Vision Development towards a Sustainable North Rhine-Westphalia 2030

Paper presents results from a science-practice-dialogue

Publication
  • News 26.07.2017

This paper presents the results of a participatory vision development process in the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) in Germany. The vision development was part of a scientific research project that accompanied the development of a sustainable strategy for NRW at state level. The Sustainability Strategy NRW was adopted in July 2016 and contains parts of the vision developed in the research project.

The vision was developed in iterative steps in three consecutive dialogue rounds with different stakeholders from science and practice. The paper presents the methodological approach and the results of the vision formulation process. The lessons learnt from the vision development - from both practical and theoretical perspectives of transition management - are discussed and the relevance of setting ambitious targets for sustainable development as part of a state strategy is explored.

The project demonstrated that a participatory approach for vision development is time and resource consuming, but worth the effort as it improves the quality and acceptance for a vision. Furthermore, it demonstrated that transformative science contributes valuable inputs for sustainability transitions and for facilitating participatory vision development.

The paper "Vision Development towards a Sustainable North Rhine-Westphalia 2030 in a Science-Practice-Dialogue" by Miriam Müller and Oscar Reutter was published in Sustainability, volume 9, issue 7. It is available for free download.

Visionsentwicklung für ein Nachhaltiges Nordrhein-Westfalen 2030

Ergebnisse des Science-Practice-Dialogs veröffentlicht

Publikation
  • News 26.07.2017

In diesem Paper werden die Ergebnisse des partizipativen Prozesses zur Visionsentwicklung für Nordrhein-Westfalen präsentiert. Der Prozess war Teil eines Forschungsprojekts, welches die Entwicklung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW auf Landesebene begleitete. Die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW wurde im Juli 2016 verabschiedet und enthält Teile der Vision, die in diesem Projekt entwickelt wurden.

Die Vision wurde in iterativen Schritten in drei aufeinanderfolgenden Dialogrunden mit verschiedenen Stakeholdern aus Wissenschaft und Praxis entwickelt. Das Paper fasst die methodologische Herangehensweise und die Ergebnisse des Formulierungsprozesses zusammen. Zudem werden die gewonnen Erkenntnisse - sowohl aus praktischer wie theoretischer Perspektive im Transition-Management - diskutiert und erklärt, warum eine ambitionierte Zielsetzung hinsichtlich einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung für eine Landesstrategie relevant ist.

Das Projekt zeigte, dass ein partizipativer Prozess für Visionsentwicklung zwar zeit- und ressourcenaufwändig ist, dass sich dieser Aufwand jedoch lohnt, da er zu einer höheren Qualität und Akzeptanz der Vision führt. Außerdem zeigte das Projekt, dass transformative Wissenschaft wertvolle Inputs für nachhaltige Transformationen und partizipative Visionenentwicklung liefert.

Das Paper "Vision Development towards a Sustainable North Rhine-Westphalia 2030 in a Science-Practice-Dialogue" von Miriam Müller und Oscar Reutter wurde in Sustainability, Band 9, Ausgabe 7 veröffentlicht. Es steht zum freien Download zur Verfügung.