Enhance Cities' Policy Making Capacity

SPROUT kick-off in Zaragoza

Bike and car
  • News 09.10.2019

The research project SPROUT (Sustainable Policy Response to Urban Mobility Transition) has started on 1 September. Therefore, a kick-off meeting took place between the 18 and 19 September in Zaragoza/Spain. SPROUT is a project funded by the European Commission's Horizon 2020 programme, it is lead by the Zaragoza Logistics Centre and has a duration of 36 months. The main role of the Wuppertal Institute will be to enhance cities' policy making capacity. The kick-off took place at the premises of the ZLC (Zaragoza Logistics Centre).

SPROUT provides a new city-led innovative and data driven policy response to address the impacts of the emerging mobility patterns (e.g. sharing mobility), digitally-enabled operating & business models, and transport users’ needs. Previously tested and implemented policy responses employing access restrictions, congestion charging or infrastructure provision, seem today unable to adequately address the changes underway in the urban mobility scene. Furthermore, any policy responses should take into account all stages of the policy lifecycle and should have an eye not only to the present but also to the future.

To achieve its goals, SPROUT will employ six city pilots with real-life policy challenges faced as a result of urban mobility transition in both passenger & freight, covering urban and peri-urban areas, different emerging mobility solutions, and context requirements. One of the main goals of the kick-off meeting was to understand in detail the urban mobility environment and challenges of each of the SPROUT partner cities as well as their expected benefits from the project.

Politische Handlungsfähigkeit von Städten verbessern

SPROUT-Auftakttreffen in Saragossa

Fahrrad und Auto
  • News 09.10.2019

Am 1. September hat das Forschungsprojekt "Sustainable Policy Response to Urban Mobility Transition" – kurz SPROUT – begonnen. Dazu fand am 18. und 19. September 2019 das Auftakttreffen im spanischen Saragossa statt. SPROUT ist ein aus dem Horizont-2020-Programm der Europäischen Kommission finanziertes Projekt, welches vom Zaragoza Logistics Centre (ZLC) geleitet wird und eine Laufzeit von 36 Monaten hat. Die Hauptaufgabe des Wuppertal Instituts wird es sein, Städte darin zu unterstützen, ihre politische Handlungsfähigkeit zu verbessern, auf Trends und Innovationen urbaner Mobilität zu reagieren. Das Auftakttreffen fand in den Räumlichkeiten des ZLC statt.

SPROUT bietet eine neue innovative und datengesteuerte politische Antwort von Städten auf Mobilitätsmuster und Innovationen wie Sharing Mobility oder digital gestützte Geschäftsmodelle in der City-Logistik. Bereits getestete und umgesetzte politische Maßnahmen wie Zugangsbeschränkungen, eine City-Maut oder neue Infrastruktur stellten sich als nicht vollständig tauglich heraus, auf laufende Veränderungen in der städtischen Mobilität angemessen zu reagieren. Zudem sollten politische Entscheidungen alle Phasen des Politikzyklus berücksichtigen und nicht nur die Gegenwart, sondern auch die Zukunft im Blick haben.

SPROUT wird eine politische Antwort in sechs Pilotstädten testen, die mit realen Herausforderungen konfrontiert sind und die verschiedene neue Mobilitätslösungen und Kontextanforderungen umfassen. Eines der Hauptziele des Kick-off-Meetings war es, die Trends, Treiber und Bedingungen der einzelnen SPROUT-Partnerstädte sowie deren erwarteten Nutzen aus dem Projekt im Detail zu verstehen.