven wurden auch negative Auswirkungen sichtbar. Diese können jedoch nur zum Teil dem eigentlichen Kraftwerksprojekt zugeordnet werden und müssen relativ zur prekären Vulnerabilität der gesamten Region gesehen werden. Relevant waren hierbei insbesondere die Auswirkungen auf den lokalen Wasser- und Landverbrauch, aber auch ein fehlendes Ausbildungsniveau lokaler Einrichtungen in Bezug auf die Anforderungen von Arbeitnehmern sowie ein steigendes Kostenniveau in der Region. Doch gegenüber den negativen Auswirkungen, die eine Förderung fossiler Rohstoffe oder der Betrieb konventioneller Kraftwerke auf die lokale und regionale Ebene hätte, können die festgestellten Wirkungen von NOORo I generell als niedrig und im Hinblick auf potenzielle Gesundheitsgefahren sowie Luft- und Wasserverschmutzung als äußerst gering eingestuft werden.

Basierend auf den Ergebnissen der empirischen Analyse und Vorschlägen verschiedenster lokaler Stakeholder wurden Empfehlungen für die Weiterentwicklung des Marokkanischen Solarplans sowie ein Set von 18 Nachhaltigkeits-Anforderungen und Best-Practice-Empfehlungen für Bau und Betrieb von CSP-Kraftwerken erarbeitet. Sie liefern einen wichtigen Input für Projektentwickler sowie Regierungen und Entwicklungsbanken, um im Zuge des zukünftigen Ausbaus der CSP-Technologie in der MENA-Region die Entwicklungsbedürfnisse der lokalen Bevölkerung miteinzubeziehen. Für die internationale Nachhaltigkeitsdebatte zeigen die Erfahrungen aus Marokko, wie scheinbar konkurrierende Ziele in den Bereichen Klimawandel, Energiesicherheit und nachhaltige Entwicklung gemeinsam und kohärent verfolgt werden können.

Die Studie wurde durch das Bonn International Center for Conversion (BICC), das marokkanische Forschungs- und Beratungsinstitut MENA Renewables and Sustainability (MENARES), die marokkanische Association Draa pour les Ènergies Renouvelables, das ägyptische Beratungsunternehmen ETHRAA sowie zahlreiche unabhängige Experten aus Marokko, Ägypten, Deutschland und den USA unterstützt.