SUMPs-Up Workshop on Financing and Procurement for Sustainable Urban Mobility

Side event to the 6th European Conference on Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans

  • Events 17.06. - 18.06.2019
  • Location Groningen, Netherlands

The 6th edition of the European Conference on Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans will be held on 17 June and 18 June 2019 in Groningen, Netherlands. The focus of the conference is on providing support to sustainable and active cities within the SUMP context, i.e. how to make cities more walkable and cycle-friendly.

The CIVITAS SUMP project invites representatives of the city, politicians and experts to a workshop on "Financing and Procurement for Sustainable Urban Mobility". The workshop provides a forum to share your experiences, receive inspiration, seek good practice examples and expert advice and ask questions in an open environment.

The workshop will start with a short introduction to the new topic guides on Public Procurement and Financing for Sustainable Mobility, followed by open and moderated exchange on different aspects:

  • How can procurement contribute to a sustainable mobility system? Which products and services are available?
  • Practical experiences with the procurement process: What to be aware of? Which obstacles hinder the procurement of sustainable transport products, services and works? What measures and procedures can help to overcome these barriers?
  • Funding sources for the SUMP process and implementing measures: Which opportunities do the EU and other funding institutions provide?
  • Local revenue streams for financing SUMP measures: options, instruments, and experiences.

Dr.-Ing. Frederic Rudolph, Project Co-ordinator in the Mobility and International Cooperation Research Unit at the Wuppertal Institute, and Stefan Werland, Vice Head Berlin Office, will moderate and lead topic-specific group discussions.

The conference is co-funded by the European Commission in cooperation with the Municipality of Groningen. Further information can be found in the links below.

Workshop on Financing and Procurement for Sustainable Urban Mobility

Sideevent der 6. Europäischen Konferenz zur nachhaltigen städtischen Mobilität

  • Termine 17.06. - 18.06.2019
  • Ort Groningen, Niederlande

Die sechste Europäische Konferenz über nachhaltige städtische Mobilität findet am 17. und 18. Juni 2019 im niederländischen Groningen statt. Im Mittelpunkt der Konferenz steht die Unterstützung europäischer Städte bei der nachhaltigen urbanen Mobilitätsplanung – auch Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans, kurz SUMPs, genannt.
Das Wuppertal Institut veranstaltet vor diesem Hintergrund als Teil der CIVITAS-Projekte "SUMPs Up" und "SUITS" einen Workshop zum Thema "Financing and Procurement for Sustainable Urban Mobility" (Finanzierung und öffentliche Beschaffung für nachhaltige städtische Mobilität). Vertreterinnen und Vertreter von Städten, Politikerinnen und Politiker sowie Expertinnen und Experten sind eingeladen, diese Themen in einem offenen Umfeld zu diskutieren, sich inspirieren zu lassen und zu vernetzen.

Zu Beginn erfolgt eine kurze Einführung in die neuen Leitfäden zu SUMPs zur öffentlichen Beschaffung und Finanzierung einer nachhaltigen Mobilität, im Anschluss folgt ein moderierter Austausch zu den folgenden Aspekten:

  • Wie kann die Beschaffung zu einem nachhaltigen Mobilitätssystem beitragen?
  • Welche Produkte und Dienstleistungen sind verfügbar?
  • Praktische Erfahrungen mit dem Beschaffungsprozess: Was ist zu beachten?
  • Welche Hindernisse stehen der Beschaffung von Produkten, Dienstleistungen und Arbeiten für einen nachhaltigen Verkehr entgegen? Welche Maßnahmen und Verfahren können helfen, diese Hindernisse zu überwinden?
  • Finanzierungsquellen für den SUMP-Prozess und Durchführungsmaßnahmen: Welche Möglichkeiten bieten die EU und andere Förderinstitutionen?
  • Lokale Einnahmequellen zur Finanzierung von SUMP-Maßnahmen: Optionen, Instrumente und Erfahrungen.

Dr.-Ing. Frederic Rudolph, Projektleiter im Forschungsbereich Mobilität und internationale Kooperationen am Wuppertal Institut, und Stefan Werland, stellvertretender Leiter des Büro Berlin und Projektleiter im selben Forschungsbereich, übernehmen die Moderation der Veranstaltung.

Weiterführende Informationen sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.