Digital Circular Economy for the Plastics Industry

Kick-off meeting for the Di-Plast project at the Wuppertal Institute

Recycling
  • News 14.01.2019
Kick-off meeting on the digital closed cycle economy at the Wuppertal Institute (from left): Dr. Hermann Achenbach (SKZ), Femke de Loos (PSP), Jan Jonker (Oost NL), Yolanda Mout (JADS), Dr. Inmaculada Peral Alonso (University of Luxembourg), Inge Keymeulen (Interreg), Prof. Dr. Peter Plapper (University of Luxembourg), Jana Nicolas (Wuppertal Institute), Jannik Hänseler (Wuppertal Institute), Dr. Holger Berg (Wuppertal Institute), Dr. Joa Bauer (UTBW), Jan Jonker (Oost NL), Martijn Kerssen (Oost NL) and Dr. Christoph Kugler (SKZ). Source: Wuppertal Institute

On 8 and 9 January 2019 the project partners of the Interreg NWE project "Di-Plast" met at the Wuppertal Institute. The aim of Di-Plast is to make it easier to incorporate recycled plastics into the production process by applying digital technologies. The background is that although there are nominally high recycling rates for plastics, the rate of reuse of these recycled materials is very low. "This is due to the fact that often indispensable information on the composition and purity of plastic recyclates is lacking. The packaging industry uses only 8 per cent recycled plastics, while the construction industry uses 18 per cent recycled plastics and the rest is so-called primary material," says Dr. Holger Berg, Project Co-ordinator in the Circular Economy Division at the Wuppertal Institute.

This is where the "Di-Plast" project comes in. Sensor technology, data analysis and process management will be used to create the information and processes that enable recycled plastics to be used safely. The project involves the Wuppertal Institute, the SKZ the Plastics Centre, the Jheronimus Academy of Data Science (JADS), the Université de Luxembourg, Polymer Science Park (PSP), Oost NL, Umwelttechnik Baden-Württemberg GmbH and many associated partners and companies from the plastics industry. The project is funded by the European Union under the Interreg NWE Programme.


Further information

Links

Digitale Kreislaufwirtschaft für die Kunststoff-Industrie

Kick-off-Meeting zum Projekt "Di-Plast" am Wuppertal Institut

Recycling
  • News 14.01.2019
Kick-off-Meeting zur digitalen Kreislaufwirtschaft am Wuppertal Institut (von links): Dr. Hermann Achenbach (SKZ), Femke de Loos (PSP), Jan Jonker (Oost NL), Yolanda Mout (JADS), Dr. Inmaculada Peral Alonso (Universität Luxemburg), Inge Keymeulen (Interreg), Prof. Dr. Peter Plapper (Universität Luxemburg), Jana Nicolas (Wuppertal Institut), Jannik Hänseler (Wuppertal Institut), Dr. Holger Berg (Wuppertal Institut), Dr. Joa Bauer (UTBW), Jan Jonker (Oost NL), Martijn Kerssen (Oost NL) und Dr. Christoph Kugler (SKZ). Quelle: Wuppertal Institut

Am 8. und 9. Januar 2019 trafen sich die Projektpartner des Interreg-NWE-Projekts "Di-Plast" am Wuppertal Institut. Ziel von Di-Plast ist es, durch die Anwendung digitaler Technologien die Aufnahme von recycelten Kunststoffen in den Produktionsprozess zu verbessern. Der Hintergrund: Es gibt zwar nominell hohe Raten beim Kunststoff-Recycling, die Quote wiedereingesetzter Rezyklate – also der aufbereiteten Kunststoffe – ist jedoch sehr gering. "Das liegt daran, dass häufig unabdingbare Informationen zur Zusammensetzung und Reinheit von Kunststoff-Rezyklaten fehlen. So werden in der Verpackungsindustrie nur zu 8 Prozent beziehungsweise in der Bauindustrie zu 18 Prozent recycelte Kunststoffe verwendet und der Rest durch sogenanntes Primärmaterial bestritten", sagt Dr. Holger Berg, Projektleiter in der Abteilung Kreislaufwirtschaft am Wuppertal Institut.

Hier setzt das Projekt "Di-Plast" an. Durch Sensortechnik, Datenanalyse und Prozessmanagement sollen die Informationen und Prozesse geschaffen werden, die es ermöglichen rezyklierte Kunststoffe sicher zu verwenden. Am Projekt beteiligt sind das Wuppertal Institut, das SKZ das Kunststoffzentrum, die Jheronimus Academy of Data Science (JADS), die Universität Luxembourg, Polymer Science Park, Oost NL, Umwelttechnik Baden-Württemberg GmbH sowie viele weitere assoziierte Partner und Unternehmen aus der Kunststoff-Industrie. Die Europäische Union fördert das Projekt im Rahmen des Interreg NWE Programm.


Weitere Informationen

Links