Aligning with Paris: Voluntary Markets in Transition

New issue of the Carbon Mechanism Review published

  • News 29.04.2021

In the cover feature of the recently published Carbon Mechanisms Review (CMR) "Aligning with Paris," the authors take up the debate on the challenges of the voluntary carbon market, which has to find new approaches to ensure that voluntary action supports real additional activities that go beyond existing host countries' climate plans as laid down in the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs).

The latest issue of the CMR presents the position of the German Environment Ministry regarding the voluntary market and features an interview with the Gold Standard quality label on their answers and their approach to the new challenges. The authors also put the debate into context and ask what steps need to be taken at the level of United Nations Framework Climate Change Convention (UNFCCC) this year to make credible voluntary offsetting and market-based climate action under Article 6 possible in the first NDC period. Furthermore, this issue reports on the recent NDC updates and analyses countries' attitudes towards the use of market mechanisms for their NDC achievement. Finally, options are presented for regulating the transition of both Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) activities and carbon credits stemming from CDM projects (CER) into the Paris Agreement world. 

The Carbon Mechanisms Review 1/2021 is available free of charge under the link below.


Further information

Links

Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

Angleichung an Paris: Freiwillige Märkte im Wandel

Neue Ausgabe der Carbon Mechanism Review erschienen

  • News 29.04.2021

In der aktuellen Ausgabe der Carbon Mechanism Review (CMR) "Aligning with Paris" greifen die Autorinnen und Autoren die Debatte über die Herausforderungen des freiwilligen Kohlenstoffmarktes auf und diskutieren neue Ansätze, um sicherzustellen, dass freiwillige Maßnahmen echte zusätzliche Klimaschutzaktivitäten unterstützen. Diese sollten über die bestehenden Klimapläne der Gastgeberländer, wie sie in den national festgelegten Beiträgen – auch Nationally Detemined Contributions, kurz NDCs – festgelegt sind, hinausgehen.

Die Ausgabe stellt die Position des deutschen Umweltministeriums bezüglich des freiwilligen Marktes vor und geht in einem Interview mit dem Qualitätslabel "Gold Standard" auf ihre Antworten und ihren Ansatz für die neuen Herausforderungen ein. Außerdem wird die Debatte in den Kontext gestellt und gefragt, welche Schritte auf Ebene der Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen (United Nations Framework Climate Change Convention, UNFCCC) in diesem Jahr unternommen werden müssen, um glaubwürdige freiwillige Kompensationen und marktbasierte Klimaschutzmaßnahmen nach Artikel 6 in der ersten NDC-Periode zu ermöglichen. Daneben berichtet die Ausgabe über die jüngsten NDC-Updates und analysiert die Haltung der Länder gegenüber der Nutzung von Marktmechanismen für ihre NDC-Erreichung. Abschließend werden Optionen vorgestellt, wie der Übergang sowohl von Clean-Development-Mechanism(CDM)-Aktivitäten als auch von Emissionszertifikaten aus CDM-Projekten im Rahmen des Pariser Klimaabkommens geregelt werden können.

Die Carbon Mechanisms Review "Aligning with Paris" 1/2021 ist im nachfolgenden Link kostenfrei in englischer Sprache verfügbar.


Weitere Informationen

Links

Cookie-Einstellungen

Cookies helfen uns, die Website für Sie ständig zu verbessern. Mit dem Klick auf den Button "Zustimmen" erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden. Für weitere Informationen über die Nutzung von Cookies oder für die Änderung Ihrer Einstellungen klicken Sie bitte auf Mehr über die Verwendung und Ablehnung von Cookies.