Circular Economy in Climate Protection Scenarios for the Steel and Chemicals Industry

Joint workshop by REINVENT and SCI4climate.NRW

  • Events 14.06.2019
  • Location Wuppertal, Germany

Although circularity measures are widely recognised as an important pillar for greenhouse gas mitigation in the heavy industry, their actual implementation still stands at a very low level. Currently, the issue is gaining momentum and projections of long-term pathways towards a carbon neutral heavy industry increasingly integrate circularity. However, most of these existing scenario studies at best include a few circularity measures but usually no coherent circular economy (CE) strategy. Therefore, together with SCI4climate.NRW, the REINVENT project aims at initiating pioneering work in this field. The project partners will create location-specific CE scenarios for a future carbon neutral steel and chemicals industry.

In the framework of the workshop, the project partners will connect the steel and chemicals industry with emission mitigating CE measures to create consistent and viable future CE pathways. Basing on the potential development of material demand (steel, plastics), they will discuss how that demand could be met: which types of processes, technologies and emission mitigation strategies might be implemented, including the potential for recycling etc.
Furthermore, feasible combinations of pathways and related timelines as well as potential forerunning regions should be identified. In order to achieve this, the project partners combine the unique knowledge of the SCI4climate.NRW and REINVENT projects, thus inviting experts from North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) and different European countries from industry, science and society. The results of the discussion will provide valuable input to scenario storylines for the EU framework scenarios to be calculated in REINVENT (by Wuppertal Institute and PBL Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency) and also for NRW scenarios to be developed later on in SCI4climate.NRW.

The workshop will take place on 14 June at the Wuppertal Institute from 10 am to 4 pm. Further information on REINVENT and SCI4climate.NRW can be found in the following links.

Kreislaufwirtschaft in Klimaschutzszenarien für die Stahl- und Chemieindustrie

Gemeinsamer Workshop der Projekte REINVENT und SCI4climate.NRW

  • Termine 14.06.2019
  • Ort Wuppertal

Obwohl durch die Kreislaufwirtschaft hohe Emissionseinsparungen in der energieintensiven Industrie erzielt werden können, wird dies bisher nicht zielstrebig umgesetzt. Derzeit gewinnt das Thema jedoch an Bedeutung und Prognosen über die Entwicklung in Richtung einer klimaneutralen energieintensiven Industrie beinhalten zunehmend Maßnahmen der Kreislaufwirtschaft (englisch Circular Economy). Die meisten dieser bestehenden Szenario-Studien beinhalten bestenfalls einige wenige Maßnahmen, in der Regel aber keine kohärente Kreislaufwirtschaftsstrategie. Deshalb zielt das Projekt REINVENT zusammen mit SCI4climate.NRW darauf ab, Pionierarbeit auf diesem Gebiet zu leisten und standortspezifische Kreislaufwirtschafts-Szenarien für eine zukünftige klimaneutrale Stahl- und Chemieindustrie zu erstellen.

Im Rahmen des Workshops werden die Projektbeteiligten die Entwicklung der Stahl- und Chemieindustrie im Kontext von emissionsmindernden Kreislaufwirtschafts-Maßnahmen betrachten, um kohärente, zukunftsfähige Entwicklungspfade aufzuzeigen. Basierend auf der potenziellen Entwicklung der Materialnachfrage wie Stahl und Kunststoffe diskutieren sie, wie diese Nachfrage gedeckt werden könnte. Welche Arten von Prozessen, Technologien und Emissionsminderungsstrategien könnten umgesetzt werden – einschließlich des Potenzials für beispielsweise Recycling? Darüber hinaus sollen mögliche Pfadkombinationen und zugehörige Zeitachsen sowie potenzielle Pionierregionen identifiziert werden. Um dies zu erreichen, kombinieren die Projektbeteiligten das Wissen der Projekte SCI4climate.NRW und REINVENT und laden Expertinnen und Experten aus Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW) und verschiedenen europäischen Ländern aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft ein.
Die Ergebnisse der Diskussion sollen einen wertvollen Beitrag zu Szenario-Storylines für die in REINVENT zu berechnenden EU-Rahmenszenarien des Wuppertal Instituts und PBL Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency sowie für SCI4climate.NRW zu entwickelnde NRW-Szenarien liefern.

Der Workshop findet am 14. Juni am Wuppertal Institut von 10 bis 16 Uhr statt. Weitere Informationen zu REINVENT und SCI4climate.NRW sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.