National Policies for Resource Efficiency and Waste Management

Structures, impacts, and deficits

Paper
  • News 09.03.2016

The paper "National Policies for Resource Efficiency and Waste Management - Structures, impacts, and deficits" by Wuppertal Institute's Bettina Bahn-Walkowiak, Nadja von Gries and Henning Wilts explores institutional and political factors impacting on waste and resource management. It looks at the progress made to date in order to tackle the challenges enunciated by the Roadmap to a Resource Efficient Europe and identifies political, institutional and (infra)structural barriers in national systems that hinder a better performance of resource efficiency.

The empirical analysis of resource policy and waste management regimes and their characteristics in 4/10 EU Member States points to large unexploited potentials as regards innovation and particularly eco-innovation and related investments. The different institutional set-ups and target systems in the countries as well as the diversity in policy choices depicts goal conflicts and strong policy incoherencies and a general uncertainty how to approach a transformation to improved resource and waste management. Conclusions call for better coordinated policy mixes at national level and more coherent governance at EU level.

The paper was submitted to the session "Power relations and overcoming vested interests" of the 11th International Conference of the European Society for Ecological Economics (ESEE 2015) at the University of Leeds. It can be downloaded at the conference's website.

Nationale Politikstrategien für ein effizientes Ressourcen- und Abfallmanagement

Strukturen, Einflüsse und Defizite

Papier
  • News 09.03.2016

Das Paper "National Policies for Resource Efficiency and Waste Management - Structures, impacts, and deficits" von Bettina Bahn-Walkowiak, Nadja von Gries und Henning Wilts vom Wuppertal Institut untersucht institutionelle und politische Faktoren, welche einen Einfluss auf das Abfall- und Ressourcenmanagement haben. Dabei wird ein Blick auf den Fortschritt bis dato geworfen, um die Herausforderungen, welche in der "Roadmap to a Resource Efficient Europe" formuliert werden, anzugehen und politische, institutionelle und (infra-)strukturelle Barrieren in nationalen Systemen identifiziert, welche eine höhere Ressourceneffizienz verhindern.

Die empirische Analyse von Ressourcenrichtlinien und Abfallmanagementregimen und deren Charakteristika bei 4/10 EU-Mitgliedsstaaten weist auf die hohen, nicht ausgeschöpften Potentiale bei Innovationen und besonders Öko-Innovationen und die zugehörigen Investments hin. Die unterschiedlichen institutionellen Set-ups und Target Systeme in den verschiedenen Ländern sowie die Vielfalt an Politikwahlmöglichkeiten verdeutlicht die Konflikte bei den Zielen und eine starke Unvereinbarkeit der Politik sowie eine generelle Unsicherheit, wie eine Transformation hin zu einem verbesserten Ressourcen- und Abfallmanagement angegangen werden soll. Folglich wird ein besser koordinierter Policy Mix auf nationaler Ebene und eine kohärentere Führung auf EU-Ebene gefordert.

Das Paper war Teil der Session "Power relations and overcoming vested interests" der 11th International Conference of the European Society for Ecological Economics (ESEE 2015) an der University of Leeds. Es steht auf der Konferenzwebsite zum Download bereit.