Carbon Pricing - the Future of Market-Oriented Mechanisms

Event series "NRW Climate Lounge" on COP23 at Post Tower in Bonn

COP Key Visual
  • Events 15.11.2017
NRW Climate Lounge

The event series "NRW Climate Lounge" offers events alongside COP23 on nine weekdays from 5 – 7 p.m. Before introducing the topic of the day, the Wuppertal Institute will present the daily update on the current official negotiations at COP23.

During the next event, background information regarding carbon pricing will be disclosed, its desired effects will be outlined and the various forms of carbon pricing that are currently being implemented and planned worldwide will be reported.

After the adoption of the Paris Agreement with its very ambitious objectives, the question is now which mechanisms will ensure global climate protection. This involves not only effectiveness, but above all it requires an efficient implementation. This explains the growing interest worldwide in instruments and concepts to put a price on carbon. Instruments like emissions trading or taxes and fees leave it up to the emitter as to whether, when and how they will become active or if they will buy additional certificates from other emitters or pay a price. Through this method, individual economic decisions optimise the burden on the economy as a whole. Instruments that put economic incentives into action can optimise costs. Given these factors, "more for less!" has become the international motto for this mechanism.

Moderator: Franzjosef Schafhausen, Former Director-General at the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building & Nuclear Safety (BMUB) in the areas of Climate Policy, European and International Policy until 2016

Speakers include:

  • Wolfgang Obergassel, Research Group Energy, Transport and Climate Policy, Wuppertal Institute – Update on the ongoing negotiations at COP23
  • Dr. Brigitte Knopf, General Secretary, Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change/PIK
  • Heribert Hauck, Head of Energy Affairs, TRIMET Aluminium SE
  • Aki Karci, carbon market watch

However the outcome of this year's COP, our scientists will report. Stay tuned: #MakingParisPossible

UN accreditation is not required for the event series. Additional dates for the event series and COP23 can be found at the following links.

Carbon Pricing - die Zukunft marktorientierter Mechanismen

Veranstaltungsreihe "NRW Climate Lounge" zur COP23 im Bonner Post Tower

COP Key Visual
  • Termine 15.11.2017
NRW Climate Lounge

Die Veranstaltungsreihe "NRW Climate Lounge" bietet an neun Werktagen der COP23 begleitende Veranstaltungen von 17 bis 19 Uhr an. Vor dem Einstieg in das Thema des Tages wird das Wuppertal Institut das tägliche Update zu den aktuell laufenden, offiziellen Verhandlungen der COP23 vorstellen.

In der anschließenden Veranstaltung sollen die Hintergründe für "Carbon-Pricing"-Konzepte offengelegt werden, die angestrebten Effekte beschrieben und über die verschiedenen Varianten von Carbon Pricing, die aktuell weltweit umgesetzt beziehungsweise geplant werden, berichtet werden.

Nach der Verabschiedung des Pariser Abkommens mit seinen sehr ambitionierten Zielen stellt sich nun die Frage nach den Mechanismen, mit denen der Schutz des globalen Klimas sichergestellt werden soll. Dabei geht es nicht nur um Effektivität, sondern vor allem um eine effiziente Umsetzung. Dies erklärt das mittlerweile weltweit gestiegene Interesse an Instrumenten und Konzepten, die Kohlenstoff einen Preis geben. Instrumente wie der Emissionshandel oder Steuern und Abgaben überlassen es den Emittenten, ob, wann und wie sie selbst aktiv werden oder ob sie Zertifikate von anderen Emittenten zukaufen oder einen Preis zahlen sollen. Auf diesem Wege optimieren einzelwirtschaftliche Entscheidungen die gesamtwirtschaftliche Belastung. Instrumente, die ökonomische Anreize zum Handeln setzen können zu einer Kostenoptimierung führen. "More for less!" lautet vor diesem Hintergrund das internationale Motto für diesen Mechanismus.

Moderation: Franzjosef Schafhausen, Ministerialdirektor a. D., bis 2016 Abteilungsleiter im Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit (BMUB) für die Bereiche Klimaschutz, Europa und Internationales

Referentinnen und Referenten u. a.:

  • Wolfgang Obergassel, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der Forschungsgruppe Energie-, Verkehr- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut – Update zu den laufenden Verhandlungen der COP23
  • Dr. Brigitte Knopf, General Secretary, Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change/PIK
  • Heribert Hauck, Head of Energy Affairs, TRIMET Aluminium SE
  • Aki Karci, carbon market watch

Wie auch immer die Ergebnisse der diesjährigen COP aussehen werden, die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Wuppertal Instituts werden darüber berichten: #MakingParisPossible

Für die Veranstaltungsreihe ist keine UN-Akkreditierung notwendig. Weitere Termine der Veranstaltungsreihe und zur COP23 finden sich in den folgenden Links.