4th World Symposium on Sustainable at Universities

Universities as Living Labs for Sustainable Development: Supporting the Implementation of Sustainability Goals

  • Events 28.08. - 30.08.2018
  • Location Penang, Malaysia

The "World Symposium on Sustainable Development at Universities", which is taking place for the fourth time, has the topic "Universities as Living Labs for Sustainable Development: Supporting the Implementation of Sustainability Goals" in which the practical experiences from education and research are in the focus.

Dorothea Schostok, Research Fellow in the Division Future Energy and Mobility Structures at the Wuppertal Institute, will give a presentation on "TEAM Sustainability" as part of the research project "Implementation Experience with State Sustainability Strategies – Case Study Sustainability Strategy NRW" and evaluate the contribution of science to the management of state sustainability advisory councils on Thursday the 30th of August at 12:30 pm at the University Sains Malaysia (room SK205).

The TEAM Sustainability consists of sustainability relevant stakeholders from North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) and combines various facets and contents of the sustainability debate. The corresponding book contribution will be published by Springer Verlag in the "World Sustainability Series" following the conference. Dorothea Schostok will anchor the session "Innovations in Curriculum and Research" during the symposium on Wednesday the 29th of August at 11:30 am  (room SK204). Mona Treude, Research Fellow in President’s Unit, and Dorothea Schostok will also present the poster "Graphic Recording. Visual real-time documentation to support the participation of the youth as part of a social transformation towards sustainable development".
The research project is funded by the Ministry for Environment, Agriculture, Conservation and Consumer Protection of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Further information can be found under the links below.

4th World Symposium on Sustainable Development at Universities

Universitäten als Living Labs für nachhaltige Entwicklung: Unterstützung der Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitsziele

  • Termine 28.08. - 30.08.2018
  • Ort Penang, Malaysia

Das 4. "World Symposium on Sustainable Development at Universities" findet in diesem Jahr zum vierten Mal statt und steht unter dem Motto "Universitäten als Living Labs für nachhaltige Entwicklung: Unterstützung der Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitsziele". Während der Veranstaltung stehen die praktischen Erfahrungen aus Bildung und Forschung im Vordergrund.

Dorothea Schostok, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in der Abteilung Zukünftige Energie- und Mobilitätsstrukturen am Wuppertal Institut, wird aus dem Forschungsprojekt "Umsetzungserfahrungen mit Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategien – Fallstudie Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie NRW" heraus am Donnerstag den 30. August 2018 um 12:30 Uhr an der Universität Sains Malaysia (Raum SK205) einen Vortrag zum Thema "TEAM Nachhaltigkeit" halten. Darin wird sie den Beitrag der Wissenschaft zum Management staatlicher Nachhaltigkeitsbeiräte evaluieren.

Das TEAM Nachhaltigkeit setzt sich aus nachhaltigkeitsrelevanten Akteurinnen und Akteuren des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen zusammen und bündelt dabei verschiedene Facetten und Inhalte der Nachhaltigkeitsdebatte. Ein entsprechender Fachartikel mit dem Titel "TEAM Sustainability – The contribution of science to the management of governments' sustainability advisory councils" wird im Nachgang der Konferenz in der "World Sustainability Series" beim Springer Verlag veröffentlicht. Im Rahmen des Symposiums wird Dorothea Schostok außerdem am Mittwoch den 29.08.2018 ab 11:30 Uhr (Raum SK204) die Session "Innovations in Curriculum and Research" moderieren. Mona Treude, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Präsidialbereich, und Dorothea Schostok präsentieren ferner das Poster "Graphic Recording. Visual real-time documentation to support the participation of the youth as part of a social transformation towards sustainable development".
Das Forschungsprojekt wird vom Ministerium für Umwelt, Landwirtschaft, Natur- und Verbraucherschutz des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen gefördert.

Weitere Informationen sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.