Assistance to the Design and Implementation of a GHG-Reducing Climate Protection Concept for Nordfriesland

  • Project no.1239

The main result of the "Climate Protection Concept 2020 for Nordfriesland, Germany" are more than 80 measures that were developed in a participatory process. These measures shall be implemented step by step also with the support of various regional stakeholders.
Taking the local renewable energy production (wind power) into account, which exceeds the local electricity demand by a factor of 2.4, Nordfriesland's CO2-emissions are at 3.3 tons per capita. Not including the amount of energy production from wind power Nordfriesland's CO2-emission were at 9,5 tons per capita and therefore only slightly below the German average of 10 tons per capita. Climate protection measures, especially the development of wind energy, also have positive effects on the regional economy. As a result, the net product of all measures amount to 434 Mio. EUR per year.
At the same time the further development of renewable energies implies new challenges especially with regard to infrastructure. The wind energy (onshore and offshore) has to be transmitted from the coast of the North Sea to the regions with the highest consumption in Western and Southern Germany. Therefore the transmission grid has to be extended. Due to the volatility of the wind, new energy storage technologies have to be developed and implemented as well.
But restricting the measures to the expansion of renewable energy production alone won't be sufficient. With more than 200 kWh/m2a private households have a specific heat demand, which largely exceeds the German average. The transportation sector, and in it especially private car use, is responsible for a large share of the local CO2-emissions, mainly due to its important role in rural and tourism areas like Nordfriesland. Therefore, another focus of the Climate Protection Concept has to be on the reduction of energy consumption. If Nordfriesland is able to tap the energy efficiency potentials in regard to heat and fuel consumption, the share of renewable energies with respect to overall local energy demand could be even higher. The measures, which shall be implemented in the upcoming years, are designed to lower the energy demand of private households and the transportation sector and to improve the conditions for the use of renewable energies.



Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

Unterstützung bei der Erstellung und Umsetzung eines Klimaschutzkonzeptes für Nordfriesland zur Reduzierung von Treibhausgasen

  • Projekt-Nr.1239
  • Laufzeit 01/2009 - 04/2011

Als Kernergebnis dieses Projektes konnten über 80 konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für den Klimaschutz in Nordfriesland in einem partizipativen Prozess entwickelt werden. Diese Handlungsempfehlungen bilden den "Klimaschutzplan Nordfriesland 2020", der schrittweise - auch mit Unterstützung regionaler Akteure - umgesetzt werden kann.
Unter Berücksichtigung der hohen Anteile regionaler Windkraft-Stromerzeugung kommt der Kreis Nordfriesland auf einen vergleichsweise geringen spezifischen CO2-Wert von 3,3 Tonnen pro Kopf. Die Windkraft nicht eingerechnet liegt der Kreis mit 9,5 Tonnen pro Kopf nur leicht unter dem Bundesdurchschnitt von rund 10 Tonnen. Klimaschutzmaßnahmen, vor allem bei Ausbau der Windenergienutzung, bewirken im Kreis Nordfriesland eine hohe regionale Wertschöpfung. In Summe beläuft sich diese für den Kreis eine jährlich auf ca. 434 Mio. EUR.
Der im Kreis geplante weitere Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien hängt jedoch von der Weiterentwicklung infrastruktureller Randbedingungen ab. So muss auch in Zukunft sichergestellt sein, dass der in den Küstenregionen und auf dem Meer erzeugte Windstrom zu den großen Stromverbrauchszentren in West- und Süddeutschland transportiert werden kann. Dies erfordert einen Ausbau der Übertragungsnetze. Gleichzeitig führt die Volatilität des Windes zu einer Volatilität der Windstromerzeugung. Dies macht die Entwicklung neuer Stromspeichertechnologien nötig.
Aber auch in anderen Feldern besteht noch erheblicher Handlungsbedarf. Allen voran ist hier der hohe spezifische Raumwärmebedarf von über 200 kWh/m2a und der motorisierte Individualverkehr zu nennen, der in Nordfriesland aufgrund der ländlichen Region und des Tourismus besonders wichtig ist. Im Rahmen der Erstellung dieses Klimaschutzkonzeptes wurde daher besonders großen Wert auf Entwicklung von Maßnahmen zur Energieeinsparung gelegt. Sollte es dem Kreis gelingen, die großen Effizienzpotenziale vor allem im Wärme- und Kraftstoffbereich zu heben, kann dies zu einer noch größeren Gutschrift aus der regenerativen Stromerzeugung führen. Hierbei sind die Schwerpunkte auf die Mobilität und den Wohngebäudebereich zu legen. Die im Zuge der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Auftragnehmern und dem Kreis erfolgten Überlegungen zur Umsetzung dieses Konzeptes sehen daher vor, sich in den ersten Schritten genau diesen Bereichen besonders zuzuwenden.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links