27th European Biomass Conference & Exhibition (EUBCE 2019)

Final Workshop of the FlexiFuel-SOFC project

  • Events 27.05. - 30.05.2019
  • Location Lisbon, Portugal

At the 27th European Biomass Conference & Exhibition in Lisbon, Portugal, the final workshop of the FlexiFuel-SOFC project will take place. The topic of the workshop is "Novel and highly efficient micro-scale CHP system based on fuel flexible biomass gasification connected to a SOFC".
Within the EU Horizon 2020 project "FlexiFuel-SOFC" a new innovative, highly efficient and fuel flexible micro-scale biomass combined heat and power (CHP) technology (capacity range of 25 to 150 kW fuel power) has been developed. By integrating a fixed-bed updraft gasifier, a compact gas cleaning system and a solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC), the technology has been developed to be capable of using a wide fuel spectrum (e.g. wood pellets/chips of various sizes and moisture contents, short-rotation coppice, selected agricultural fuels), while still achieving high electric and overall efficiencies, as well as incomparably low gaseous and nearly zero particulate matter emissions – something almost unheard of in small-scale biomass systems.

To realise this goal, the technology development (including process simulations, computer aided design, pilot plant construction, performance and evaluation of test runs, risk and safety analysis) has been complemented by a thorough assessment of its techno-economic performance, environmental and social impacts, as well as market potential.
This workshop will inform participants about the technical achievements of this exciting new technology, areas of application, relevant impacts, as well as insights on how to bring this technology to the market.

Thomas Götz, Project Co-ordinator in the Division Energy, Transport and Climate Policy at the Wuppertal Institute, will moderate the entire workshop and present the overall impact assessment. This includes the technical aspects of the new heating technology as well as a technology analysis (risk, techno-economic, environmental, and overall impact assessments and market studies).

The workshop is organised by Wuppertal Institute, in cooperation with BIOS BIOENERGIESYSTEME GmbH, Windhager Zentralheizung Technik GmbH and all FlexiFuel-SOFC partners. Further information and the agenda of the workshop can be found under the link below.

27. Europäische Biomasse Konferenz und Ausstellung (EUBCE 2019)

Abschluss-Workshop des Projekts FlexiFuel-SOFC

  • Termine 27.05. - 30.05.2019
  • Ort Lissabon, Portugal

Im Rahmen der 27. Europäischen Biomassekonferenz in Lissabon, Portugal, findet am 29. Mai 2019 der FlexiFuel-SOFC Abschluss-Workshop zum Thema "Novel and highly efficient micro-scale CHP system based on fuel flexible biomass gasification connected to a SOFC" statt. Innerhalb dieses EU-Horizon-2020-Projekts entwickelten Forscherinnen und Forscher eine neue, hocheffiziente Biomasse Mikro-KWK-Technologie (mit einem Nenn-Leistungsbereich von 25 bis 150 kW). Mit dieser Technologie ist es möglich, ein breites Brennstoffspektrum (wie beispielsweise Holzpellets-/Hackschnitzel verschiedener Größen und Feuchtigkeitsgrade oder ausgewählte Agrarreststoffe) zu nutzen. Gleichzeitig zeichnet sich die neuartige Anlage durch eine hohe Effizienz sowie durch niedrige Emissionswerte aus. Insbesondere entstehen nahezu keine Partikelemissionen, was bisher bei kleinen Biomasseanlagen kaum erreichbar war.

Während des Workshops werden die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer über die technischen Errungenschaften dieser neuen Technologie, über mögliche Anwendungsbereiche, relevante Umweltwirkungen sowie die Marktperspektiven informiert.

Thomas Götz, Projektleiter in der Abteilung Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut, moderiert den Workshop und stellt die Ergebnisse der Umwelt- und Gesamtwirkungsanalysen des Projekts vor. Hierbei werden sowohl die technischen Aspekte der neuen Heizungstechnik als auch Technikfolgeanalysen (techno-ökonomische Risiko-, Umwelt- und Gesamtwirkungsanalysen, Marktstudien) präsentiert.

Der Workshop wird federführend vom Wuppertal Institut organisiert, in Kooperation mit BIOS BIOENERGIESYSTEME GmbH, Windhager Zentralheizung Technik GmbH und allen FlexiFuel-SOFC-Projektpartnern. Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Weitere Informationen und die Agenda des Workshops sind im nachfolgenden Link zu finden.