Key Concepts, Core Challenges and Governance Functions of International Climate Governance

COP21 RIPPLES project report published

Publication
  • News 24.10.2017

Combating climate change requires a fundamental simultaneous transformation of various sectoral systems that are key to the functioning of our economies and societies, such as energy, industry, transport, housing, and agriculture. A new report by the COP21 RIPPLES project examines sector-specific challenges to decarbonisation and what contribution international governance could make to overcoming these challenges.

Taking a sectoral perspective, the report by Sebastian Oberthür (Institute for European Studies at the Free University Brussels, IES-VUB), Lukas Hermwille (Wuppertal Institute), Gauri Khandekar (IES-VUB), Wolfgang Obergassel (Wuppertal Institute), Tim Rayner (University of East Anglia, UEA), Tomas Wyns (IES-VUB), Florian Mersmann (Wuppertal Institute), Damon Jones (Climate Analytics, CA), Bianca Kretschmer (CA), and Mahlet Melkie (CA) identifies the key governance challenges that exist internationally towards the deep transformations required, and specifies the resulting key governance functions to be fulfilled by means of international cooperation/international institutions.

To this end, the report first clarifies a number of key concepts, including international (climate) governance, international and transnational institutions, institutional complexes and poly-centricity. It then derives a number of functions that international institutions can fulfil from the relevant literature: providing guidance and signals, setting rules, providing transparency and accountability, providing capacity building, technology and finance, and facilitating knowledge and learning. This is the basis for an investigation into the key governance challenges and the potential of international governance in 14 key sectoral systems.

The sectoral approach enables a sectorally differentiated and detailed analysis of the varying demand for international institutions' performance of governance functions. The analysis reveals that the demand for the performance of most governance functions varies significantly among the sectoral systems in accordance with their specific conditions and circumstances. Different sectoral systems and different parts of sectoral systems create varying demands for international governance.

The COP21 RIPPLES report provides the basis for the next step of the analysis. This next step will examine a selection of sectors in depth to determine to which extent international governance already fulfils its potential to contribute to the decarbonisation of these sectors or needs to be improved.

The report is available for free download. Further information on the project can be found in the project description.

Schlüsselkonzepte, wesentliche Herausforderungen und Governance-Funktionen des internationalen Klimaregimes

COP21 RIPPLES-Projekt veröffentlicht Bericht

Publikation
  • News 24.10.2017

Die Bekämpfung des Klimawandels erfordert eine grundlegende und gleichzeitige Transformation verschiedener sektoraler Systeme, die für das Funktionieren unserer Volkswirtschaften und Gesellschaften wesentlich sind, darunter Energie, Verkehr, Gebäude und Landwirtschaft. Ein neuer Bericht des COP21 RIPPLES-Projekts untersucht sektor-spezifische Herausforderungen der Dekarbonisierung und welche Beiträge internationale Governance leisten könnte, um diese Herausforderungen zu überwinden.

Der Bericht von Sebastian Oberthür (Institute for European Studies at the Free University Brussels, IES-VUB), Lukas Hermwille (Wuppertal Institut), Gauri Khandekar (IES-VUB), Wolfgang Obergassel (Wuppertal Institut), Tim Rayner (University of East Anglia), Tomas Wyns (IES-VUB), Florian Mersmann (Wuppertal Institut), Damon Jones (Climate Analytics, CA), Bianca Kretschmer (CA) und Mahlet Melkie (CA) nimmt eine sektorale Perspektive ein und identifiziert wesentliche Governance-Herausforderungen, die auf internationaler Ebene die erforderlichen tiefgreifenden Transformationen behindern, und spezifiziert die sich daraus ergebenden wesentlichen Governance-Funktionen, die durch internationale Kooperation/internationale Institutionen erfüllt werden müssen.

Hierzu klärt der Bericht zunächst eine Reihe wesentlicher Konzepte – einschließlich internationaler (Klima-)Governance, internationaler und transnationaler Institutionen, Institutionen-Komplexe und Poly-Zentrizität. Der Bericht leitet dann aus der relevanten Literatur einige Funktionen ab, die internationale Institutionen erfüllen können: die Schaffung von Anleitung und Signalen, die Setzung von Regeln, die Schaffung von Transparenz und Verantwortlichkeit, das Zurverfügungstellen von Kapazitätsaufbau, Technologie und Finanzierung sowie die Förderung von Wissen und Lernen. Dies legt die Grundlage für die Untersuchung wesentlicher Governance-Herausforderungen und des Potenzials internationaler Governance in 14 wesentlichen sektoralen Systemen.

Der sektorale Ansatz ermöglicht eine zu ihm gehörende differenzierte und detaillierte Analyse der unterschiedlichen Anforderungen an die Erbringung von Governance-Funktionen durch internationale Institutionen. Die Analyse zeigt, dass die einzelnen Sektoren sich entsprechend ihren Umständen und Gegebenheiten deutlich in ihren Bedürfnissen nach der Erbringung der meisten Governance-Funktionen unterscheiden. Unterschiedliche sektorale Systeme und unterschiedliche Teile einzelner sektoraler Systeme haben unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse nach internationale Governance.

Der Bericht schafft die Grundlage für den nächsten Schritt der Analyse. Dieser nächste Schritt wird eine Auswahl von Sektoren vertieft analysieren, um zu ermitteln, zu welchem Grad internationale Governance bereits ihr Potenzial erfüllt, zu der Dekarbonisierung dieser Sektoren beizutragen oder verbessert werden muss.

Der Bericht steht zum freien Download zur Verfügung. Weitere Informationen sind in der Projektbeschreibung zu finden.