Sustainability Strategy North Rhine-Westphalia

Conceptual Analyses and Considerations on Designing a Sustainability Strategy NRW from the Science Perspective

  • Project no.150101, 250102, 350099, 3623, 450100
  • Duration 11/2013 - 02/2017

The federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) is on its way to further develop its "Sustainability strategy NRW". In the project, conceptual analysis and reflections are carried out for the design of such a strategy based on the results of previous studies on sustainability strategies of other countries and policy levels. The project shall also learn from good practice examples in other federal states: Where have holistic and integrative sustainability strategies been created? What are success factors?

From the beginning a "TEAM Sustainability" is involved in the design and the process of discussion for a sustainability strategy NRW. The TEAM consists of sustainability relevant stakeholders from NRW and combines various facets and contents of the sustainability debate.

The aim is to clarify principles of a sustainability strategy for NRW and to collect the activities and measures in the country that are already carried out. Concrete approaches have to be identified for the selected fields of action of the sustainability strategy NRW and implementation possibilities have to be presented for selected examples. In addition, it will be important to analyse institutional requirements for a sustainability strategy NRW, which are essential for the implementation, the management and the continuous reporting.

With a view to sustainability related fields of action it will have to be determined to which extent (and with which target values) qualified and/or quantified targets should be defined. The determining of appropriate sustainability indicators can be based on experiences of European and national level as well as on the experience of other federal states.

It is envisaged to accompany the development of a sustainability strategy with a sustainability vision NRW 2030. The vision is about a striking description of possible lines of development that uses NRW specifics: How do we want to live, work and reside in the future? How do we want to produce and consume? These and other questions have to be discussed with the "TEAM Sustainability", other key stakeholders and citizens from NRW.

In the project Sustainable Strategies North Rheine-Westphalia (NRW) an in-depth study on "alternative economies" entitled "Analysis of alternative economy approaches: sustainability impact and need for action in NRW state policy - Exploratory Analysis" will be conducted. This study is intended to systematize different forms of "alternative economies" and distinguish them not only from each other, but also from classical economies. The examined approaches are to be analysed both for their potentials and effects. Based on this the resulting recommendations for the state government are to be derived. An interdisciplinary working TEAM from the Wuppertal Institute will examine alternative economic systems in three selected areas (mobility, food and housing/energy), to assess their importance for a sustainable development in North Rhine-Westphalia.

Sponsor:
Ministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Landwirtschaft, Natur- und Verbraucherschutz des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW

Konzeptionelle Analysen und Überlegungen zur Ausgestaltung einer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht

  • Projekt-Nr. 150101, 250102, 350099, 3623, 450100
  • Laufzeit 11/2013 - 02/2017

Das Land NRW ist auf dem Weg, seine "Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW" weiter zu entwickeln. In dem Projekt werden basierend auf den Ergebnissen vorausgegangener Studien zu Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien anderer Länder und Politikebenen konzeptionelle Analysen und Überlegungen zur Ausgestaltung einer solchen Strategie durchgeführt. Dabei soll auch von guten Beispielen anderer Bundesländer gelernt werden: Wo wurden ganzheitliche und integrative Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien angelegt? Was sind Erfolgsfaktoren?

Von Anfang an eingebunden in die Ausgestaltung und den Diskussionsprozess um eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW wird ein "Team Nachhaltigkeit". Das Team setzt sich aus nachhaltigkeitsrelevanten Akteuren des Landes zusammen und bündelt dabei verschiedene Facetten und Inhalte der Nachhaltigkeitsdebatte.

Es gilt für NRW Leitprinzipien einer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie zu klären und zu erfassen, welche Aktivitäten und Maßnahmen im Land dazu bereits durchgeführt werden. Für die ausgewählten Handlungsfelder der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW sollen zudem konkrete Handlungsansätze identifiziert und für ausgewählte Beispiele Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten dargestellt werden. Zudem wird es darum gehen, institutionelle Erfordernisse für eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW zu analysieren, die für die Umsetzung, das Management und die kontinuierliche Berichterstattung essentiell sind.

Mit Blick auf die nachhaltigkeitsrelevanten Handlungsfelder wird abzustimmen sein, in welchem Umfang (und mit welchen Zielwerten) qualifizierte und/oder quantifizierte Ziele, definiert werden sollen. Bei der Festlegung entsprechender Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren kann auf Erfahrungen von europäischer und nationaler Ebene ebenso aufgebaut werden wie auf Erfahrungen anderer Bundesländer.

Es ist vorgesehen die Entwicklung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie mit einer Nachhaltigkeitsvision NRW 2030 zu flankieren. Hier geht es um eine Vision, eine plakative Beschreibung möglicher Entwicklungslinien, die auf NRW-Spezifika aufsetzt: Wie wollen wir zukünftig leben, arbeiten und wohnen? Wie wollen wir produzieren und konsumieren? Diese und weitere Fragen sind mit dem "Team Nachhaltigkeit", weiteren Schlüsselakteuren und Bürger(inne)n des Landes zu erörtern.

Im Projekt Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW wird eine vertiefende Studie zum Thema "Alternatives Wirtschaften" mit dem Projekttitel "Analyse von Ansätzen der Alternativen Ökonomien: Nachhaltigkeitswirkungen und Handlungsbedarf für die Landespolitik NRW - Explorative Analyse" durchgeführt. Darin ist vorgesehen, die sich unter dem Begriff "Alternative Ökonomien" fassenden Formen zu systematisieren und sowohl voneinander, als auch zur klassischen Ökonomie abzugrenzen. Die untersuchten Ansätze sollen hinsichtlich ihrer Potenziale und Wirkungen untersucht und daraus resultierend Handlungsempfehlungen für die Landesregierung abgeleitet werden. Ein interdisziplinäres Arbeitsteam im Wuppertal Institut wird in drei ausgewählten Bedürfnisfeldern (Mobilität, Ernährung und Wohnen/Energie), alternative Wirtschaftsformen untersuchen, um ihre Bedeutung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung von Nordrhein-Westfalen einzuschätzen.

Förderer:
Ministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Landwirtschaft, Natur- und Verbraucherschutz des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen


Weitere Projektinformationen

Downloads

Links