More Walking and Cycling to Tackle Traffic Jams

FLOW survey for decision makers out now

Bicyle
  • News 01.12.2017

How do decision makers think about and approach congestion reduction in their cities?

To find the answer to this question, the project "Furthering Less Congestion by Creating Opportunities for More Walking and Cycling" – FLOW – has launched a survey aimed at decision makers in transport policy from the local, regional, national and European levels. Political decision makers, such as MEPs, Ministers or (vice-) Mayors, and technical decision makers, such as Heads of Transport or Spatial Planning Units, are warmly invited to respond to the FLOW survey. The participation in the survey is possible until the 31st of December and takes up to 15 minutes. The survey aims to reflect years of experience of its participants to develop measures of reducing urban congestion.

In contemporary traffic flow modelling, the effects of motorised means of transport are analytically well detectable. The FLOW project, which commenced in May 2015, managed to put walking and cycling on an equal footing so that they establish factors that can be integrated into traffic flow analysis. In doing so the project wants to raise awareness of the economical advantages of walking and cycling. FLOW also actively supports local measures and products, which encourage the use of non-motorised means of transport.

Scientists of the Research Unit Mobility and International Cooperation of the Wuppertal Institute played a key role in developing the FLOW-Method to analysing the effect of walking and cycling on urban congestion. They additionally support a campaign that promotes cycling in Sofia while modelling a traffic flow analysis of the city. The FLOW project is funded by Horizon 2020, the EU programme for research and innovation. The results of the FLOW survey will be published in early 2018.

Wie Fuß- und Radverkehr die Straßen entlasten

FLOW-Umfrage zur Stauvermeidung

Fahrradampel
  • News 01.12.2017

Wie lässt sich die Verkehrsbelastung in einer Stadt reduzieren und mit welchen Mitteln gehen Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger das Problem an? Um diese Frage zu beantworten, startete das Projekt "Furthering Less Congestion by Creating Opportunities for More Walking and Cycling" – kurz FLOW – nun eine Umfrage, die sich an Akteurinnen und Akteure richtet, die auf städtischer, regionaler, nationaler oder europäischer Ebene Entscheidungen zu Infrastruktur und Verkehr treffen. Bis zum 31. Dezember können politische Entscheidungsträgerinnen und -träger, Geschäftsleiterinnen und Geschäftsleiter der Verkehrsbranche sowie lokale Städteplanerinnen und -planer an der Umfrage teilnehmen. Diese ist in englischer Sprache und dauert circa 15 Minuten. Ihr Ziel ist es, Erfahrungswerte zu reflektieren und dadurch Maßnahmen zu entwickeln, die Staus vermeiden.

Die derzeit verwendeten Wirkungsanalysen zum Verkehrsfluss innerhalb einer Stadt sind in der Lage, motorisierte Transportmittel präzise zu erfassen. Das im Mai 2015 gestartete Projekt FLOW integriert auch die Qualität und Quantität des Fuß- und Radverkehrs als messbare Faktoren. Auf diese Weise soll ein stärkeres Bewusstsein über die Vorteile der nicht-motorisierten Transportmittel entstehen. FLOW unterstützt zudem aktiv lokale Maßnahmen und Produkte, die den Fuß- und Radverkehr fördern.

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Geschäftsfelds Mobilität und Internationale Kooperationen am Wuppertal Institut haben im Rahmen des Projekts die FLOW-Methode zur Analyse der Wirkung von Fuß- und Radverkehrsmaßnahmen auf Verkehrsfluss und Stau maßgeblich mitentwickelt. Parallel begleiten sie eine Kampagne, die das Fahrradfahren in Sofia bewirbt und erstellen hierzu eine Wirkungsanalyse. Unterstützt wird das Projekt durch das Programm Horizon 2020 der Europäischen Union, welches exzellente Forschung und Innovation fördert.

Die Ergebnisse der FLOW-Umfrage zur Wirkung des FLOW-Projekts sollen Anfang 2018 veröffentlicht werden.