International Expert Workshop on the Future of the UN Climate Conferences

Call for Submissions of the Wuppertal Institute and the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE)

Flags
  • News 21.02.2020
  • Location Wuppertal, Germany
Photo Credits: Flickr.com | UNFCCC: ’41©Climate Emergency DAY 11' (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 – www.flickr.com/photos/unfccc/49202764933/)

The Wuppertal Institute and the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) will host an expert workshop under the theme "It's the End of the COP as We Know It". The purpose of the event is to discuss how the nature of the annual meeting of the Conference of the Parties (COP) to the UNFCCC (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change) may be shaped to make the best use of what has become a global focusing event for climate action.

With the adoption of the Paris Agreement in 2015 and subsequently the completion of the corresponding rulebook at COP24 in Katowice, the UNFCCC has mostly completed the regime building process. For more than a decade the negotiation of first the Copenhagen Accord and subsequently the Paris Agreement dominated the annual UN climate conferences. While some issues will require ongoing negotiations, the imminent conclusion of the regime building pro-cess represents a critical juncture for multilateral climate governance. Specifically, it opens a new chapter for the UNFCCC and the organisation of its annual COP as the focus shifts from negotiation to implementation. Indeed, the negotiating capacity that is now being freed up should be refocused to faciliating implementation, monitoring progress and, crucially, raising ambition.

The purpose of the workshop is to bring together international experts and researchers to develop and discuss ideas how this re-configuration could best be achieved. The two-day event will be held in Wuppertal on 26 and 27 May 2020. Interested people in joining this timely and challenging debate may submit a proposal. The submission deadline is 20 March 2020. Detailed information on the "Call for Submissions" can be found at the link below.


Further information

Downloads

Internationaler Expertenworkshop zur Zukunft der internationalen Klimaschutzkonferenzen

Wuppertal Institut und Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) veröffentlichen Aufforderung zur Einreichung von Beiträgen

Flaggen
  • News 21.02.2020
  • Ort Wuppertal
Photo Credits: Flickr.com | UNFCCC: ’41©Climate Emergency DAY 11' (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 – www.flickr.com/photos/unfccc/49202764933/)

Unter dem Motto "It's the End of the COP as We Know It" veranstalten das Wuppertal Institut und das Deutsche Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) einen Expertenworkshop. Ziel der Veranstaltung ist es zu erörtern, wie die jährliche Vertragsstaatenkonferenz (Conference of the Parties, COP) der Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, UNFCCC) gestaltet werden kann, um das Potenzial dieses politischen Großevents bestmöglich zu nutzen.

Mit der Verabschiedung des Pariser Klimaschutzabkommens im Jahr 2015 und der anschließenden Fertigstellung des dazugehörigen Regelwerks auf der COP24 in Katowice, hat die UNFCCC den Prozess der Regimebildung weitgehend abgeschlossen. Mehr als ein Jahrzehnt lang dominierten die Verhandlungen für ein umfassendes globales Klimaschutzabkommen die jährlichen UN-Klimakonferenzen. Während einige Themen noch laufende Verhandlungen erfordern, stellt der bevorstehende Abschluss des Regimebildungsprozesses einen kritischen Punkt für die multilaterale Klimapolitik dar. Insbesondere eröffnet er ein neues Kapitel für die UNFCCC und die Organisation ihrer jährlich stattfindenden COP, da sich der Schwerpunkt von den Verhandlungen auf die Umsetzung verlagert. Die frei werdenden Verhandlungskapazitäten sollten neu ausgerichtet werden, um die Umsetzung von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen zu unterstützen, Fortschritte zu überwachen und insbesondere die Klimaschutzambition zu erhöhen.

Der Workshop bringt internationale Expertinnen und Experten und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zusammen, um Ideen zu entwickeln und zu diskutieren, wie diese Neukonfiguration am besten gelingen kann. Der Workshop findet ganztägig am 26. und 27. Mai 2020 in Wuppertal statt. Interessierte, die sich an der Debatte beteiligen möchten, können bis zum 20. März 2020 einen Beitragsvorschlag einreichen. Detaillierte Informationen zum "Call for Submissions" sind im nachfolgenden Link zu finden.


Weitere Informationen

Downloads