Renewable Energy & Efficiency Week 2018

International Conference on Development Cooperation in the Energy Sector

  • Events 19.11. - 23.11.2018
  • Location Berlin, Germany

The "Renewable Energy & Efficiency Week", which takes place in Berlin from 19 to 23 November 2018, is Germany's most important expert workshop for partners of German bilateral development cooperation in the energy sector. Since 2011 it has been organised annually by the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ) on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). The event is intended to support development cooperation partners in efficiently advancing national transformation processes towards sustainable energy systems and energy access.
The aim is also to intensify exchanges on energy and development policy issues both with the speakers and between the partners themselves. Around 150 participants from about 30 countries are expected to attend, representing higher working levels from energy ministries, regulatory authorities, energy companies and associations, among others. The international delegations will be accompanied by GIZ representatives from their respective countries.

Thomas Götz, Project Co-ordinator in the Division Energy, Transport and Climate Policy at the Wuppertal Institute, will give a lecture on "Lessons learnt from EU policy on ecodesign" in the session "Energy efficiency support policies".

The event language during the REEW2018 is English. Simultaneous translation from English into Spanish, French, and Russian will be offered with an exception of workshop groups (Thursday afternoon) and field trips (Friday).

Renewable Energy & Efficiency Week 2018

Internationale Konferenz zur Entwicklungszusammenarbeit im Energiebereich

  • Termine 19.11. - 23.11.2018
  • Ort Berlin

Die Renewable Energy & Efficiency Week, die vom 19. bis 23. November 2018 in Berlin stattfindet, ist der in Deutschland wichtigste Experten-Workshop für Partnerinnen und Partner der deutschen bilateralen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit im Energiebereich. Sie wird seit 2011 jährlich im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit (BMZ) von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) ausgerichtet. Die Veranstaltung soll Partnerinnen und Partner der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit unterstützen, nationale Transformationsprozesse hin zu nachhaltigen Energiesystemen und Energiezugängen effizient voranzutreiben.
Ziel ist zudem ein intensiver Austausch zu energie- und entwicklungspolitischen Fragen sowohl mit den Referentinnen und Referenten als auch ein Austausch zwischen den Partnern untereinander. Dazu werden rund 150 Teilnehmende aus etwa 30 Ländern erwartet, die unter anderem höhere Arbeitsebenen aus Energieministerien, Regulierungsbehörden, Energieunternehmen und Verbänden vertreten. Die Delegationen aus dem Ausland werden von GIZ-Ansprechpartnerinnen und -Ansprechpartnern aus den jeweiligen Ländern begleitet.

Thomas Götz, Projektleiter in der Abteilung Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut, wird in der Session "Energy efficiency support policies“ einen Vortrag zum Thema "Lessons learnt from EU policy on ecodesign" halten.

Die Konferenzsprache ist Englisch, wobei Simultanübersetzungen ins Französische und Spanische vorgesehen sind.