Global Climate Network (GCN)

  • Project no.2257
  • Duration 07/2009 - 12/2009

The Global Climate Network is a collaboration of independent influential and progressive research organisation in countries key to tackling climate change. Together with members, the Network is committed to addressing the constraints faced by sovereign governments in agreeing international action.

The Network aims to help governments clear a pathway towards an effective and fair international agreement for avoiding dangerous climate change by proposing bold low carbon policies and using data and analysis to persuade policymakers that climate change mitigation is in their interest. Vice President Manfred Fischedick represents the Wuppertal Institute within the network. GCN publishes reports and discussion papers on its homepage.

Studies by the Wuppertal Institute contributed to the following reports:

  • Breaking Through on Technology - 
Overcoming the Barriers to the Development and Wide Deployment of Low-Carbon Technology (July 2009)
    Just in time for the G8 summit in Italy, July 2009, the Global Climate Network (GCN) publishes the study "Breaking Through on Technology". It highlights the importance of governments in key countries putting in place national low carbon strategies - packages of regulation, fiscal incentives and government-led investment - to stimulate the wider use of existing technologies and the rapid development of new inventions. It also urges negotiators working on a new, international agreement to devise incentives for robust, comprehensive national strategies that can be agreed at an UN summit in December. For the Wuppertal Institute, Florian Mersmann, Tilman Santarius and Julia Schultz contributed the German Country Report "Technology and the Bali Action Plan: what could Germany do?".
    The study and a summary are available on GCN's website.
  • Low-Carbon Jobs in an Inter-Connected World (Dec. 2009)
    The Germany's country paper: "Economic Opportunities and Climate Change - Analysis of Employment Impacts of Solar Thermal Energy Use Promotion Policies in Germany" attempts to analyse whether, and if so how, climate and renewable energy policies have a net positive impact on employment, by taking up the solar thermal energy sector in Germany. In doing so, the paper analyses the impact of policies and measures that promote solar thermal technology distribution in Germany with regard to three aspects: sales of solar thermal technologies, the number of jobs in the sector and the year in which individual companies working in the sector entered the market. The analysis reveals that there is no clear evidence of a substantial positive net employment impact, although the gross employment increase in this field is obvious. It can be said, however, that there will be no new job creation resulting from renewable energy promotion and climate protection without well-designed climate or renewable energy policies and measures.

Global Climate Network (GCN)

  • Projekt-Nr.2257
  • Laufzeit 07/2009 - 12/2009

Das Global Climate Network (GCN) ist eine Kooperation führender, unabhängiger und richtungsweisender Forschungseinrichtungen aus Ländern, die Schlüsselpositionen in der Bekämpfung des Klimawandels einnehmen. Das Netzwerk und seine Mitglieder untersuchen die Rahmenbedingungen, denen sich Regierungen bei der Aushandlung internationaler Maßnahmen verpflichtet sehen.

Sein Ziel ist es, innovative Vorschläge für politische Entscheider zu entwickeln, die Klimaschutzpolitik mit ökonomischer Entwicklung und Armutsbekämpfung verknüpfen. Das Wuppertal Institut wird im GCN durch seinen Vizepräsidenten, Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick repräsentiert.
Das GCN veröffentlicht seine Berichte und Discussion Paper auf seiner Homepage.

Das Wuppertal Institut hat mit eigenen Studien beigetragen zu den Berichten

  • Breaking Through on Technology - Overcoming the Barriers to the Development and Wide Deployment of Low-Carbon Technology (Juli 2009)
    Rechtzeitig zum G8-Gipfel Juli 2009 in Italien veröffentlichte das Global Climate Network (GCN) die Studie "Breaking Through on Technology". Sie fordert einen technologischen Durchbruch und hebt dabei die Bedeutung von Schlüsselländern bei der Umsetzung nationaler CO2-Minderungsstrategien hervor. Um die Nutzung vorhandener Effizienztechniken weiter zu verbreiten und Neuentwicklungen schneller zu realisieren, sollten Regulierungspakete, steuerliche Anreize und staatliche Investitionen eingesetzt werden. Gleichzeitig werden die Verhandlungsführer in Vorbereitung des Klimagipfels in Kopenhagen aufgefordert, an einer neuen internationalen Vereinbarung zu arbeiten, die Anreize für robuste, umfassende nationale Strategien schafft, über die im Dezember Einigung erzielt werden kann. Für das Wuppertal Institut haben Florian Mersmann, Tilman Santarius und Julia Schultz den Deutschland Report "Technology and the Bali Action Plan: what could Germany do?" beigetragen.
  • Low-Carbon Jobs in an Inter-Connected World (Dez. 2009)
    Grundlage für die zusammenfassende Darstellung im letzten Bericht war der Länderbericht Deutschland: "Economic Opportunities and Climate Change - Analysis of Employment Impacts of Solar Thermal Energy Use Promotion Policies in Germany". Darin wird analysiert ob und - wenn ja - inwieweit die Gesetzgebungen der Klima- und erneuerbare Energien-Politik zur Förderung des solarthermischen Energiemarktes positive Auswirkungen auf die Beschäftigung haben. Drei Aspekte werden in Beziehung gebracht: der Absatz solarthermischer Technologien, die Anzahl der Arbeitsplätze im solarthermischen Sektor und das Jahr, in welchem die einzelnen Unternehmen in den Solarthermiemarkt eingetreten sind. Die Analyse konnte keinen klaren Beweis für einen positiven Beschäftigungseffekt liefern, obwohl der Bruttoeffekt eines Beschäftigungsanstiegs in dieser Branche offensichtlich ist. Festzuhalten bleibt allerdings, dass ohne gut konzipierte Klima- oder erneuerbare Energien-Richtlinien und Maßnahmen durch die Förderung regenerativer Energien und Klimaschutz keine Arbeitsplatzschaffung zu erwarten ist.