Off the Beaten Track

The role of the financial system, technology cooperation and sectoral decarbonisation clubs in global climate governance - deliverable reports of the COP RIPLLES project

International flags
  • News 31.10.2019

Four new research reports have been published under the COP21 RIPPLES project funded under the European Horizon 2020 research programme. Building on previous analysis the four reports analyse specific issue areas: the role of the financial system in catalysing transformative change, international technology and innovation governance as well as sectoral decarbonization clubs as a specific means to close some of the governance gaps identified in previous analysis.
Collectively these four reports propose challenges to the EU and the incoming European Commission that can lead to the reorientation of its climate-related foreign policy and offer inspiration for how to engage constructively and in the spirit of the Paris Agreement in the international realm:

Deliverable 4.3a: From transformational climate finance to transforming the financial system for climate
It is only very recent that financial sector governance has started to include environmental perspectives and to accept a responsibility to contribute proactively to the global transformation towards sustainability. The analysis entitled "From transformational climate finance to transforming the financial system for climate" by Hugues Chenet (University College London), Luis Zamrioli, Bianka Kretschmer and Rodrigo Narvaez (former Climate Analytics) traces this paradigm shift, dissects the underlying theories and narratives that dominate governance of the financial system and compares the specific governance approaches of the EU and China.

Deliverable 4.3b: International Technology and Innovation Governance for Addressing Climate Change: Options for the EU
The second contribution is a major cross-cutting theme which emerged as salient in all of the sectoral analysis performed in the previous task WP4.2: the role of technological innovation and transfer of sustainable zero-carbon technologies. In their contribution "International Technology and Innovation Governance for Addressing Climate Change: Options for the EU" the authors Tomas Wyns, Gauri Khandekar and Lisanne Groen (Vrije Universiteit Brussels – Institute for Environmental Studies – VUB-IES) develop a novel typology of innovation, and systematically assess national (US, EU, China) innovation systems, bilateral (US-China, EU-China, EU-US) technology cooperation, as well as international governance of climate technology.

Deliverable 4.3c: A Sectoral Perspective on Climate Clubs
The third theme differs from the previous two in that it does not relate to a cross-cutting aspect of sectoral transformation such as technology/innovation and finance, but concerns a specific means of governance: the promise and potential of decarbonisation clubs. In their contribution "A Sectoral Perspective on Climate Clubs" (Wolfgang Obergassel, Hanna Wang-Helmreich, and Lukas Hermwille from the Global Climate Governance Research Unit in the Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Division at the Wuppertal Institute systematically review the existing literature on climate or decarbonisation clubs and advance on it by proposing to focus decarbonisation clubs on specific sectors. Building on the sectoral analysis of previous task they go on to discuss the generic potential to close the identified governance gaps of a sectoral decarbonisation club for three sectors, namely land-based transportation, power generation and energy-intensive industries.

Deliverable 4.3d: Exploring the Prospects for a Sectoral Decarbonisation Club in the Steel Industry
This stream of research is further advanced in a fourth contribution: In "Exploring the Prospects for a Sectoral Decarbonization Club in the Steel Industry" Lukas Hermwille specifically explores potential club benefits, incentives for members as well as challenges to the establishment of a sectoral decarbonisation club in the steel industry. The paper concludes by providing a first conceptual sketch of how such a steel sector club could be configured.

For updated information on publications and the COP 21 RIPPLES project can be found under the links below.

Internationale Klimapolitik abseits der üblichen Wege

Die Rolle des Finanzsystems, internationale Technologiekooperation und innovative Sektor-Klimaclubs - Forschungsergebnisse des COP21 RIPPLES Projekts

Internationale Flaggen
  • News 31.10.2019

Der Bericht "Deliverable 4.3" baut auf früheren Analysen des im Rahmen des EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramms Horizont 2020 geförderten Projekts COP 21 RIPPLES auf, in dem das Versprechen und das Potenzial für eine internationale Governance bewertet wurden und die verbleibenden Governance-Lücken sowie Möglichkeiten, diese zu überwinden. Zusammenfassend schlagen die vier in dem Deliverable 4.3 enthaltenen Berichte Herausforderungen für die Europäische Union (EU) und die kommende Europäische Kommission vor, die zu einer Neuausrichtung ihrer klimabezogenen Außenpolitik führen können und Anregungen für ein konstruktives und im Sinne des Pariser Klimaabkommens konstruktives Engagement im internationalen Bereich bieten:

Deliverable4.3a: From transformational climate finance to transforming the financial system for climate
Erst in jüngster Zeit hat die Governance des Finanzsektors begonnen, Umweltperspektiven einzubeziehen und die Verantwortung zu übernehmen, proaktiv zur globalen Transformation hin zu Nachhaltigkeit beizutragen. Die Analyse "From transformational climate finance to transforming the financial system for climate" des Autorenteams Hugues Chenet (University College London), Luis Zamrioli, Bianka Kretschmer und Rodrigo Narvaez (ehemals bei Climate Analytics) verfolgt diesen Paradigmenwechsel, seziert die zugrunde liegenden Theorien und Erzählungen, die die Governance des Finanzsystems dominieren, und vergleicht die spezifischen Governance-Ansätze der EU und Chinas.

Deliverable 4.3b: International Technology and Innovation Governance for Addressing Climate Change: Options for the EU
Der zweite Beitrag ist ein wichtiges Querschnittsthema, das sich bei allen sektoralen Analysen, die in der vorherigen Aufgabe WP4.2 durchgeführt wurden, als herausragend erwiesen hat: die Rolle der technologischen Innovation und der Transfer nachhaltiger kohlenstofffreier Technologien. In ihrem Beitrag "International Technology and Innovation Governance for Addressing Climate Change: Optionen für die EU" entwickeln Tomas Wyns, Gauri Khandekar und Lisanne Groen (Vrije Universiteit Brussels – Institute for Environmental Studies -VUB-IES) eine neuartige Innovationstypologie und bewerten systematisch nationale (USA, EU, China) Innovationssysteme, bilaterale (USA-China, EU-China, EU-China, EU-US) Technologiekooperationen sowie die internationale Governance der Klimatechnologie.

Deliverable 4.3c: A Sectoral Perspective on Climate Clubs
Das dritte Thema unterscheidet sich von den beiden vorangegangenen dadurch, dass es sich nicht auf einen Querschnittsaspekt der sektoralen Transformation wie Technologie/Innovation und Finanzen bezieht, sondern ein spezifisches Governance-Mittel betrifft: das Versprechen und Potenzial von Dekarbonisierungsclubs. In ihrem Beitrag "A Sectoral Perspective on Climate Clubs" berichten Wolfgang Obergassel, Hanna Wang-Helmreich und Lukas Hermwille aus dem Forschungsbereich Internationale Klimapolitik in der Abteilung Energie, Verkehr und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut über die bestehende Literatur zu Klima- oder Dekarbonisierungsclubs und setzen diese fort, indem sie vorschlagen, die Dekarbonisierungsclubs auf bestimmte Sektoren zu konzentrieren. Aufbauend auf der sektoralen Analyse der bisherigen Aufgabe diskutieren sie das generische Potenzial, die identifizierten Governance-Lücken eines sektoralen Dekarbonisierungsclubs für die drei Sektoren Landverkehr, Energieerzeugung und energieintensive Industrien zu schließen.

Deliverable 4.3d: Exploring the Prospects for a Sectoral Decarbonisation Club in the Steel Industry
Dieser Forschungszweig wird in einem vierten Beitrag weiter vorangetrieben. In "Exploring the Prospects for a Sectoral Decarbonization Club in the Steel Industry" untersucht der Autor Lukas Hermwille insbesondere mögliche Clubvorteile, Anreize für Mitglieder sowie Herausforderungen für die Gründung eines sektoralen Dekarbonisierungsclubs in der Stahlindustrie. Das Papier schließt mit einer ersten konzeptionellen Skizze, wie ein solcher Stahl-Sektor-Club konfiguriert werden könnte.

Aktuelle Informationen zum Deliverable 4.3 sowie zum Projekt COP 21 RIPPLES sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.