25,000 Euros Prize Money for Outstanding Research and Social Change

Research prize "Transformative Science" 2020 awarded

Award
  • Press Releases 12.03.2020
In addition to the prize money of 25,000 euros, the winner will receive a sculpture forged from the steel rails of the Wuppertal suspension railway built in 1898. Source: Wuppertal Institute/S. Michaelis

For the fourth time the Wuppertal Institute awards the research prize "Transformative Science". This year's award is again aimed at outstanding researchers of a transformative science who are making relevant contributions to society with their research and distinguish themselves through scientific excellence. The prize is endowed with 25,000 euros and is funded by the Zempelin Foundation in the Stifterverband. From now on, research teams or individuals can apply until 1 June 2020.

Transformative science sees itself as a science that uses inter- and transdisciplinary methods to initiate and accompany social change by empowering relevant stakeholders. This year's research award "Transformative Science" is aimed at researchers and research teams whose transformative research is concerned with climate protection and climate adaptation projects and their social implications while working closely with relevant actors in the field. Once again, the research prize focuses on individuals and research teams whose scientific work or individual projects have influenced processes of social change and whose outstanding transformative research can be expected to continue in the future. Nominations can be submitted either as a self-application or by suggestion.

The prize money of 25,000 euros is to be used to create space and resources for the implementation of project ideas in the field of transformative research. Researchers from universities and non-university research institutions are eligible to apply. The winners will be selected by an independent jury.

The seven jury members are:

  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg
    University of Bielefeld, Faculty of Health Sciences; Environment and Health
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Köckler
    Hochschule für Gesundheit (University of Applied Sciences), Dean of the Department of Community Health, Professor for Social Environment and Health
  • Prof. Dr. Jasmin Mantilla-Contreras
    University of Hildesheim, Institute of Biology and Chemistry; Ecology and Environmental Education
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Marquardt
    Chairman of the Board of Directors of Forschungszentrum Jülich Research Centre
  • Dr. Volker Meyer-Guckel
    Stifterverband (Donors' Association for the Promotion of Humanities and Sciences in Germany), Deputy Secretary-General and member of the executive board, Head of Programmes and Funding
  • Prof. Dr. Roland Scholz
    Danube University Krems, Chief Senior Scientist and visiting professor in the Department for Knowledge and Communication Management
  • Dr. Steffi Ober
    Initiator and Head of the Forschungswende civil society platform

Selection criteria and application documents

The jury particularly evaluates the quality and degree of innovation of the transformative research approach and the social relevance of the topic. Furthermore, the transformative effects are decisive for the evaluation. In addition to a letter of motivation, the application should include a brief description of the transformative research conducted to date and the transformative impulses which were triggered by that. Furthermore, a tabular CV with a maximum of five publications and project references is expected. The application documents should be submitted in German and in electronic form as a PDF file by 11 May 2020. Annika Rehm accepts applications by E-mail at annika.rehm@wupperinst.org.

About the research award

The "Transformative Science" research prize is aimed at all forms of research that inspire society, promote social change and thereby engage the civil society. Transdisciplinary research design plays an important role in this process. The award-winners receive 25,000 euros in prize money. This money goes to support the winners in implementing their project ideas in the field of transformative science.

Last year Prof. Dr. Melanie Jaeger-Erben, head of the department "Transdisciplinary Sustainability Research in Electronics" at the TU Berlin, convinced the jury with her transdisciplinary profile and her scientific work at the interface of politics and society.

 

Joint press release

Wuppertal Institute
Responsible for content: Professor Uwe Schneidewind, Scientific Managing Director
Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations
Tel.: +49 202 2492-187
Fax: +49 202 2492-108
E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org

Stifterverband
Contact: Anke Meis, Head of Communications
Tel.: +49 201 8401-204
E-mail: anke.meis@stifterverband.de



Printable pictures

Transformative Science research prize
In addition to the prize money of 25,000 euros, the winner will receive a sculpture forged from the steel rails of the Wuppertal suspension railway built in 1898. Source: Wuppertal Institute/S. Michaelis

25.000 Euro Preisgeld für herausragende Forschung und gesellschaftliche Veränderungen

Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" 2020 ausgelobt

Skulptur
  • Pressemitteilungen 12.03.2020
Neben dem Preisgeld von 25.000 Euro erhält die Gewinnerin oder der Gewinner eine Skulptur, die aus den Stahl-Schienen der im Jahr 1898 erbauten Wuppertaler Schwebebahn geschmiedet wurde. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut/S. Michaelis

Zum vierten Mal vergibt das Wuppertal Institut den Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft". Auch in diesem Jahr richtet sich der Preis an herausragende Forscherinnen und Forscher einer Transformativen Wissenschaft, die mit ihrer Forschung relevante gesellschaftliche Beiträge leisten und sich durch wissenschaftliche Exzellenz auszeichnen. Der Preis ist mit 25.000 Euro dotiert und wird von der Zempelin-Stiftung im Stifterverband gefördert. Ab sofort können sich Forscherteams oder einzelne Personen bis zum 11. Mai 2020 bewerben.

Transformative Wissenschaft versteht sich als eine Wissenschaft, die mit inter- und transdisziplinären Methoden gesellschaftliche Veränderungen anstößt, begleitet und für die Veränderungsprozesse relevante Stakeholder "empowert". Der Preis richtet sich in diesem Jahr an Forscherinnen und Forscher sowie Forschungsteams, die sich in ihrer transformativen Forschung mit Klimaschutz- und Klimaanpassungsprojekten und deren gesellschaftlichen Implikationen beschäftigten und dabei eng mit relevanten Akteuren auf diesem Gebiet zusammenarbeiten. Gesucht sind Einzelpersönlichkeiten und Teams, die mit ihren wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten oder einzelnen Projekten gesellschaftliche Veränderungsprozesse beeinflusst haben und die herausragende transformative Forschung auch in Zukunft erwarten lassen. Die Nominierung ist sowohl als Selbstbewerbung als auch auf Vorschlag möglich.

Das Preisgeld in Höhe von 25.000 Euro soll helfen, Freiräume und Ressourcen für die Umsetzung von Projektideen im Bereich transformativer Forschung zu schaffen. Antragsberechtigt sind Forscherinnen und Forscher aus Universitäten sowie außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen. Die Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger werden von einer unabhängigen Jury ausgewählt.

Zur siebenköpfigen Jury gehören:

  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg
    Universität Bielefeld, Professorin an der Fakultät für Gesundheitswissenschaften; AG 7 Umwelt und Gesundheit
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Köckler
    Hochschule für Gesundheit, Dekanin im Department of Community Health, Professorin Sozialraum und Gesundheit
  • Prof. Dr. Jasmin Mantilla-Contreras
    Universität Hildesheim, Professorin am Institut für Biologie und Chemie; Ökologie und Umweltbildung
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt
    Vorstandsvorsitzender des Forschungszentrums Jülich
  • Dr. Volker Meyer-Guckel
    Stifterverband, stellvertretender Generalsekretär und Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung, Leitung des Bereichs Programm und Förderung
  • Prof. Dr. Roland Scholz
    Donau-Universität Krems, Chief Senior Scientist und Gastprofessor Department für Wissens- und Kommunikationsmanagement
  • Dr. Steffi Ober
    Initiatorin und Leiterin "Zivilgesellschaftliche Plattform Forschungswende"

Auswahlkriterien und Bewerbungsunterlagen

Die Jury bewertet die Qualität und den Innovationsgrad des transformativen Forschungsansatzes sowie die gesellschaftliche Relevanz des Themas. Darüber hinaus sind die transformativen Wirkungen maßgebend für die Bewertung. Neben einem Motivationsschreiben sollte die Bewerbung eine kurze Darstellung der bisher durchgeführten transformativen Forschung und der ausgelösten transformativen Impulse beinhalten. Außerdem wird ein tabellarischer Lebenslauf mit maximal fünf Publikationen sowie Projektverweisen erwartet. Die Bewerbungsunterlagen sind in deutscher Sprache und elektronischer Form als PDF-Datei bis zum 11. Mai 2020 einzureichen. Bewerbungen nimmt Annika Rehm per E-Mail unter annika.rehm@wupperinst.org entgegen.

Über den Forschungspreis

Der Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" zielt auf alle Formen der Forschung ab, die gesellschaftliche Impulse auslöst, gesellschaftlichen Wandel fördert und dabei die Zivilgesellschaft mit einbezieht. Eine bedeutende Rolle spielen dabei transdisziplinäre Forschungsdesigns. Dotiert ist der Preis mit 25.000 Euro. Dieses Geld kommt Preisträgerinnen und Preisträgern für Projektideen im Bereich ihrer transformativen Wissenschaft zugute.

Im vergangenen Jahr überzeugte Prof. Dr. Melanie Jaeger-Erben, Leiterin des Fachgebiets "Transdisziplinäre Nachhaltigkeitsforschung in der Elektronik" an der TU Berlin, die Jury mit ihrem transdisziplinären Profil und ihren wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten an der Schnittstelle von Politik und Gesellschaft.

 

Gemeinsame Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH
VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer
Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leiterin Kommunikation
Tel.: +49 202 2492-187
Fax: +49 202 2492-108
E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org

Stifterverband
Kontakt: Anke Meis, Leiterin Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 201 8401-204
E-Mail: anke.meis@stifterverband.de



Pressebilder

Skulptur Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft"
Neben dem Preisgeld von 25.000 Euro erhält die Gewinnerin oder der Gewinner eine Skulptur, die aus den Stahl-Schienen der im Jahr 1898 erbauten Wuppertaler Schwebebahn geschmiedet wurde. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut/S. Michaelis