What should policy-making for a just and sustainable Europe look like in 2030?

Wuppertal Institute fellows facilitated workshop and co-hosted EIT Climate-KIC event "Innovating for a Just Transition" in Brussels

EU flag
  • News 28.11.2019

Coal, heavy industry and manufacturing sectors have deeply and continuously transformed the economies, cultures and identities of European industry regions since the industrialisation. Today's necessity to decarbonise the European industry entails the need for yet another transformation of these regions: They are under pressure to rapidly change their economic structure in a proactive manner considering climate, social, and economic justice simultaneously. It is no secret that this will be a major challenge for most of these regions, their respective nation states as well as the EU. For this reason, EIT Climate-KIC, the Wuppertal Institute and other partners hosted an inspirational and interactive event in Brussels on Monday, 18 November 2019 and invited a variety of stakeholders from the EU, Europe's carbon-intensive industry regions as well as scholars and NGOs to come together and envision a Just Europe in 2030.

Which policies and regulations will or should be in place in 2030? Which might have been removed? How are policies being designed, tested, and implemented in 2030? Who is involved in the policy-making process and what is the role of politicians? Using these and other trigger questions, Timon Wehnert, Head of the Institute's Berlin Office, and Michaela Roelfes, Research Fellow in the Urban Transitions Research Unit in the Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Division at the Wuppertal Institute, facilitated the workshop on "Policy and Governance Innovation for a Just Europe" together with Kate Robinson from EIT Climate-KIC. Out came a vision for citizen-led policy-making on Europe's multiple governance levels with climate policy being on track and ambitious sustainability policies in the making. "It was fascinating to see that our participants did not focus too much the exact design of policies and regulations, but critically focussed on the way policies are being made. This is valuable information for politicians but also for us as researchers", recapitulate Timon Wehnert.

The Wuppertal Institute is leading the EIT Climate-KIC Flagship Re-Industrialise, which focuses on understanding and supporting regions with an economy build around fossil fuels and carbon-intensive industries. Since the beginning of 2018, the flagship's consortium has gained valuable experience and knowledge by interacting with regional stakeholders and conducting (transdisciplinary) research on these regions. The Re-Industrialise website provides (regional) policy-makers and other interested parties with this knowledge via working papers, case studies and other report. Most importantly, the Flagship consortium has just now released an interactive map that visualises similarities and differences of Europe's coal regions.

Politikgestaltung für ein gerechtes und nachhaltiges Europa in 2030

Mitarbeitende des Wuppertal Instituts moderierten Workshop auf dem EIT Climate-KIC event "Innovating for a Just Transition" in Brüssel

EU-Flagge
  • News 28.11.2019

Kohle, Schwerindustrie und energieintensive Produktion haben die Wirtschaft, die Kulturen und Identitäten europäischer Industrieregionen seit der Industrialisierung tiefgreifend und kontinuierlich verändert. Heute ist es zunehmend anerkannt, dass die europäische Industrie sich dekarbonisieren muss, was eine erneute Transformationsnotwendigkeit für diese Regionen bedeutet: Sie stehen unter Druck ihre Wirtschaftsstruktur proaktiv, sehr schnell und auf eine gerechte Art und Weise zu verändern. Dies wird auch für viele dieser Regionen eine große Herausforderung sein. Aus diesem Grund haben EIT Climate-KIC, das Wuppertal Institut und weitere Partner am 18. November 2019 eine Vielzahl von Interessensvertreterinnen und -vertreter eingeladen, um gemeinsam eine Vision für ein gerechtes Europa in 2030 zu entwickeln.

Welche Richtlinien und Regulierungen sollen 2030 eingeführt sein? Welche wurden möglicherweise abgeschafft? Wie wird Politik in 2030 gestaltet, getestet und umgesetzt? Wer ist am politischen Gestaltungsprozess beteiligt und welche Rolle spielen Politikerinnen und Politiker? Mit Blick auf diese und weitere Impulsfragen haben Timon Wehnert, Leiter des Büro Berlin am Wuppertal Institut, und Michaela Roelfes, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Forschungsbereich Stadtwandel in der Abteilung Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut, gemeinsam mit Kate Robinson von EIT Climate-KIC den Workshop zum Thema "Policy and Governance Innovation for a Just Europe" moderiert. Es entstand die Vision eines politischen Prozesses, der von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern getragen wird, und bereits für einen erfolgreichen Kurs der Klimapolitik gesorgt hat und sich nun ambitionierter Nachhaltigkeitspolitik widmet. "Es war faszinierend zu sehen, dass unsere Teilnehmenden gar nicht so sehr auf die technische Gestaltung der politischen Maßnahmen und Bestimmungen eingegangen sind, sondern sofort den politischen Gestaltungsprozess für sich kritisch hinterfragt haben. Dies sind wertvolle Informationen für Politikerinnen und Politiker, aber auch für die Wissenschaft", rekapituliert Timon Wehnert.

Das Wuppertal Institut leitet das EIT Climate-KIC Flagship Re-Industrialise, dessen Arbeit sich auf Regionen konzentiert, deren Wirtschaft stark von fossilen Energieträgern und kohlenstoffintensiver Industrie abhängt. Ziel des Flagships ist es, diese Regionen besser zu verstehen und zu unterstützen. Seit Anfang 2018 hat das Flagship-Konsortium wertvolle Erfahrungen in der Interaktion mit diesen Regionen gesammelt. Im Rahmen des Flagships führten sie (transdisziplinäre) Forschung zu diesen Regionen durch, deren Ergebnisse über das virtuelle "Knowledge Centre" abgerufen werden können. Das Konsortium veröffentlichte dort kürzlich eine neue, interaktive Karte, auf der die statistischen Unterschiede und die Gemeinsamkeiten europäischer Kohleregionen visualisiert sind.