Increase of Resource Productivity and Natural Resource Protection - Stakeholder Dialogues in the Raw Material System Copper, the Steel Industry Sector and the Area of Needs "Construction/Housing"

  • Project no.2311, 2409
  • Duration 10/2006 - 02/2008

The project aims to achieve further advances in the field of resource productivity and resource protection in Germany. In order to establish future innovation and new markets, potentials, stakeholders and packages of measures shall be identified and included. The focus will be laid on a) the raw material system copper, b) the steel industry sector as well as c) the area of needs "construction/housing". Workshops with stakeholders from industry, science and policy are main essentials of the application-oriented project.

Work packages:
Work package 1: Analysis of hot spots and potentials for resource productivity and resource protection
A survey of potentials for the increases of resource productivity and resource protection will be prepared. At the national level hot spots of resource use shall be displayed. In addition, driving forces of resource use will be identified. The hot spots will provide the basis for the stakeholder based dialogues of the workshops.

Work package 2: Tapping the potentials
For the several foci, options for measures will be jointly developed with relevant stakeholders i.e. technical, system engineering, organisational, legal und economic opportunities of action. In parallel to the measures, the interests of the involved stakeholders (short and long-term winners and possible losers) as well as the implementation barriers will be highlighted against the background of market and policy development. The options for action shall be deepened at the workshops.

Work package 3: Designing a process of stakeholder dialogues
The dialogue will be designed in 3 workshops scheduled for spring, summer and winter 2007, both to join in the scopes and to get transparency about instruments of incentive. The aspired result of that process is an action program for resource productivity and resource protection in the several scopes. The workshops will contain the following parts:
1. Setting the scene: Potentials and first measures of options
2. Getting engaged: Profiles of measures
3. Possible Action programme

Work package 4: Monitoring the dialogue process
The project involves a pro-active strategy of this dialogue and communication incorporating stakeholders from policy, business and science. In support of this, different products (web portal, power point presentations, input paper for practitioners, an international scientific paper (published in English) and a brochure "Action programme and profiles of measure") will be prepared for stakeholders and the interested public.

Verbesserung von Rohstoffproduktivität und Ressourcenschonung - Stakeholder Dialoge im Rohstoffsystem Kupfer, in der Stahlbranche und im Bedarfsfeld Bauen und Wohnen

  • Projekt-Nr.2311, 2409
  • Laufzeit 10/2006 - 02/2008

Ziel des Vorhabens ist ein konkreter Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Rohstoffproduktivität und Ressourcenschonung in Deutschland. Um künftige Netzwerke für Innovationen und neue Märkte einzuleiten, sollen ausgewählte Potenziale, Akteure und Maßnahmenbündel identifiziert und beteiligt werden. Fokusbereiche sind a) das Rohstoffsystem Kupfer, b) die Stahlbranche sowie c) das Bedarfsfeld Bauen und Wohnen. Workshop-Dialoge mit Akteuren aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik sind zentrale Elemente des umsetzungsorientierten Vorhabens.

Arbeitspakete
Arbeitspaket 1: Hot-Spot Analyse und Potenziale zur Ressourcenschonung und Rohstoffproduktivität
Auf Basis der Forschung wird ein Überblick über Potenziale zur Verbesserung der Rohstoffproduktivität und Ressourcenschonung erstellt. Dabei werden auf nationaler Ebene "Hot-Spots des Rohstoffverbrauchs" identifiziert. Zusätzlich werden Treiber ("driving forces") des Rohstoffverbrauchs dargestellt. Die "Hot-Spots" werden zur Grundlage von akteurszentrierten Dialogen auf Workshops gemacht und dort vertieft.

Arbeitspaket 2: Maßnahmenvorschläge zur Nutzung der Potenziale
Im Projekt werden mit relevanten Akteuren Maßnahmenvorschläge für die genannten Fokusbereiche erarbeitet, d. h. technische, systemtechnische, organisatorische, rechtliche und ökonomische Handlungsmöglichkeiten. Flankierend zu den Maßnahmen sollen die Interessenlagen der involvierten Akteure (kurz- und langfristige Gewinner und mögliche Verlierer) sowie Umsetzungshemmnisse vor dem Hintergrund der Markt- und Politikentwicklung aufgezeigt werden. Handlungsoptionen werden zur Grundlage von akteurszentrierten Dialogen auf Workshops gemacht und dort vertieft.

Arbeitspaket 3: Strategisch ausgerichteter Dialogprozess
Der Dialogprozess soll in drei Workshops im Frühjahr, Frühsommer und Winter 2007 so gestaltet werden, dass sowohl Mitmacheffekte in den beteiligten Bereichen als auch Klarheit über Anreizinstrumente erzielt werden. Am Ende des Prozesses soll ein Aktionsprogramm zur Verbesserung der Rohstoffproduktivität und Ressourcenschonung in den Fokusbereichen stehen. Die drei Workshops werden beinhalten:
1. Potenziale und erste Maßnahmenoptionen (WS 1)
2. Maßnahmenprofile (WS 2)
3. Aktionsprogramm (WS 3)

Arbeitspaket 4: Begleitung des Dialogprozesses
Das Vorhaben unternimmt eine offensive Dialog- und Kommunikationsstrategie zur Partizipation von Schlüsselakteuren in Politik, Wirtschaft und Forschung. Hierzu werden unterschiedliche Transferprodukte wie z. B. ein Projekt begleitendes Webportal, Folienpräsentationen, Inputpapiere für System- und Umsetzungsakteure, ein internationales (englischsprachiges) Papier und eine Broschüre "Aktionsprogramm und Maßnahmenprofile" für Umsetzungsakteure und die interessierte Öffentlichkeit erstellt.