Social Change Through Innovations from the Civil Society

Dissertation by Willington Ortiz examines how civil society initiatives spread sustainable innovations

PhD
  • News 02.04.2020

How can everyone act sustainable? To achieve this, new ways of lifestyle must be found and practiced. For that, innovations play an important role. After all, innovations are not only technical, but ideas and social practices leading to sustainable and environmentally friendly actions. Besides technical innovations, the civil society can advance also new values and create awareness for sustainability.

Dr. Willington Ortiz, Research Fellow in the International Energy Transition Research Unit in the Future Energy and Industry Systems Division at the Wuppertal Institute, has examined in his dissertation the role of the civil society in the development and diffusion of sustainable innovations. His research studied initiatives in the Global South, that aim at providing access to clean energy and at strengthening the livelihoods of small family farmers. Ortiz also analysed how such initiatives can help spread sustainable innovations and, in this way, contribute to social change.
Willington Ortiz's dissertation focused first on small projects where decentralised renewable energy technologies are implemented in active cooperation with local organisations. Empirical cases are found within the initiative "WISIONS of Sustainability", which is coordinated by the Wuppertal Institute since 2004 and which supports the demonstration of innovative energy delivery models for the provision of clean energy services. Energy services that address the specific development potential of the local population involved in each project. Another empirical cases regarded by Willington Ortiz are associations of small farmers, which promote knowledge exchange among farmers about ecological agriculture, and which facilitate access to needed resources and technical services to their members.

Apl. Prof. Dr. Ulli Vilsmaier, guest scientist at the Institute of Philosophy and Sciences of Art at the Leuphana University Lüneburg, and Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Scientific Managing Director of the Wuppertal Institute, supervised the dissertation.

Further information on the project "WISIONS of Sustainability" and the download of the dissertation (free of charge) can be found in the links below.

Sozialer Wandel durch Innovationen aus der Zivilgesellschaft

Dr. Willington Ortiz stellt in seiner Dissertation Initiativen vor, die Nachhaltigkeitsinnovationen vorantreiben

PhD
  • News 02.04.2020

Wie kann jeder oder jede nachhaltig handeln? Dafür müssen vor allem neue Lebensstile gefunden werden. Innovationen spielen in diesem Zusammenhang eine wichtige Rolle, denn sie sind nicht nur technologische Erneuerungen, sondern Ideen und gesellschaftliche Praktiken können auch zu einem umweltbewussten und nachhaltigen Handeln der Menschen führen. Gefragt ist hier also auch die Zivilgesellschaft, die nachhaltige Innovationen in Form neuer Werte und einem nachhaltigeren Bewusstsein schaffen kann.

Dr. Willington Ortiz, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Forschungsbereich Energiewende International in der Abteilung Zukünftige Energie- und Industriesysteme am Wuppertal Institut, hat in seiner Dissertation die Rolle der Zivilgesellschaft in der Entwicklung und Verbreitung von nachhaltigen Innovationen genauer untersucht. Seine Arbeit zeigt, dass zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen im Globalen Süden die innovativen Wege für den Zugang zu sauberer Energie und für die Stärkung der Lebensgrundlagen von Kleinbauern vorantreiben. Ortiz analysierte zudem, wie solche Initiativen zur Verbreitung von Nachhaltigkeitsinnovationen und damit auch zum sozialen Wandel beitragen können.
In seiner Dissertation fokussierte sich Willington Ortiz zunächst auf kleine Energieprojekte, in denen dezentrale erneuerbare Energietechnologien durch die aktive Beteiligung von lokalen Organisationen umgesetzt werden. Konkrete Fallbeispiele dafür lieferte die Initiative "WISIONS of Sustainability", die das Wuppertal Institut seit 2004 koordiniert. Die Initiative unterstützt innovative Implementierungs- und Betriebsmodelle, um Energiedienstleistungen kontinuierlich bereitzustellen. Diese richten sich wiederum an die spezifischen Entwicklungspotenziale der lokalen Bevölkerung. Weitere Fallbeispiele sind etwa Organisationsformen von Kleinbauern, die den Austausch und die Weiterentwicklung von Wissen über angepassten agroökologischen Praktiken fördern, den Zugang zu Ressourcen erleichtern und technische Beratung anbieten.

Apl. Prof. Dr. Ulli Vilsmaier, Gastwissenschaftlerin am Institut für Philosophie und Kunstwissenschaft an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, und Prof. Uwe Schneidewind, wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des Wuppertal Instituts, betreuten die Dissertation.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt "WISIONS of Sustainability" sowie der kostenfreie Download der englischsprachigen Dissertation sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.