Committee Evaluates the Environmental Performance

EMAS Awards 2019: jury members confirmed

Sustainability
  • News 21.08.2019

The EU Eco-Management and Audit Scheme (EMAS) is a Community scheme developed by the European Commission that assesses organisations and companies that wish to improve their environmental performance. Companies, service providers, administrations but also other types of organisations can be certified.

Since 2005, the European Commission has organised the European EMAS Award, which is regarded as the most prestigious award for environmental management. The EU Commission awards EMAS organisations for the best strategies and measures to achieve environmental and sustainability goals. "EMAS as a driver of change" is the theme for the 2019 edition of the EMAS Awards. The five winners of the national pre-selection show how companies and the public administration can use systematic environmental and climate management to drive sustainable changes in society beyond the company level.

The European Commission has now confirmed the members of the jury who will evaluate the nominees. The committee consists of a total of ten jury members, led this year by Chairman Martin Baxter, Chief Policy Officer at IEMA (UK). In addition to Dr. Justus von Geibler, Co-Head of the Innovation Labs Research Unit in the Sustainable Production and Consumption Division at the Wuppertal Institute, the jury includes e.g. experts from the Federal Ministry for the Environment, the German Chambers of Industry and Commerce, the Deutsche Industrie und Handelskammer e. V., and the German Environment Agency.

Further information on the EMAS Award 2019 can be found in the following link.


Further information

Links

Ausschuss bewertet Umweltleistung

EMAS Awards 2019: Jurymitglieder bestätigt

Nachhaltigkeit
  • News 21.08.2019

Das EU-Öko-Audit (Eco Management and Audit Scheme, EMAS) ist ein von der Europäischen Kommission entwickeltes Gemeinschaftssystem, die Organisationen und Unternehmen bewertet, die ihre Umweltleistung verbessern wollen. Zertifiziert werden können Unternehmen, Dienstleister, Verwaltungen aber auch andere Arten von Organisationen.

Seit 2005 organisiert die Europäische Kommission den europäischen EMAS Award, der als renommierteste Auszeichnung für Umweltmanagement gilt. Unter dem Motto "EMAS als Motor des Wandels" zeichnet die EU-Kommission in diesem Jahr EMAS-Organisationen für die besten Strategien und Maßnahmen zur Erreichung von Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitszielen aus. Die fünf Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner der nationalen Vorauswahl zeigen, wie Unternehmen und die öffentliche Verwaltung mit einem systematischen Umwelt- und Klimamanagement über die betriebliche Ebene hinaus nachhaltige Veränderungen in der Gesellschaft vorantreiben können.

Nun bestätigte die Europäische Kommission die Jurymitglieder, welche die Nominierten bewertet. Der Ausschuss besteht aus insgesamt zehn Jurymitgliedern, die in diesem Jahr vom Vorsitzenden Martin Baxter, Chief Policy Officer bei der IEMA (Vereinigtes Königreich), geleitet wird. In der Jury sind neben Dr. Justus von Geibler, Co-Leiter des Forschungsbereichs Innovationslabore in der Abteilung Nachhaltiges Produzieren und Konsumieren am Wuppertal Institut, auch Expertinnen und Experten des Bundesumweltministeriums, des Deutschen Industrie- und Handelskammertags e. V., des Umweltbundesamtes, der Deutschen Akkreditierungs- und Zulassungsgesellschaft für Umweltgutachter und des Umweltgutachterausschusses vertreten.

Weiterführende Informationen zum EMAS Award 2019 sind im nachfolgenden Link zu finden.


Weitere Informationen

Links