Climate Action in Industry - new Perspectives and Opportunities

COP24: Silesia Climate Lounge

COP Keyvisual english
  • Events 12.12.2018
  • Location Katowice, Poland

Climate protection in industry while improving global competitiveness is an emerging and challenging topic, which can be one of the main game changers in successful climate action. Innovative product development and climate friendly production processes are key for modernising the industry sector and make use of future market opportunities. State governments around the world support traditional industry in this transformation, aiming to ensure global competitiveness, long-term economic success and secure jobs.

In this event, three regional governments will present their strategies and means to support industry in this innovation process. Political leaders from Silesia, Hauts-de-France and North Rhine-Westphalia discuss projects like "IN4climate.NRW" and the "Third Industrial Revolution". Moreover, industry representatives will give an insight into climate protection strategies and projects from their business perspective.

Moderator: Prof. Dr. Stefan Lechtenböhmer, Wuppertal Institute
Speakers: Minister Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart (North Rhine-Westphalia) representative of Board of Silesian Region (tbc), representative of Hauts-de-France (tbc), Dr. Jan Bondaruk (Central Mining Institute, Silesia), Dr. Hans-Jörn Weddige (thyssenkrupp AG, NRW), Izabela Dmogala (Member of Board of Silesian Region), Hauts-de-France industry representative from Hauts-de-France: Anthony Drugeot, Financial Director (Aluminium Dunkerque/Rio tinto Group

Representatives from industry, politics, administration, and scientific research institutions are welcome to the side event "Climate action in industry – new Perspectives and Opportunities", which take place on 12 December from 12.30pm to 14pm at the Column Hall, Silesian Marshal's Office, Dabrowskiego Street 23 in Katowice.

Further information about COP24, side events, and Silesia Climate Lounge can be found under the links below.


Partners

Climate Action in Industry - new Perspectives and Opportunities

COP24: Silesia Climate Lounge

COP Keyvisual deutsch
  • Termine 12.12.2018
  • Ort Katowice, Polen

Der Klimaschutz in der Industrie bei gleichzeitiger Verbesserung der globalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit ist ein aufkommendes und herausforderndes Thema, das einer der wichtigsten Faktoren für einen erfolgreichen Klimaschutz sein kann. Innovative Produktentwicklung und klimafreundliche Produktionsprozesse sind der Schlüssel zur Modernisierung der Branche und nutzen zukünftige Marktchancen. Staatliche Regierungen auf der ganzen Welt unterstützen die traditionelle Industrie bei diesem Wandel mit dem Ziel, die globale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, den langfristigen wirtschaftlichen Erfolg und Arbeitsplätze zu sichern.

In diesem Fall werden drei Regionalregierungen ihre Strategien und Mittel vorstellen, um die Industrie in diesem Innovationsprozess zu unterstützen. Politiker aus Schlesien, Hauts-de-France und Nordrhein-Westfalen diskutieren über Projekte wie "IN4climate.NRW" und die "Dritte Industrielle Revolution". Darüber hinaus geben Branchenvertreter einen Einblick in Klimaschutzstrategien und -projekte aus ihrer unternehmerischen Perspektive.

Moderation: Prof. Dr. Stefan Lechtenböhmer, Wuppertal Institut
Redner: Minister Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart (Nordrhein-Westfalen) Vertreter des Vorstands der Region Schlesien (tbc), Vertreter von Hauts-de-France (tbc), Dr. Jan Bondaruk (Zentralinstitut für Bergbau, Schlesien), Dr. Hans-Jörn Weddige (thyssenkrupp AG, NRW), Izabela Dmogala (Member of Board of Silesian Region), Industrievertreter aus Hauts-de-France: Anthony Drugeot, Financial Director (Aluminium Dunkerque/Rio tinto Group, Hauts-de-France)

Zur Rahmenveranstaltung "Climate Action in Industry – new Perspectives and Opportunities", die am 12. Dezember von 12:30 bis 14:00 Uhr im Schlesischen Marschallamt, Dabrowskiego Straße 23 in Katowice (Säulensaal) stattfindet, sind Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Wirtschaft, Politik, Verwaltung und wissenschaftlichen Forschungseinrichtungen herzlich willkommen.

Weitere Informationen über COP24, Sideevents und die Silesia Climate Lounge finden Sie unter den folgenden Links.


Partner