Energy Storage Europe 2020

Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick gives a lecture during the conference

  • Events 16.03. - 18.03.2021
  • Location Düsseldorf, Germany

The stabilisation of the global climate has moved to the first page of all business journals and daily newspapers in the recent months. On 11 December 2019, the EU Commission led by Ursula von der Leyen presented a broadly supported "European Green Deal", which aims to make the continent climate-neutral by 2050 by introducing a fundamentally new political and economic direction among other thing.

The restructuring of energy systems is an indispensable prerequisite for this, and both the massively increasing technological supply and drastically falling prices of distributed renewable resources, efficiency systems and energy storage systems position us ideally for this. The development and systemic integration of energy storage systems play a particularly important role here. These topics are the key to linking energy supply and energy consumption across sectors and at low cost.

The Energy Storage Europe (ESE) makes a significant contribution with its trade fair and the now 9th ESE Conference as well as the 14th IRES Conference. While the ESE sessions focus on business models, best practices and markets for thermal, chemical, electrical energy storage and Power-to-X solutions, EUROSOLAR's IRES sessions will look at research & development in these technologies and also present their combination and optimized use in energy systems.

On the first day of the conference, Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Scientific Managing Director of the Wuppertal Institute, will give a lecture on how to combat climate change starting at 14:25. His lecture "Transformation Pathways for GHG Mitigation – Related Challenges and Chances" will discuss how the greenhouse gas mitigation targets can be achieved, which strategies are relevant and how they can be combined in different transformation pathways. He also outlines the related challenges and addresses technological, infrastructural, economic, social, political and institutional aspects.

Further information can be found via the following link.

Energy Storage Europe 2020

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick hält Vortrag während der diesjährigen Konferenz

  • Termine 10.03. - 12.03.2020
  • Ort Düsseldorf

Die Stabilisierung des globalen Klimas ist in den vergangenen Monaten auf Seite Eins aller Wirtschaftsjournale und Tageszeitungen gerückt. Die EU-Kommission unter Ursula von der Leyen hat am 11. Dezember 2019 einen breit unterstützten europäischen "Green Deal" vorgestellt, welcher den Kontinent unter anderem durch eine grundlegend neue wirtschaftliche und energietechnologische Ausrichtung bis 2050 klimaneutral machen will.
Der Umbau der Energiesysteme ist dafür eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung, und sowohl das massiv steigende technologische Angebot als auch drastisch fallende Preise verteilter erneuerbarer Ressourcen, Effizienzsysteme und Energiespeicher sind hierfür ideal positioniert. Gerade die Entwicklung und systemische Einbindung der Energiespeicher spielen hier eine tragende Rolle. Sie sind der Schlüssel, Energiebereitstellung und Energieverbrauch sektorenübergreifend und kostengünstig zu verbinden.

Die Energy Storage Europe (ESE) leistet mit ihrer Messe und der 9. ESE-Konferenz sowie der 14. IRES-Konferenz einen bedeutenden Beitrag. Während die ESE-Sessions auf Geschäftsmodelle, Best Practices und Märkte für thermische, chemische, elektrische Energiespeicher sowie Power-to-X-Lösungen abzielen, werden in den IRES-Sessions von EUROSOLAR Forschung & Entwicklung in den genannten Technologien betrachtet und darüber hinaus deren Kombination und optimierter Einsatz in Energiesystemen präsentiert.

Am ersten ESE-Konferenztag hält Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des Wuppertal Instituts, ab 14:25 Uhr einen Vortrag zu der Frage, wie sich der Klimawandel bekämpft werden kann. Sein Vortrag "Transformation Pathways for GHG Mitigation – Related Challenges and Chances" zeigt auf, wie die Ziele der Treibhausgasminderung erreicht werden können, welche Strategien relevant sind und wie sie in verschiedenen Transformationsverläufen kombiniert werden können. Er skizziert auch die damit zusammenhängenden Herausforderungen und geht auch mit Blick auf technologische, infrastrukturelle, wirtschaftliche, soziale, politische und institutionelle Aspekte ein.

Weiterführende Informationen sind im nachfolgenden Link zu finden.