Climate Change and Human Responses

International Conference with Professor Manfred Fischedick

  • Events 31.10. - 02.11.2018
  • Location Hong Kong, China

Climate change is one of the biggest challenges in the 21st Century. It does not only have impact on eco-systems, but also direct and indirect impact on societies and economies. The consequences for global production chains, value adding and labour markets will be massive. But scientific and public discussion, not to talk about adaptation in business operations is rather weak. Rising sea levels, floods and droughts, changing agricultural patterns – tremendous economic losses and migration of labour force will lead to unforeseeable consequences on human wellbeing, public health, labour performance and productivity. Yet, mitigation and adaptation measures might have positive impacts on local and regional economies and labour markets – but with huge sector differences. Shifting from carbon-based economies to renewable ones create new source of value and increase demand of skilled labour in many countries in the world.

Against this background, the Global Labor Organization (GLO) and FOM University of Applied Sciences organise an international conference in cooperation with Konrad Adenauer Foundation / Regional Project Energy Security and Climate Change Asia-Pacific to discuss these issues. Participants are renowned researchers, politicians and entrepreneurs from Hong Kong, Asia, Europe and the US.

Professor Manfred Fischedick, Wuppertal Institute's Vice-President, will held in the first session "Impact of climate change on regions and industry sectors" a keynote about "Climate Chance and (Basic) Industry: Options and Related Chances and Challenges for a Green Transformation" and will also give a final lecture.

Further information can be found under the link below.


Further information

Links

Climate Change and Human Responses

Professor Manfred Fischedick zur Gast auf der internationalen Konferenz

  • Termine 31.10. - 02.11.2018
  • Ort Hongkong, China

Der Klimawandel ist eine der größten Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Er hat nicht nur Auswirkungen auf die Ökosysteme, sondern auch direkte und indirekte Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft. Die Folgen für globale Produktionsketten, Wertschöpfung und Arbeitsmärkte werden massiv sein. Bisher sind diese Fragen aber noch nicht in hinreichender Weise in die wissenschaftliche und öffentliche Diskussion gelangt. Steigender Meeresspiegel, zunehmende Überschwemmungen und Dürren, sich ändernde landwirtschaftliche Strukturen – damit verbundene hohe wirtschaftliche Verluste und Migration von Arbeitskräften können zu unvorhersehbaren Folgen für das Wohlergehen von Menschen, die öffentliche Gesundheit, die Arbeitsleistung und die Produktivität führen. Im Gegensatz dazu können sich proaktive Minderungs- und Anpassungsmaßnahmen positiv auf die lokale und regionale Wirtschaft und die Arbeitsmärkte auswirken – wenn auch mit großen Unterschieden zwischen den Branchen. Grundsätzlich schafft der Übergang von kohlenstoffbasierten zu erneuerbaren Volkswirtschaften neue Wertquellen und erhöht den Bedarf an qualifizierten Arbeitskräften in vielen Ländern der Welt.

Vor diesem Hintergrund veranstalten die Global Labor Organization (GLO) und die FOM Fachhochschule in Zusammenarbeit mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung / Regionalprojekt Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel Asien-Pazifik eine internationale Konferenz, um diese Fragen zu diskutieren. Teilnehmende der Konferenz sind renommierte Forscherinnen und Forscher, Politikerinnen und Politiker sowie und Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmen aus Hongkong, Asien, Europa und den USA.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, wird unter anderem in der ersten Session "Impact of climate change on regions and industry sectors" eine Keynote zum Thema "Climate Chance and (Basic) Industry: Options and Related Chances and Challenges for a Green Transformation" und darüber hinaus einen Abschlussvortrag halten.

Weitere Information zur internationalen Konferenz sind dem nachfolgenden Link zu entnehmen.


Weitere Informationen

Links