GJETC Outreach Event

The Importance of International Cooperation under Disruptive Changes

  • Events 20.04.2018

In the face of the paltry ambitious global implementation of the Paris Agreement Japan and Germany, as leading industrialised nations, have a special responsibility to contribute towards a global decarbonisation. The vivid – and sometimes also controversial dialogue – on ways and means for the energy transition is more important than ever.

Within the framework of the "German-Japanese Energy Transition Council" (GJETC) experts from Germany and Japan have been working on analysing the challenges of the energy transition in Germany and Japan in the past two years in order to develop policy advice how the energy transition can accelerated in both countries by collaborative learning.
The mutual recommendations for the different stakeholders from politics, industry and civil society will be presented and discussed by Prof. Dr. Peter Hennicke (Senior Scientist at the Wuppertal Institute and German Co-Chair GJETC Council) and Prof. Jun Arima (Japanese GJETC Council) in a public Outreach event together with the question of the role of such a form of bi-national cooperation in the international context.

The outreach event "The Importance of International Cooperation under Disruptive Changes" will take place on Friday, 20 April 2018 from 14 to 16 o'clock in the Press and Visitor Centre of the Federal Government in Berlin. The event will be simultaneously translated into German and Japanese. The attendance of the event is free of charge and registration is requested by 17 April 2018. Please note, that the number of participants is limited. Further information can be found under the links below.

GJETC Outreach Event

Die Bedeutung internationaler Kooperationen in Zeiten disruptiver Veränderungen

  • Termine 20.04.2018

Aufgrund der wenig ambitionierten weltweiten Umsetzung des Klimaschutzabkommens von Paris, haben sich Japan und Deutschland als führende Industrienationen die besondere Verantwortung gesetzt, Vorreiter zu sein und einen maßgeblichen Beitrag zur globalen Dekarbonisierung zu leisten. Der lebhafte und zuweilen auch kontroverse Dialog über Möglichkeiten und Wege der Energiewende ist daher wichtiger denn je.

Deutsche und japanische Expertinnen und Experten haben im Rahmen des German-Japanese Energy Transition Council (GJETC) in den vergangenen zwei Jahren daher die Herausforderungen der Energiewende in Deutschland und Japan analysiert und Empfehlungen erarbeitet, wie die Energiewende durch gegenseitiges Lernen in beiden Ländern beschleunigt werden kann.
Diese gemeinsamen Empfehlungen für die verschiedenen Stakeholder aus Politik, Industrie und Zivilgesellschaft werden Prof. Dr. Peter Hennicke, Senior Scientist am Wuppertal Instituts und deutscher Co-Chair des GJETC, sowie Prof. Jun Arima, japanisches Ratsmitglied des GJETC, auf der öffentlichen Outreach-Veranstaltung vorstellen und über die Rolle bi-nationaler Kooperationsformen diskutieren.

Die Outreach-Veranstaltung "Die Bedeutung internationaler Kooperation in Zeiten disruptiver Veränderungen: Erkenntnisse & Empfehlungen aus einem innovativen deutsch-japanischen Dialog zur Energiewende" findet am Freitag, 20. April 2018 von 14 bis 16 Uhr im Presse- und Besucherzentrum der Bundesregierung in Berlin statt. Die Veranstaltung wird simultan auf Deutsch und Japanisch übersetzt. Die Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung ist kostenfrei; eine Anmeldung bis 17. April 2018 wird erbeten. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist jedoch begrenzt. Weitere Informationen sowie die Anmeldemöglichkeit sind den nachfolgenden Links zu entnehmen.