Carbon as Investment Risk

The influence of fossil fuel divestment on Germany's main power providers

  • News 11.09.2015

German electricity giants have recently taken high-level decisions to remove selected fossil fuel operations from their company portfolio. This new corporate strategy could be seen as a direct response to the growing global influence of the fossil fuel divestment campaign.

Dagmar Kiyar (Wuppertal Institute) and Bettina B. F. Wittneben (University of Oxford) examine in their paper whether the divestment movement currently exerts significant influence on decision-making at the top four German energy giants - E.ON, RWE, Vattenfall and EnBW. They come to the conclusion that this is not yet the case, but that rather four alternative influences on corporate strategy have currently a greater impact than the divestment movement in Germany's power sector. In time, however, clear political decisions, like a phasing out of global fossil fuels subsidies and strong civil support may increase the significance of climate change concerns in the strategic management of the German electricity giants.

The paper "Carbon as Investment Risk - The Influence of Fossil Fuel Divestment on Decision Making at Germany's Main Power Providers" was published in the open access journal "Energies" and is available for download.


Further information

Links

Kohlenstoff als Investitionsrisiko

Der Einfluss fossiler Brennstoff-Divestments auf Deutschlands Energieriesen

  • News 11.09.2015

Jüngst erst haben Deutschlands Energieriesen weitreichende Entscheidungen getroffen, um ausgewählte fossile Kraftwerke aus ihrem Portfolio zu entfernen. Man könnte dies als direkte Antwort auf die erstarkende globale Fossil Fuel Divestment Kampagne interpretieren, die darauf zielt, Aktien, Anleihen oder Investmentfonds aufzugeben, die unökologisch oder unter ethischen Gesichtspunkten fragwürdig sind.

Dagmar Kiyar (Wuppertal Institut) und Bettina B. F. Wittneben (University of Oxford) haben in ihrem Paper untersucht, ob die Divestment-Bewegung derzeit einen signifikanten Einfluss auf strategische Entscheidungen der vier größten deutschen Energieversorger (E.ON, RWE, Vattenfall und EnBW) nimmt - und kommen zu dem Ergebnis, dass dies - zumindest noch - nicht der Fall ist. Stattdessen zeigen sie vier alternative Auslöser auf, die einen unmittelbareren Einfluss auf die strategischen Entscheidungen der Firmen in Deutschlands Energiesektor haben. Deutlichere klimapolitische Entscheidungen, wie der Abbau globaler Subventionen für fossile Brennstoffe und ein wachsendes Bewusstsein seitens der Bevölkerung, können mit der Zeit dazu führen, dass der Klimaschutz innerhalb des strategischen Managements bei Deutschlands Energieriesen an Bedeutung gewinnt.

Das Paper "Carbon as Investment Risk - The Influence of Fossil Fuel Divestment on Decision Making at Germany's Main Power Providers" wurde in dem Open-Access-Journal "Energies" veröffentlicht und steht online zum Download zur Verfügung.


Weitere Informationen

Links