Design for a Sustainable World

In the article "Design for sustainability" Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke calls for a rethink in product and service design

domestic waste
  • News 09.04.2018

"Current economic models are based on a consumption of resources that will quickly destroy the ecosystems on which services we depend. We must now design circularity in everything we do," demands Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke, jury member of the German Sustainability Award and Director of the Sustainable Production and Consumption Division at the Wuppertal Institute. Since the industrial revolution, global consumption of resources has increased immensely. There is currently no end in sight. Only a fraction of the resources we use are reused or recycled. Instead, plastic ends up in the ocean, greenhouse gases are released into the atmosphere and fertilisers or municipal waste seep into the soil.

In order to preserve ecosystems, stop global warming and share prosperity with as many people as possible, Christa Liedtke calls for a rethinking the way we design products and services. To do this, the design has to be changed, such as:

  • for resource efficiency, producing more with less resources,
  • towards circularity to promote the multiple use of high-quality products and materials,
  • for social change and equality, promotion of an environmentally friendly, fair and moderate consumption

The complete article "Design for sustainability" by Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke can be found in English on the website of the United Nations Association of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UNA-UK) in the following link.

Design für eine nachhaltige Welt

Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke fordert in ihrem Artikel "Design for sustainability" ein Umdenken beim Produkt- und Dienstleistungsdesign

Hausmüll
  • News 09.04.2018

"Aktuelle Wirtschaftsmodelle beruhen auf einem Ressourcenkonsum, der die Ökosysteme, mit deren Dienstleistungen wir vielfältig wirtschaften, zerstört. Wir müssen jetzt in allem, was wir tun, Zirkularität entwerfen", fordert Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke, Leiterin der Abteilung Nachhaltiges Produzieren und Konsumieren am Wuppertal Institut. Seit der industriellen Revolution stieg der weltweite Ressourcenverbrauch immens. Ein Ende dieses Wachstums ist zurzeit nicht abzusehen. Nur ein Bruchteil der von uns verwendeten Ressourcen wird wiederverwendet oder recycelt. Stattdessen landet Plastik im Ozean, Treibhausgase gelangen in die Atmosphäre und Düngemittel sowie Siedlungsabfälle belasten die Böden.

Um die Ökosysteme zu erhalten, die globale Erwärmung zu stoppen und so viele Menschen wie möglich ein gutes Leben zu ermöglichen, fordert Christa Liedtke ein Umdenken in der Art und Weise, wie wir Produkte und Dienstleistungen gestalten. Dafür müsse das Design geändert werden, wie etwa in Richtung:

  • Ressourceneffizienz, mehr mit weniger Ressourcen produzieren,
  • zirkulärer Gestaltung, um die Mehrfachverwendung von hochwertigen Materialien und Produkten zu fördern und
  • für sozialen Wandel und mehr Teilhabe, Förderung eines umweltfreundlichen, fairen und gemäßigten Konsums

Der komplette Artikel "Design for sustainability" von Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke ist in englischer Sprache auf der Internetseite der United Nations Association of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UNA-UK) im nachfolgenden Link zu finden.


Weitere Informationen

Links