Deep Decarbonization Pathways Project - Country Study Germany

  • Project no. 150254
  • Duration 10/2014 - 06/2015

The Deep Decarbonization Pathways Project (DDPP) is an international initiative trying to show how country-specific pathways to a low carbon economy could look like. The project aims at compiling a comprehensive report which serves as a pivotal preparatory document for the 21. Conference of Parties (COP) of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and will be submitted to the French government prior to the COP.

Currently, the DDPP consists of 15 country teams bringing together leading scientists and institutions. Each country team prepares a country-specific analysis by highlighting possible national deep decarbonization pathways until 2050. The Wuppertal Institute is responsible for compiling the country study for Germany. In the framework of the country study, it will be identified which specific conditions are necessary to allow for the implementation of very ambitious mitigation efforts in Germany. Furthermore, the importance of different sectors for mitigation pathways will be analysed and the pathways will be examined in the context of the current national energy and climate policy targets.

While the first stage of the DDPP (finished in September 2014) concentrated on the technical feasibilty of deep decarbonization pathways, in this second stage the focus lies on an in-depth analysis on the basis of an integrated scenario-based approach. Thereby, also factors which are important with regard to political decision making and the implementation of mitigation measures will be taken into account. As the analysis will be carried out using an overall perspective, co-benefits resulting from the realization of deep decarbonization pathways will also be discussed. Moreover, political instruments fostering the implementation of GHG reduction measures will be considered and the need for innovation determined.

Deep Decarbonization Pathways Project - Länderstudie Deutschland

  • Projekt-Nr. 150254
  • Laufzeit 10/2014 - 06/2015

Das Deep Decarbonization Pathways Project (DDPP) ist eine gemeinschaftliche internationale Initiative, um besser zu verstehen und zu zeigen, wie individuelle Länder den Transitionspfad zu einer klimaverträglichen Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft (low carbon economy) gestalten können, so dass weltweit die Gefahren durch den Klimawandel begrenzt werden. Ziel des DDPP ist die Fertigstellung eines umfassenden Berichts, der vor der 21. Vertragsstaatenkonferenz (COP 21) der UN Klimarahmenkonvention (UNFCCC) an die französische Regierung übergeben wird und ein zentrales Vorbereitungsdokument für die Konferenz darstellt.

Aktuell umfasst das DDPP 15 Länderteams, über die führende Wissenschaftler(innen) und Institutionen aus Ländern zusammen geführt werden, die nationale Deep Decarbonization Pathway (DDP) Analysen für das Jahr 2050 erarbeiten. Das Wuppertal Institut erstellt die Länderstudie für Deutschland. Darin soll analysiert werden, unter welchen spezifischen Bedingungen die Umsetzung von sehr ambitionierten Minderungspfaden in Deutschland möglich ist, welche Sektoren diesbezüglich welche Bedeutung haben und wie diese Pfade im Kontext der aktuellen energie- und klimapolitischen Zielsetzungen zu sehen sind.

Während in der ersten im September 2014 abgeschlossenen Vorphase der Fokus auf der eher technischen Analyse der Umsetzbarkeit von DDPs gelegen hat, geht es in der zweiten Phase um eine deutliche Vertiefung der länderspezifischen Untersuchung in einem integrierten, szenariogestützten Ansatz. Dabei werden für die Umsetzung und die politische Entscheidungsfindung zentrale Größen soweit wie möglich mit erfasst, eine Gesamtperspektive eingenommen und so u. a. auch der Zusatznutzen von Treibhausgasminderungspfaden diskutiert. Mit Blick auf die Umsetzbarkeit und Steuerbarkeit wird auf die verfügbaren politischen Instrumentarien Bezug genommen und schließlich der Innovationsbedarf skizziert.