Analysis of Electricity Generation in MENA Countries

Article describes preference of local stakeholders for renewable energies

Solar power plant
  • News 12.09.2019

The majority of countries in the Middle East & North Africa (MENA) region are committed to reducing their emissions. So far, however, little research has been done into how these goals can be translated into concrete future scenarios and how these scenarios in turn are evaluated by local stakeholders.
Based on the MENA SELECT project, research fellows Ole Zelt (Reserach Unit Sectors and Technologies) and Christine Krüger (Reserach Unit Systems and Infrastructures), both in the Future Energy and Industry Systems Division at the Wuppertal Institute, together with other researchers from the project consortium, published an article highlighting this issue for the electricity sector in Morocco, Tunisia and Jordan. The MENA SELECT project was carried out jointly by BICC Bonn International Center for Conversion, Wuppertal Institute, IIASA – International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Germanwatch and Europa-Universität Flensburg.

In a series of two-day workshops, the research team developed several scenarios for the electricity sector in 2050 together with relevant societal actors from the three countries. These scenarios were then evaluated using a multi-criteria analysis (MCA). Participants were also invited to include their personal assessment of individual criteria in the evaluation. The results show that local actors in all three countries prefer scenarios based predominantly or even exclusively on renewable energies.

Further information on the MENA SELECT project and the full article "Long-Term Electricity Scenarios for the MENA Region: Assessing the Preferences of Local Stakeholders Using Multi-Criteria Analyses" can be found in the links below.

Analyse der Stromerzeugung in MENA-Ländern

Artikel beschreibt Präferenz lokaler Akteure für erneuerbare Energien

Solarturmkraftwerk
  • News 12.09.2019

Die Mehrheit der Länder des Nahen Ostens und Nordafrikas (Middle East & North Africa, MENA) wollen ihre Emissionen reduzieren. Bislang ist jedoch wenig erforscht, wie sich dieses Ziel in konkrete Zukunftsszenarien übersetzen lassen und wie diese wiederum von den lokalen Akteuren bewertet werden.
Basierend auf dem Projekt MENA SELECT veröffentlichten die wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitenden Ole Zelt, Forschungsbereich Sektoren und Technologien, und Christine Krüger, Forschungsbereich Systeme und Infrastrukturen in der Abteilung Zukünftige Energie- und Industriesysteme am Wuppertal Institut, zusammen mit anderen Forschenden des Projektkonsortiums einen Artikel, der diese Frage für den Stromsektor in Marokko, Tunesien und Jordanien beleuchtet. Das Projekt MENA SELECT wurde gemeinsam durchgeführt von BICC Bonn International Center for Conversion, Wuppertal Institut, IIASA – International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Germanwatch und der Europa-Universität Flensburg.

In einer Reihe von zweitägigen Workshops entwickelte das Forscherteam zusammen mit relevanten gesellschaftlichen Akteuren der drei Länder mehrere Szenarien für den Stromsektor im Jahr 2050. Anschließend wurden diese Szenarien mit Hilfe einer multikriteriellen Analyse (MCA) bewertet. Die Teilnehmenden konnten dabei auch ihre persönliche Einschätzung einzelner Kriterien in die Bewertung einbringen. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass lokale Akteure in allen drei Ländern Szenarien bevorzugen, die überwiegend oder sogar ausschließlich auf erneuerbaren Energien basieren.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt MENA SELECT sowie der vollständige Artikel "Long-Term Electricity Scenarios for the MENA Region: Assessing the Preferences of Local Stakeholders Using Multi-Criteria Analyses" sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.