Electrolytically-produced Hydrogen as a Flexible Energy Storage Medium and Fuel for Road Transport

Re-energising energy supply

Publication
  • News 14.07.2017

"Energiewende", which roughly translates as the transformation of the German energy sector in accordance with the imperatives of climate change, may soon become a byword for the corresponding processes most other developed countries are at various stages of undergoing. Germany's notable progress in this area offers valuable insights that other states can draw on in implementing their own transitions.

The German state of North Rhine-Westphalia is making its own contribution to achieving the Energiewende's ambitious objectives: in addition to funding an array of "clean and green" projects, the Virtual Institute Power to Gas and Heat was established as a consortium of seven scientific and technical organisations whose aim is to inscribe a future, renewable-based German energy system with adequate flexibility. Thus, it is tasked with conceiving of and evaluating sustainable energy path options.

The paper by Bernd Emonts, Sebastian Schiebahn (both Forschungszentrum Jülich), Klaus Görner (Gas- und Wärme-Institut Essen e.V.), Dietmar Lindenberger (Institute of Energy Economics at the University of Cologne), Peter Markewitz (Forschungszentrum Jülich), Frank Merten (Wuppertal Institute), and Detlef Stolten (Forschungszentrum Jülich; RWTH Aachen University) outlines one of the most promising of these pathways, which is predicated on the use of electrolytically-produced hydrogen as an energy storage medium, as well as the replacement of hydrocarbon-based fuel for most road vehicles. The authors describe and evaluate this path and place it in a systemic context, outlining a case study from which other countries and federated jurisdictions therein may draw inspiration.

The paper "Re-energizing energy supply: Electrolytically-produced hydrogen as a flexible energy storage medium and fuel for road transport" was published in the Journal of Power Sources, volume 342, and is available for purchase via ScienceDirect.

Elektrolytisch erzeugter Wasserstoff als flexibles Energiespeichermedium und Treibstoff für den Straßentransport

Energieversorgung neu organisieren

Publikation
  • News 14.07.2017

"Energiewende", grob verstanden als die Transformation des deutschen Energiesektors im Einklang mit dem Klimawandel, kann bald ein Innbegriff für entsprechende Prozesse in anderen Industrieländern werden. Deutschlands bedeutender Fortschritt in diesem Bereich bietet wertvolle Einsichten, die andere Staaten bei der Implementierung der eigenen Transformation anwenden können.

Das Bundesland Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW) leistet einen eigenen Beitrag zur Erreichung der ambitionierten Ziele der Energiewende: Neben einer Reihe von "sauberen und grünen" Projekten wurde das Virtuelle Institut für Strom zu Gas und Wärme gegründet, welches als Konsortium von sieben wissenschaftlichen und technischen Organisationen ein zukunftsfähiges, auf erneuerbaren Energien basierendes Energiesystem mit ausreichender Flexibilität anstrebt. Folglich beschäftigt sich das Institut mit der Konzipierung und Evaluierung von möglichen nachhaltigen Energiepfaden.

Das Paper von Bernd Emonts, Sebastian Schiebahn (beide vom Forschungszentrum Jülich), Klaus Görner (Gas- und Wärme-Institut Essen e.V.), Dietmar Lindenberger (Energiewirtschaftliches Institut an der Universität zu Köln), Peter Markewitz (Forschungszentrum Jülich), Frank Merten (Wuppertal Institut) und Detlef Stolten (Forschungszentrum Jülich; RWTH Aachen University) skizziert einen der vielversprechendsten Wege, beruhend auf der Verwendung von elektrolytisch erzeugtem Wasserstoff als Energiespeichermedium sowie auf dem Austausch von kohlenwasserstoffbasierten Treibstoff für die meisten Straßenfahrzeuge. Die Autoren beschreiben und evaluieren diesen Weg und setzen ihn in einen systemischen Kontext, skizziert in einer Fallstudie, welche als Beispiel für andere Länder und föderierte Rechtsordnungen fungieren kann.

Das Paper "Re-energizing energy supply: Electrolytically-produced hydrogen as a flexible energy storage medium and fuel for road transport" wurde im Journal of Power Sources, Ausgabe 342, veröffentlicht und ist bei ScienceDirect verfügbar.