Transformation Processes of Energy Companies: Application to Jordan

Article on the developing energy system in Jordan

Wind- und Solarenergie
  • News 29.04.2020

The energy system of Jordan is facing a rise in energy demand while at the same time having quite limited own conventional energy resources. Especially because of their high import dependency, Jordan is starting to change its energy system and puts a higher focus on renewable energy (like wind and solar) and energy efficiency.

In the short paper "Transformation Process of Energy Companies – Applications to Jordan" the authors Thomas Adisorn, Oliver Wagner, and Maike Venjakob (all Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Division at the Wuppertal Institute) discuss the transformation of energy companies in Germany and highlight the possibilities of energy efficiency services. Furthermore, they examinate the transferability to Jordan, based on the results of a questionnaire among Jordan energy experts. Due to the low level of research knowledge in the specific field, this is an exploratory research approach. The role, challenges and opportunities of Jordan's state-owned National Electric Power Company NEPCO have been highlighted.

The Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Jordan sponsored the paper and organised a webinar on April 2, 2020. The authors introduced the study and highlighted how Jordan can learn from international experience in transforming its energy markets throughout the Energy Transition. The webinar was well attended and the participating company representatives and students had lively discussions.

The short paper is available in English and Arabic under the link below.

Transformationsprozesse von Energieunternehmen auf Jordanien anwenden

Erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz in Jordaniens Energiesystem

Wind- und Solarenergie
  • News 29.04.2020

In Jordanien steigt die Energienachfrage stetig, hinzu kommt eine nur sehr geringe Verfügbarkeit eigener konventioneller Energieressourcen. Aufgrund der hohen Importabhängigkeit hat Jordanien deshalb begonnen sein Energiesystem umzustellen und setzt nun verstärkt auf erneuerbare Energien wie Wind- und Solarenergie sowie Energieeffizienz.

In dem Kurzpapier "Transformation Process of Energy Companies – Applications to Jordan" gehen die Autoren Thomas Adisorn und Oliver Wagner sowie die Autorin Maike Venjakob aus der Abteilung Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut auf die Transformation von Energieunternehmen in Deutschland ein und zeigen Möglichkeiten von Energieeffizienzdienstleistungen auf. Zudem untersuchen sie, basierend auf den Ergebnissen einer Umfrage unter jordanischen Energiefachleuten, wie sich solche Maßnahmen sich auf Jordanien übertragen lassen. Bisher wurde in diesem Bereich wenig geforscht, daher ist dieser Forschungsansatz explorativ. Im Artikel stellt das Autorenteam insbesondere die Rolle, die Herausforderungen und die Möglichkeiten von Jordaniens staatlicher National Electric Power Company (NEPCO) heraus.

Die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Jordanien, Auftraggeber des Kurzpapiers, organisierte am 2. April 2020 ein Webinar, in dem das Autorenteam die Studie vorstellte und betonte, wie Jordanien aus internationalen Erfahrungen bei der Umgestaltung seines Energiesystems lernen kann.

Das Kurzpapier ist in englischer und arabischer Sprache im nachfolgenden Link erhältlich.