WTW

Well-Being Transformation Wuppertal - an Urban Transition Laboratory for Sustainable Economics

  • Project no.350166
  • Duration 05/2015 - 04/2018

What does a sustainable economy, quality of life and urban transformation mean in cities such as Wuppertal, which are struggling with deep structural changes? How can impulses for more sustainability coming from the city's civil society be described, structured and supported? How can quality of life be decoupled from material economic growth and resource consumption?

The project WTW seeks comprehensive answers to these questions, organised in the following sub-projects:

  • Development of an overarching concept of urban well-being, based on the existing set of indicators in the OECD Better Life Index.
  • Mapping of different projects and initiatives run by the city, companies or civil society groups and evaluation of their effects on well-being.
  • Networking and support of existing initiatives in order to further increase the creation of well-being while reducing environmental impacts.
  • Conceptual and methodological developments of the approaches of real-world laboratories and real-world experiments.

Following the principles of transdisciplinary science, the research process does not only bridge various disciplines but also takes place in a dialogue with the citizens of Wuppertal as well as organised actors from civil society and the city's administration. The parties involved will develop a joint vision of a good life in Wuppertal. Projects aiming to create well-being will be developed and realised in four selected quarters of the city together with local groups.

WTW is a joint project between the Wuppertal Institute and the University of Wuppertal. It is located at TransZent, the Centre for Transformation Research and Sustainability founded by the University of Wuppertal and the Wuppertal Institute.
You can find additional information on the project at the TransZent website.

WTW

Wohlstands-Transformation Wuppertal - ein urbanes Transformationslabor für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

  • Projekt-Nr. 350166
  • Laufzeit 05/2015 - 04/2018

Was bedeuten nachhaltiges Wirtschaften, Lebensqualität und urbane Transformation konkret in Städten wie Wuppertal, die stark vom Strukturwandel betroffen sind? Wie lassen sich Impulse aus der Stadtgesellschaft für mehr Nachhaltigkeit beschreiben, aufgreifen und unterstützen? Wie kann Lebensqualität von rein materiellem Wachstum und Ressourcenverbrauch entkoppelt werden?

WTW geht diesen Fragen konsequent und umfassend nach und umfasst folgende Teilprojekte:

  • Entwicklung eines erweiterten Wohlstandsverständnisses für eine Stadt auf der Grundlage des bestehenden Messsystems "OECD Better Life Index".
  • Kartierung von unterschiedlichen Projekten und Initiativen seitens Stadt, Unternehmen und zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen und Evaluierung ihrer Effekte auf einen umfassend verstandenen Wohlstand.
  • Vernetzung und Unterstützung von bestehenden Initiativen, um eine urbane Wohlstandsproduktion bei reduziertem Umweltverbrauch weiter zu erhöhen.
  • Konzeptionelle und methodische Weiterentwicklungen des Ansatzes der Reallabore bzw. Realexperimente, um sie im urbanen Kontext zur Wohlstandssteigerung einzusetzen.

Im Sinne eines transdisziplinären Wissenschaftsverständnisses ist der Forschungsprozess nicht nur fachübergreifend angelegt, sondern findet zugleich im Dialog mit Wuppertaler Bürger(inne)n sowie zivilgesellschaftlichen und kommunalen Akteur(inn)en statt. So wird gemeinsam erarbeitet, was ein "gutes Leben" bedeutet und in vier ausgewählten Stadtteilen in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen AkteurInnen Projekte, die erweiterten Wohlstand zum Ziel haben, konzipiert und realisiert.

WTW ist ein Verbundprojekt von Wuppertal Institut und Bergischer Universität Wuppertal. Verortet ist das Projekt am TransZent, dem von Wuppertal Institut und Bergischer Universität Wuppertal gegründeten Zentrum für Transformationsforschung und Nachhaltigkeit.
Aktuelle Informationen zum Projekt befinden sich auch auf der TransZent-Homepage.