Shaping Low Carbon Cities Requires an Integrative Approach

Manfred Fischedick, Chun Xia, and Ralf Schüle from the Wuppertal Institute travelled to Seoul

City of Seoul
  • News 09.09.2019
Manfred Fischedick, Vice President of the Wuppertal Institute, gave the keynote speech during the 2nd International Forum on "Low Carbon Development for Cities". Source: Wuppertal Institute/C. Xia

Asian Development Bank (ADB) in collaboration with CityNet is organised the 2nd International Forum on Low Carbon Development for Cities with a topic on "Acting Together for Low Carbon, Liveable, and Prosperous Cities". The Forum, was held in Seoul on 2 to 5 September 2019, shared international best practices on integrated systems thinking and transformation, low carbon options in mega-cities, sustainable built environment including buildings and adaptation infrastructure, advanced low carbon technologies including ICT/smart technology, and green finance and innovative funding mechanisms. The forum also emphasised the importance of engaging and activating all social actors for low carbon city development.

Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Vice President of the Wuppertal Institute, Dr. Chun Xia (Project Co-ordinator, Research Unit Energy Policy) and Dr. Ralf Schüle (Co-Head of Research Unit Urban Transitions, Wuppertal Institute) participated in the Forum. At the beginning Manfred Fischedick gave the keynote speech and highlighted that although climate change as a burning issue has to be set on the top of the agenda, that it is inevitable to follow a holistic approach from the very beginning considering the multi-dimensional target arena of the sustainability challenge. In addition, in session 6 he talked about "Hydrogen Economy – Urban Hydrogen Concepts in Transport, Energy, Building (Fuel Cell CCHP), and Industry in Germany". Ralf Schüle moderated the session "Roundtable on Enabling Environment and Challenges for Integrated System-wide Low Carbon Transformation" and talked about "Creating New Opportunities driven by coal phase-out". The second session "Clean Energy and Sustainable Buildings for Low Carbon City" was moderated by Chun Xia.

In the same week Manfred Fischedick also held cooperation talks with the Seoul Metropolitan Government to prepare the next meeting of the Seoul International Energy Advisory Council (SIEAC), for which Manfred Fischedick serves as the acting head). The next meeting of SIEAC will take place on 25 October 2019 in Seoul and expects an audience from various decision makers. The meeting on 25 October will focus on an assessment of current achievements and remaining challenges of the "One Less Nuclear Power Plant 2012-2020" strategy, which was implemented by the mayor of Seoul, Park Won-soon, in 2012. SIEAC brings together ten  international experts from various regions of the world.

Gestaltung der Städte erfordert ganzheitlichen Ansatz

Manfred Fischedick, Chun Xia und Ralf Schüle vom Wuppertal Institute reisten nach Seoul

Seoul
  • News 09.09.2019
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, hielt während des 2. Internationalen Forums "Low Carbon Development for Cities" unter anderem die Eröffnungsrede. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut/C. Xia

Die Asiatische Entwicklungsbank (Asian Development Bank, ADB) organisierte in Zusammenarbeit mit CityNet das 2. Internationale Forum für kohlenstoffarme Entwicklung für Städte unter dem Motto "Acting Together for Low Carbon, Liveable, and Prosperous Cities". Während des Forums, das vom 2. bis 5. September 2019 in Seoul stattfand, tauschten sich die Teilnehmenden über international bewährte Verfahren für das Denken und die Transformation integrierter Systeme, kohlenstoffarme Optionen in Megastädten, nachhaltige Gebäudeumgebungen, fortschrittliche kohlenstoffarme Technologien sowie umweltfreundliche Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten und innovative Finanzierungsmechanismen aus. Das Forum verdeutlichte, wie wichtig es ist, alle sozialen Beteiligten für eine kohlenstoffarme Stadtentwicklung zu gewinnen und zu aktivieren.

An dem Forum nahmen Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, Dr. Chun Xia (Forschungsbereich Energiepolitik) und Dr. Ralf Schüle (Co-Leiter Forschungsbereich Stadtwandel, Wuppertal Institut) teil. Zu Beginn hielt Manfred Fischedick die Keynote-Rede und betonte, dass der Klimawandel als zentrales Thema zwar ganz oben auf der Agenda stehen müsse, es aber unvermeidlich sei von Anfang an einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz zu verfolgen, sofern man die multidimensionale Zielarena der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung betrachte. Darüber hinaus ging er in der 6. Session in einem Vortrag auf die Wasserstoffwirtschaft in Verkehr, Energie, Gebäuden und der deutschen Industrie ein. Ralf Schüle moderierte die Session "Roundtable on Enabling Environment and Challenges for Integrated System-wide Low Carbon Transformation" und sprach in seinem Vortrag über die Chancen des Kohleausstiegs. Die zweite Session "Clean Energy and Sustainable Buildings for Low Carbon City" moderierte Chun Xia.

In der gleichen Woche führte Fischedick Kooperationsgespräche mit dem Seoul Metropolitan Government, um die Sitzung des Seoul International Energy Advisory Council (SIEAC) vorzubereiten, dessen stellvertretender Leiter Manfred Fischedick ist. Das nächste SIEAC-Treffen findet am 25. Oktober 2019 statt, bei dem vielfältige Entscheidungsträgerinnen und -träger teilnehmen werden. Im Fokus der Sitzung stehen die Bewertung der aktuellen Erfolge sowie die bevorstehenden Herausforderungen der umfassenden Strategie "One Less Nuclear Power Plant 2012-2020", die 2012 der Bürgermeister von Seoul, Park Won-soon, umgesetzt wurde. Das SIEAC bringt zehn Expertinnen und Experten aus verschiedenen Regionen der Welt zusammen.


Weitere Informationen

Links