Circular Economy Potential in the Carpet Industry

Article published in Journal of Global Economics

textile factory
  • News 08.02.2018

The approach of a circular economy holds significant potentials but also hurdles for different industries and products. These differences, however, are so far not taken into account systematically. This paper deals with the circular economy potential of one specific industry – the carpet industry, that – as of now – has low material recycling rates but a high resource intensity. The paper wants to promote and strengthen circular economy activities and outline barriers as well as approaches to overcome them.
Focussing on the EU market, it analyses current material flows including end-of-life (EoL) treatment patterns as well as existing policy frameworks. In this paper, three scenarios of carpet production are compared regarding their material footprints: a nylon carpet with 100 per cent virgin fibres, another one with only 50 per cent virgin fibres and 50 per cent recycled fibres and a third carpet made entirely out of recycled fibres. Focussing on the economic and environmental potentials of circular alternatives, the paper argues that the increase of recycling rates alone will not be beneficial but could rather lead to higher environmental burdens, if the products do not undergo significant design changes (e.g. mono-material carpets or a separation layer between different materials). Additionally, such changes need to be accompanied by adjusted policy frameworks in order to make a circular carpet industry a viable option – e.g. extended producer responsibilities (EPR) systems.

The complete article by Dr. Henning Wilts Jana Nicolas (both Research Unit Circular Economy at the Wuppertal Institute), Monika Wirges, and Klaus Wiesen (both formely employed at the Wuppertal Institute) can be found online via the following link.

Teppich-Industrie: Potenziale für die Kreislaufwirtschaft

Artikel im Journal of Global Economics veröffentlicht

Textilfabrik
  • News 08.02.2018

Eine Kreislaufwirtschaft birgt unterschiedliche Potenziale, aber auch Hürden für verschiedene Branchen und Produkte. Bisher werden die spezifischen Unterschiede jedoch kaum systematisch betrachtet. Der wissenschaftliche Artikel "Circular Economy Potential for the Carpet Industry" verdeutlicht am Beispiel der Teppich-Industrie, wie die Kreislaufwirtschaft auch in bisher vernachlässigten Branchen vorangetrieben werden kann und zeigt Ansätze auf, die helfen, diese Barrieren abzubauen.
Mit dem Fokus auf den EU-Markt analysieren die Autorinnen und Autoren aktuelle Stoffströme, einschließlich der End-of-Life(EoL)-Behandlungsmuster sowie bestehende politische Rahmenbedingungen. In dem Artikel gehen sie auf den Material-Fußabdruck mithilfe von drei Szenarien der Teppichproduktion ein. Dabei vergleichen sie einen Nylonteppich mit 100 Prozent Frischfasern, einen Nylonteppich mit 50 Prozent Frischfasern und 50 Prozent Recyclingfasern sowie einen dritten Teppich aus 100 Prozent Recyclingfasern. Mit Blick auf die ökonomischen und ökologischen Potenziale argumentiert das Autorenteam, dass eine Fokussierung auf erhöhte Recyclingraten allein nicht ausreiche, sondern sogar zu höheren Umweltbelastungen führen könne, wenn keine signifikanten Designänderungen stattfänden. Dazu zählen etwa Teppiche aus nur einem Material oder einer Trennschicht zwischen den Materialien. Allerdings müssten solche Veränderungen mit veränderten politischen Rahmenbedingungen einhergehen, beispielsweise mit einer erweiterten Herstellerverantwortung.

Der komplette Artikel von Dr. Henning Wilts und Jana Nicolas aus dem Forschungsbereich Kreislaufwirtschaft am Wuppertal Institut sowie Monika Wirges und Klaus Wiesen (ehemals am Wuppertal Institut beschäftigt) ist online unter dem nachfolgenden Link zu finden.