Sustainability on Sustainable Energy Research

Article by Manuel Bickel examines research field with regard to its sustainability

Publication
  • News 04.03.2020

One of the central goals of the Great Transformation is to establish a sustainable energy system. Science plays an important role in the related societal decision-making processes, especially the field dealing with "sustainable energy". Therefore, the topics and ideas circulating in this scientific field are highly relevant for decisions on how to shape the future energy system. Whether the ideas in this field, which describes itself as "sustainable", actually contribute to the establishment of a sustainable energy system is by no means self-evident. For better understanding the structure and orientation of the research area on "sustainable energy" and identifying possible gaps, the study "Reflecting trends in the academic landscape of sustainable energy using probabilistic topic modeling" by Manuel Bickel, Research Fellow in the Product and Consumption Systems Research Unit in the Sustainable Production and Consumption Division at the Wuppertal Institute, examines the global thematic research landscape.

The study uses modern text mining methods to analyse more than 25,000 scientific abstracts published since 1990. The results show that the research field focuses on the development and optimisation of the energy infrastructure towards 100 per cent renewable energies using modern key technologies. These include materials science, (biological) process engineering and (digital) monitoring and control systems. The results of the study show trends towards an increased utilization of energy storage, photonic materials (for example for solar cells or artificial photosynthesis), nanomaterials or bio fuels. Decreasing trends are identified in particular for aspects relating to sustainable development in general and the associated economic, ecological and political issues.

The author of the study concludes that the discourse latently follows a technology-oriented paradigm and, thereby, can make important contributions to the establishment of a sustainable energy system. However, he also highlights that social science or psychological approaches, for instance, are only of secondary importance. The integrative and global perspective that originally motivated the research field is currently not a central reference point. A multi-faceted concept of sustainability as used, e.g., in social-ecological research, is not present in the global research field of "sustainable energy" currently.

In order to establish sustainable energy systems, future research must not only focus on the technical infrastructure, but also clearly focus on questions that can only be preceived and answered with a holistic perspective, the author adds: "In the future, the interplay between the energy system and material flows, for example, energy efficiency versus material efficiency, should be taken into account to a greater extent and the integration of the social sciences should be strengthened."

The open access article was published by Springer in "Energy, Sustainability and Society" and is available in the link below.

Wie nachhaltig ist Forschung zu "Nachhaltiger Energie"?

Artikel von Manuel Bickel untersucht Forschungsfeld hinsichtlich dessen Nachhaltigkeit

Publikation
  • News 04.03.2020

Eines der zentralen Ziele der Großen Transformation ist es, ein nachhaltiges Energiesystem zu etablieren. Die Wissenschaft spielt für die damit in Verbindung stehenden gesellschaftlichen Entscheidungsprozesse eine wichtige Rolle, insbesondere der Teilbereich der sich mit "Nachhaltiger Energie" befasst. Die Themen und Ideen, die in diesem Wissenschaftsbereich zirkulieren, sind daher hochrelevant für die Weichenstellung hinsichtlich der Entscheidungen wie das zukünftige Energiesystem gestaltet wird. Ob die Ideen in diesem Bereich, der sich selbst als "nachhaltig" bezeichnen, tatsächlich zur Etablierung eines nachhaltigen Energiesystems beitragen, ist keinesfalls selbstverständlich. Um die Struktur und Ausrichtung des Forschungsbereich zu "Nachhaltiger Energie" besser zu verstehen und mögliche Lücken aufzuzeigen, untersucht die Studie "Reflecting trends in the academic landscape of sustainable energy using probabilistic topic modeling" von Manuel Bickel, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Forschungsbereich Produkt- und Konsumsysteme in der Abteilung Nachhaltiges Produzieren und Konsumieren am Wuppertal Institut, daher die globale thematische Forschungslandschaft.

Die Studie analysiert dafür mit modernen Text-Mining-Methoden über 25.000 wissenschaftliche Abstracts, die seit 1990 veröffentlicht wurden. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass das Forschungsfeld den Aufbau und die Optimierung der Energieinfrastruktur hin zu 100 Prozent erneuerbaren Energien mittels moderner technologischer Schlüsselbereiche in den Fokus nimmt. Dazu gehören die Materialwissenschaft, (biologische) Verfahrenstechnik und (digitale) Überwachungs- und Steuerungssysteme. Das Ergebnis der Studie zeigt den Trend, der zunehmend auch in Richtung Energiespeicherung, photonische Materialien (etwa für Solarzellen oder künstliche Photosynthese), Nanomaterialien oder Biokraftstoffe geht. Abnehmende Trends sind insbesondere für Aspekte zu erkennen, die sich auf nachhaltige Entwicklung im Allgemeinen und die damit verbundenen wirtschaftlichen, ökologischen und politischen Fragen beziehen.

Daraus schlussfolgert der Autor der Studie, dass der Diskurs latent einem technologieorientierten Paradigma folgt und damit zwar wichtige Beiträge zur Etablierung eines nachhaltigen Energiesystems leisten kann, jedoch zum Beispiel sozialwissenschaftliche oder psychologische Ansätze nur zweitranging berücksichtigt. Die integrative und globale Perspektive, die das Forschungsfeld ursprünglich motivierte, stellt derzeit keinen zentralen Bezugspunkt in diesem Forschungsfeld dar. Ein vielschichtiges Konzept von Nachhaltigkeit, wie es beispielsweise in der sozial-ökologischen Forschung üblich ist, wird im globalen Forschungsbereich "Nachhaltige Energie" zurzeit nicht verwendet.
Um nachhaltige Energiesysteme zu etablieren, müsse die zukünftige Forschung nicht nur auf die technische Infrastruktur abzielen, sondern auch einen deutlichen Fokus auf Fragestellungen legen, die nur mit einer ganzheitlichen Perspektive erkannt und beantwortet werden können. Manuel Bickel ergänzt: "Künftig sollte das Wechselspiel zwischen dem Energiesystem und Stoffströmen – beispielsweise Energieeffizienz versus Materialeffizienz – mehr berücksichtigt und die Sozialwissenschaften stärker eingebunden werden."

Der Open-Access-Artikel ist beim Springer-Verlag in "Energy, Sustainability and Society" in englischer Sprache erschienen und im untenstehenden Link abrufbar.