GermanHy

  • Project no.1144
  • Duration 08/2007 - 05/2008

Market preparation of hydrogen as an alternative fuel in the transport sector is a main issue of the national programme for innovations in hydrogen and fuel cell technology (abbreviated NIP), which has been initiated recently by the German federal government. Based on existing findings and studies, "GermanHy", the national follow-up project of the EU-funded hydrogen strategy project "HyWays", shows up how the market introduction of hydrogen can be realised in Germany and how a comprehensive supply and delivery infrastructure may be built up in the long-term.
Three different scenarios will be utilised to answer the key question "Where does the hydrogen come from?". These scenarios analyse supply potentials, technical options and possible profitability until the year 2050.
In this context, the Wuppertal Institute analyses the general conditions in view of a market introduction of hydrogen technology, which are also subject to the future development of competing energy carriers as well as of the energy mix in general. The institute and its project partners will concentrate on the following aspects:

  • Compilation of accessible carbon storage potentials for Germany and related system costs;
  • Analysis of renewable energy potentials in Germany;
  • Shaping of a reference scenario and two alternative energy scenarios;
  • Development of sectoral energy demand within the reference scenario; on the one side focussed on fuels, on the other considering energy saving potentials;
  • Correlation of energy demand and availability under consideration of primary energies and demand sectors;
  • Recommendations for a national hydrogen roadmap.

GermanHy

  • Projekt-Nr.1144
  • Laufzeit 08/2007 - 05/2008

Die Marktvorbereitung von Wasserstoff als alternativem Kraftstoff für den Verkehrssektor ist ein zentraler Bestandteil des Nationalen Innovationsprogramms Wasserstoff- und Brennstoffzellentechnologie (NIP) der deutschen Bundesregierung. Basierend auf bestehenden Erkenntnissen und Studien wird im Forschungsprojekt GermanHy, dem nationalen Nachfolgeprojekt des von der EU geförderten Wasserstoff-Strategieprojekts "HyWays", dargestellt, wie zunächst die Einführung der Wasserstofftechnologie und dann längerfristig eine flächendeckende Versorgung für den Verkehr in Deutschland realisiert werden kann.
Dazu wird die zentrale Frage "Woher kommt der Wasserstoff?" in Bezug auf die zeitliche Entwicklung bis zum Jahr 2050, die Mengenpotenziale, die technologischen Optionen und die Wirtschaftlichkeit analysiert.
Das Wuppertal Institut untersucht in diesem Zusammenhang die Rahmenbedingungen für eine Markteinführung der Wasserstofftechnologie, die sich auch aus der zukünftigen Entwicklung von konkurrierenden Energieträgern sowie des Energiemixes insgesamt ergeben. Konkret befasst es sich zusammen mit den Projektpartnern mit den folgenden Aufgaben:

  • Zusammenstellung der für Deutschland erschließbaren Speicherpotenziale für das Treibhausgas CO2 und die damit verbundenen Systemkosten;
  • Potenzialanalyse erneuerbarer Energien für Deutschland;
  • Definition eines Referenzszenarios und zweier alternativer Energieszenarien für Deutschland;
  • Entwicklung des sektoralen Energiebedarfs für das Referenzszenario, sowohl mit dem Fokus Kraftstoff als auch unter Berücksichtigung von Energieeinsparpotenzialen;
  • Korrelation von Energiebedarf und Energieverfügbarkeit unter Berücksichtigung von Primärenergien und Bedarfssektoren;
  • Empfehlungen für eine nationale Wasserstoff-Roadmap.