Young Climate Experts visiting the Wuppertal Institute

Scholars from the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation in Wuppertal

Wuppertal Institute
  • News 14.03.2019
The Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation scholarship fellows from Africa, Asia and South America visited the Wuppertal Institute on 14 March 2019. Source: Wuppertal Institute

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation offers fellowships to researchers from threshold and developing countries who are thus given the opportunity to spend a year researching climate and environmental protection in Germany. During the three-week introductory phase, the young climate experts visit research institutions and cultural events throughout Germany to gain an insight into the current state of technology, research, structures and implementation of climate and envi-ronmental protection in Germany.

In this context, the 19 scholarship fellows from Africa, Asia and South America visited the Wuppertal Institute on 14 March 2019. After a short introduction of the Wuppertal Institute by Alicja Darski, Wolfgang Obergassel, Project Co-ordinator in the Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Division, presented the results and outcomes of the UN Climate Conference 2018 (COP24) in Katowice, Poland. A second input was given by Dr Holger Berg, Project Co-ordinator in the Circular Economy Division, on the digital circular economy in the plastics industry. Both inputs were followed by an interested exchange and lively discussions.

Following the introductory phase, Adriana Marchiori Silvia, one of the climate protection scholarship fellows, will research for one year on the subject of Circular Economy for Brazil with a focus o bioeconomy at the Wuppertal Institute in division Circular Economy.

Junge Klimaexpertinnen und -experten zu Besuch

Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung zu Gast am Wuppertal Institut

Wuppertal Institut
  • News 14.03.2019
Die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung aus Afrika, Asien und Südamerika besuchten am 14. März 2019 das Wuppertal Institut. Quelle Wuppertal Institut

Jährlich vergibt die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung Stipendien an Forscherinnen und Forscher aus Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern, die die Möglichkeit erhalten ein Jahr lang in Deutschland im Bereich Klima- und Umweltschutz zu forschen. Während der dreiwöchigen Einführungsphase besuchen die jungen Klimaexpertinnen und -experten deutschlandweit Forschungseinrichtungen und  Kulturveranstaltungen, um einen Einblick in den aktuellen Stand von Technik, Forschung, Strukturen und Umsetzung des Klima- und Umweltschutzes in Deutschland zu erhalten.

In diesem Zusammenhang besuchten 19 Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten aus Afrika, Asien und Südamerika am 14. März 2019 das Wuppertal Institut. Nach einer kurzen Vorstellung des Wuppertal Instituts von der Mitarbeiterin Alicja Darski berichtete Wolfgang Obergassel, Projektleiter der Abteilung Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik, über die UN-Klimakonferenz 2018 (COP24) in Katowice (Polen). Ein zweiter Input folgte von Dr. Holger Berg, Projektleiter der Abteilung Kreislaufwirtschaft am Wuppertal Institut, der über die digitale Kreislaufwirtschaft in der Kunststoffindustrie sprach. Die beiden Inputs begleitete ein interessierter Austausch und eine rege Diskussionen.

Im Anschluss der Einführungsphase wird Adriana Marchiori Silvia, eine der Klimaschutzstipendiatinnen, für ein Jahr am Wuppertal Institut in der Abteilung Kreislaufwirtschaft zum Thema Kreislaufwirtschaft für Brasilien mit einem Fokus auf Bioökonomie forschen. Daneben absolviert die Politikwissenschaftlerin Shu Yang vom China Quality Certification Centre (Guangzhou, China) ein internationales Klimaschutzstipendium in der Abteilung Zukünftige Energie- und Industriesysteme am Wuppertal Institut. Weitere Infos sind den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.