dynaklim

Dynamic Adaptation of Regional Planning and Development Processes in the Emscher-Lippe Region

Dynaklim Logo
  • Project no.3330
  • Duration 07/2009 - 06/2014

The primary target of the network research project dynaklim is to reinforce, in co-operation with actors from the Emscher-Lippe Region, the region's ability of adaptation to the impacts of climate change. For this, strategies and measures for a dynamic adaptation of regional planning and development process are to be developed. In this process, dynaklim acts as a dialogue platform, think tank and competence partner for the regional actors from economy, administration, city and regional planning as well as society.

Focal points of the project are the development and implementation of new concepts as well as appropriate adaptation measures in the area of cultivation of groundwater, surface water and rainwater as well as drinking water supply, urban drainage and improvement of the urban climate.

By building a regional network with a web based knowledge management and a regional roadmap-process, dynaklim develops an innovative, action-oriented knowledge foundation in cooperation with the region. Through the dialog-oriented approach and the concentration on the field of action "water", dynaklim is becoming an important pilot project for adaptation processes in polycentric agglomeration areas.

The project is divided into two cross-sectional areas and five professional focal points. The Wuppertal Institute has taken over assignments in the following three areas:

1st Cross-Sectional Area "Development of regional knowledge and acting competence"
The target is to reinforce the adaptation competence of the regional actors and to conjointly develop scenarios and good practice for the region. Through the web-based knowledge map and the structuring of the knowledge foundation into five knowledge pools, a systematic and application-oriented knowledge base is being developed, which is formed according to the needs of the regional actors.

Through this approach, a basis for the knowledge transfer of selected multipliers (media, consultancy, education) gradually comes into being. Therefore, concrete tools will be developed and tested.

2nd Focal Point: "Strengthening the regional innovative capability and competitiveness"
Within the framework of this working area, a strategy for a "climate-focussing promotion of economy" will be conjointly developed with the regional actors of the economy. The Wuppertal Institute participates with its partners in the analytical works for a climate-SWOT and examines particularly the potentials of the environmental economics as well as the possibility to place innovative products and services for climate change adaptation in already existing market fields of the environmental economics.

3rd Focal Point: "Political, planning and administrative activities"
In this working field, the Wuppertal Institute will mainly deal with the question, to which extend risks and insecurities caused by climate can be considered in regional planning and administrative activities.

Based on an analysis of the adaptation capability of the region, the Institute develops innovative proposals for communal and regional adaptation strategies. These take into consideration both viewpoints of the integration with existing mitigation approaches and relations between communal politics and citizens or users. In the context of the multilevel governance system, a regional participatory governance approach will be strengthened and a targeted capacity building according to the regional necessities will take place for actors from planning, administration and civil society.

dynaklim

Dynamische Anpassung regionaler Planungs- und Entwicklungsprozesse in der Emscher-Lippe-Region

Dynaklim Logo
  • Projekt-Nr.3330
  • Laufzeit 07/2009 - 06/2014

Übergeordnetes Ziel des Netzwerk-Forschungsprojekts dynaklim ist es, gemeinsam mit Akteuren aus der Emscher-Lippe-Region die Anpassungsfähigkeit der Region bezüglich der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels zu stärken. Hierzu sollen Strategien und Maßnahmen für eine dynamische Anpassung regionaler Planungs- und Entwicklungsprozesse entwickelt werden. In diesem Prozess versteht sich dynaklim als Dialog-Plattform, als Denkfabrik und Kompetenzpartner der regionalen Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Verwaltung, Stadt- und Regionalplanung und Gesellschaft.

Schwerpunkte des Projekts sind die Entwicklung und Umsetzung neuer Konzepte sowie geeigneter Anpassungsmaßnahmen bei der Bewirtschaftung von Grund-, Oberflächen- und Niederschlagswasser sowie der Trinkwasserversorgung, der Siedlungsentwässerung und der Stadtklimaverbesserung.

Mit dem Aufbau eines regionalen Netzwerks, mit einem web-basierten Wissensmanagementsystem und Roadmap-Prozess erarbeitet dynaklim gemeinsam mit der Region eine innovative, handlungsorientierte Wissensbasis. Der dialogorientierte Ansatz und die Konzentration auf das Handlungsfeld "Wasser" machen dynaklim zu einem bedeutsamen Modellprojekt für Anpassungsprozesse in polyzentrischen Ballungsräumen.

Das Projekt gliedert sich in zwei Querschnittsbereiche und fünf fachliche Schwerpunkte. Das Wuppertal Institut hat in den folgenden drei Bereichen Aufgaben übernommen:

1. Querschnittsbereich "Aufbau regionaler Wissens- und Handlungskompetenz"
Die Adaptionskompetenz der regionalen Akteure soll gestärkt und mit ihnen gemeinsam sollen Szenarien und Leitbilder für die Region entwickelt werden. Mit einer web-basierten Wissenslandkarte und der Strukturierung der Wissensbasis in fünf Wissenspools wird eine systematische anwendungsorientierte Wissensgrundlage geschaffen, die entsprechend den Anforderungen der regionalen Akteure gestaltet wird. So entsteht sukzessive eine Basis für den Wissenstransfer an ausgewählte Multiplikatoren (Medien, Beratung, Bildung). Hierfür werden im weiteren konkrete Tools entwickelt und erprobt.

2. Schwerpunkt: "Stärkung der regionalen Innovations- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit"
Im Rahmen dieses Arbeitsbereichs wird zusammen mit den regionalen Wirtschaftsakteuren eine Strategie für eine "klimafokussierte Wirtschaftsförderung" erarbeitet. Das Wuppertal Institut beteiligt sich mit den anderen Partnern an den analytischen Arbeiten zu einer Klima-SWOT, untersucht vor allem die Potenziale der Umweltwirtschaft sowie die Möglichkeit, innovativen Produkten und Dienstleistungen für die Anpassung an den Klimawandel den Marktzugang zu erleichtern.

3. Schwerpunkt: "Politisches, planerisches und Verwaltungshandeln"
Das Wuppertal Institut wird sich in diesem Arbeitsbereich vor allem damit auseinandersetzen, in welcher Weise klimabedingte Risiken und Unsicherheiten bei Regional-Planung und Verwaltung berücksichtigt werden können.

Basierend auf einer Analyse der Anpassungsfähigkeit der Region entwickelt das Wuppertal Institut Vorschläge für kommunale und regionale Adaptationsstrategien. Diese berücksichtigen sowohl eine Integration mit bestehenden Mitigationsansätzen als auch die Beziehung zwischen kommunaler Politik und Bürger(inne)n bzw. Nutzer(inne)n. Im Rahmen des politischen Mehrebenensystems soll ein regionaler partizipatorischer Governance-Ansatz gestärkt werden sowie entsprechend den regionalen Bedürfnissen ein gezieltes Capacity-Building für Akteure aus Planung, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft erfolgen.