Testers Wanted for Sustainability App

The coaching tool "SUSLA" helps you individually to experience a greener way of life

Mobile phone
  • News 23.07.2020

A sustainable life has nothing to do without plastic straws or homemade toothpaste, it concerns all areas of consumption such as housing, nutrition or mobility. But how can everyday life become more sustainable? "SUSLA", the new browser application, supports these efforts and shows how climate- and resource-friendly lifestyles can look like. The Wuppertal Institute is currently looking for testers for the beta version of this science-based coaching app.

The goal of SUSLA (Sustainable Lifestyles Accelerator) is to accelerate the transition to sustainable lifestyles. For this purpose, the browser application calculates the CO2 and resource footprints of the current lifestyle and suggests methods for a more sustainable daily life: For example, taking the train on holiday, trying out vegan food or subletting a room. Out of these ideas, the testers can select suitable ones for them and develop an individual plan for how long and from when they will try out which tips for an environmentally friendly everyday life. SUSLA calculates how many emissions and resources are saved and reminds by e-mail to keep the good intentions.

The Wuppertal Institute has developed the English language coaching app in cooperation with six partner institutions from Finland, Denmark, Mexico, India, Spain and Switzerland: D-Mat, University College Copenhagen, Design your action, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya and future.camp. Around 500 test households per country are now sought for the beta version. To enable the project consortium to improve SUSLA after the test round, questions, criticism and suggestions can be sent to the Wuppertal Institute's researchers by e-mail (susla@wupperinst.org) and in an online questionnaire during and after the test period. Via the Facebook group "SUSLA Germany", participants can exchange experiences with the coaching app.

Until the end of September 2020, the web application is available in the test period under the link below. The password is "SUSLA2020".

Testpersonen für Nachhaltigkeits-App gesucht

Das Coaching-Tool "SUSLA" zeigt individuell, wie ein ökologischeres Leben aussehen kann

Handy
  • News 23.07.2020

Ein nachhaltiges Leben hat nichts mit dem Verzicht auf Plastikstrohhälme oder selbstgemachter Zahnpasta zu tun, sondern betrifft alle Konsumbereiche wie Wohnen, Ernährung oder Mobilität. Doch wie lässt sich der Alltag nachhaltiger gestalten? Hier hilft die neue Browseranwendung "SUSLA" und zeigt, wie klima- und ressourcenfreundliche Lebensstile aussehen können. Das Wuppertal Institut sucht derzeit Testerinnen und Tester für die Beta-Version dieser wissenschaftsbasierten Coaching-App.

Ziel von SUSLA (Sustainable Lifestyles Accelerator) ist, den Umstieg auf nachhaltige Lebensstile zu beschleunigen. Dafür berechnet die Browseranwendung den CO2- und Ressourcen-Fußabdruck des jeweiligen Lebensstils und schlägt auf dieser Basis Methoden für einen nachhaltigeren Alltag vor: Beispielsweise mit dem Zug in den Urlaub fahren, vegane Ernährung ausprobieren oder ein Zimmer unterzuvermieten. Aus diesen Ideen können die Testpersonen für sie passende auswählen und einen individuellen Plan erstellen, wie lange und ab wann sie welche Tipps für einen umweltfreundlichen Alltag ausprobieren. SUSLA berechnet dann, wie viele Emissionen und Ressourcen damit eingespart werden und erinnert per E-Mail daran, die Vorsätze einzuhalten.

Das Wuppertal Institut hat die englischsprachige Coaching-App gemeinsam mit sechs Partnerinstitutionen aus Finnland, Dänemark, Mexiko, Indien, Spanien und der Schweiz entwickelt: D-Mat, University College Copenhagen, Design your action, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya und future.camp. Jetzt werden pro Land rund 500 Testhaushalte für die Beta-Version gesucht. Damit das Projektkonsortium SUSLA nach der Testrunde verbessern kann, können Fragen, Kritik und Anregungen während und nach dem Testzeitraum per E-Mail an susla@wupperinst.org oder in einem Online-Fragebogen an die Forschenden des Wuppertal Instituts übermittelt werden. Über die Facebook-Gruppe "SUSLA Deutschland" können Teilnehmende sich über die Erfahrungen mit der Coaching-App austauschen.

Im nachfolgenden Link ist die Webanwendung im Testzeitraum ab sofort bis Ende September 2020 abrufbar. Das Passwort lautet "SUSLA2020".