Webinar: Infrastructure for net-zero heavy industry in Europe

Is EU infrastructure ready for the clean transition? Final event of the INFRA-NEEDS project

  • Events 10.06.2020
  • Location Online

The Green Deal of the new European Commission aims to make the EU greenhouse gas neutral by 2050 at the latest, requiring enormous efforts from all sectors to speed up decarbonisation. Recent studies show, that the transformation of energy and carbon intensive industries to net zero GHG emissions is a huge, but feasible challenge. It will need various leap innovations to change the production systems. This will result in considerable geographically concentrated additional demands for renewable electricity, hydrogen and fuels and/or Carbon Capture and Storage/Utilisation. The clean industrial transformation will require new, efficient transport and storage infrastructures, which are not sufficiently taken into account in recent planning.
 
This event will discuss how the EU and Member States need to step up their infrastructure planning efforts to meet the ambitions of the Green Deal. The following key questions will serve as a basis for this:

  • Where in Europe and its industrial regions will (new) demand for electricity and hydrogen emerge until 2050, depending on different decarbonisation strategies?
  • Which regions in Europe are affected most from the net-zero industrial transition and have the highest needs for adopting and expanding (existing) infrastructures?
  • How much infrastructure and which infrastructure solutions will be needed to cover the future demands of electricity and H2, and to transport remaining CO2 to carbon storages?
  • What should be the next steps for a sustainable infrastructure on the long road towards greenhouse gas neutral industrial and energy systems within the Green Deal?

Background of the event is the EIT Climate-KIC funded research project "Infrastructure Needs of an EU Industrial Transformation towards deep decarbonisation", which is also part of the European Climate Foundation's Industrial Transformation 2050 initiative and builds on net zero pathways for heavy industry developed as part of this initiative.
The research project "Infrastructure Needs of an Industrial Transformation of the EU towards Deep Decarbonisation" (INFRA NEEDS) analyses where in Europe how much (additional) energy needs arise from the decarbonisation of the three most energy-intensive industrial sectors in Europe. For these hotspots, the resulting infrastructure needs in 2050 will be investigated.

Further information about the project can be found in the link below. Registrations are possible under the link below.

Verschoben: Infrastrukturen für eine treibhausgasneutrale Schwerindustrie in Europa

Sind die EU-Infrastrukturen für die "grüne" Transformation bereit? Abschlussveranstaltung des Projekts INFRA-NEEDS

  • Termine 18.03.2020
  • Ort Brüssel, Belgien

Hinweis: Leider wird die Veranstaltung wegen des Corona-Virus verschoben. Sobald es einen neuen Termin gibt, wird er aktualisiert.

Der Green Deal der Europäischen Kommission zielt darauf ab, die Europäische Union (EU) bis spätestens zum Jahr 2050 treibhausgasneutral zu machen. Dies erfordert enorme Anstrengungen von allen Sektoren, um die Dekarbonisierung zu beschleunigen. Jüngste Studien zeigen, dass die Umwandlung energie- und kohlenstoffintensiver Industrien zu Netto-Null-Treibhausgasemission eine große, aber machbare Herausforderung darstellt. Um die Produktionssysteme zu verändern, sind jedoch verschiedene Sprunginnovationen erforderlich. Dies wird zu einer erheblichen geografisch konzentrierten zusätzlichen Nachfrage nach erneuerbaren Energieträgern führen wie Strom, Wasserstoff und Brennstoffen und/oder Kohlenstoffabscheidung, -speicherung beziehungsweise -nutzung. Der "grüne" industrielle Wandel erfordert daher neue, effiziente Transport- und Speicherinfrastrukturen, die in den jedoch jüngsten Planungen nicht ausreichend berücksichtigt werden.

Die Abschlussveranstaltung des INFRA-NEEDS-Projekts soll erörtern, inwiefern die EU und die Mitgliedstaaten ihre Anstrengungen bei der Infrastrukturplanung verstärken müssen, um dem Green Deal gerecht zu werden. Dafür dienen folgende Schlüsselfragen als Grundlage:

  • Wo in Europa und seinen Industrieregionen wird bis 2050 eine (neue) Nachfrage nach Strom und Wasserstoff entstehen – abhängig von den verschiedenen Dekarbonisierungsstrategien?
  • Welche Regionen in Europa sind am stärksten von der industriellen Dekarbonisierung betroffen und haben den größten Bedarf an der Anpassung und Erweiterung (bestehender) Infrastrukturen?
  • Wie viel Infrastruktur und welche Art von Infrastrukturlösungen werden benötigt, um den zukünftigen Bedarf an Strom und Wasserstoff zu decken und das verbleibende CO2 zu den Kohlenstoffspeichern zu transportieren?
  • Was sollten die nächsten Schritte für eine nachhaltige Infrastruktur auf dem langen Weg zu treibhausgasneutralen Industrie- und Energiesystemen im Rahmen des Green Deal sein?

Hintergrund der Veranstaltung ist das vom EIT Climate-KIC finanzierte Forschungsprojekt "Infrastructure Needs of an EU Industrial Transformation towards deep decarbonisation" – kurz INFRA-NEEDS –, welches Teil der Initiative Industrial Transformation 2050 der European Climate Foundation ist und auf den im Rahmen dieser Initiative entwickelten Netto-Nullpfaden für die Schwerindustrie aufbaut.

Weiterführende Informationen zum Projekt sind im nachfolgenden Link zu finden. Anmeldungen sind im nachfolgenden Link möglich.