Climate Protection through Energy Efficiency in the EU and Germany

  • Project no.2259
  • Duration 10/2009 - 12/2009

The FME workshop "Climate protection through energy efficiency in the EU and Germany" was organised with scientific and organisational support by the Wuppertal Institute and was held in Berlin on 10 December 2009 with close to 100 participants.
Prior to the event, Wuppertal Institute drafted a 20-page briefing report for the client and the speakers for their better preparation. A short version of this report was also prepared and handed out to all workshop participants.
Furthermore, Wuppertal Institute was - in close cooperation with the FME - responsible for the complete scientific concept of the workshop as well as for the practical organisation. This included the drafting of the agenda, the selection and invitation of speakers, the development of the programme flyer in terms of content and design, as well as the invitation and registration of participants.
The objective of the workshop was to discuss, with an expert audience from politics, business and science, the potential contribution of energy efficiency improvement to reaching the German and European climate change mitigation targets and also the options available for the transposition of the Energy Services Directive still pending in Germany.
Good-practice examples from selected EU Member States have shown that large energy savings can be achieved by implementing innovative policy instruments. Moreover, the chances of reaching the EU target of 20 percent primary energy saving compared to the trend by 2020 were discussed against the backdrop of existing energy efficiency potentials and policy instruments.
The presentations and discussions at the workshop have shown that there is still enormous cost-effective energy saving potential in Germany and in the EU, which is not being addressed sufficiently by the existing policy portfolio. The transposition of the Energy Services Directive offers significant opportunities for not leaving this cost-effective climate protection potential untapped.

Klimaschutz durch Energieeffizienz in der EU und Deutschland - Fachliche und organisatorische Unterstützung eines Workshops des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit

  • Projekt-Nr.2259
  • Laufzeit 10/2009 - 12/2009

Der Workshop des Bundesumweltministeriums "Klimaschutz durch Energieeffizienz in der EU und Deutschland" wurde mit Unterstützung durch das Wuppertal Institut am 10. Dezember 2009 in Berlin mit knapp 100 Teilnehmern durchgeführt.
Im Vorfeld der Veranstaltung verfasste das Wuppertal Institut ein 20-seitiges Kurzgutachten zur inhaltlichen Vorbereitung für den Auftraggeber und die Referent(inn)en. Zudem wurde eine 6-seitige Kurzfassung des Gutachtens als Handout für die Teilnehmer erstellt.
Des Weiteren übernahm das Wuppertal Institut - in Kooperation mit dem Auftraggeber - die komplette wissenschaftliche Konzeption der Veranstaltung sowie die organisatorische Vorbereitung. Dies umfasste die inhaltliche Konzeption des Programms, Auswahl und Ansprache der Referent(inn)en, die grafische Gestaltung des Programmflyers sowie die Einladung und Registrierung der Teilnehmer(innen).
Ziel der Veranstaltung war, mit einem Fachpublikum aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft über den Beitrag der Energieeffizienz zum Erreichen der deutschen und europäischen Klimaschutzziele und über Optionen für die noch ausstehende Umsetzung der Energiedienstleistungs-Richtlinie zu diskutieren.
Anhand von Good-Practice-Beispielen aus ausgewählten Mitgliedstaaten der EU wurde gezeigt, dass in manchen Ländern mit innovativen Instrumenten gute Einsparergebnisse erzielt werden. Zudem wurden Möglichkeiten diskutiert, auf Basis bestehender Potenziale und Instrumente für Energieeffizienz das EU-Ziel von 20 Prozent Primärenergieeinsparung gegenüber dem Trend bis 2020 zu erreichen.
Im Ergebnis wurde deutlich, dass in Deutschland und der EU nach wie vor erhebliche wirtschaftliche Energieeinsparpotenziale bestehen, die durch das bestehende Portfolio der Politikinstrumente nur unzureichend addressiert werden. Mit der Umsetzung der Energiedienstleistungs-Richtlinie könnten wichtige Weichen gestellt werden, um diese Potenziale zu nutzen und damit kostengünstig Klimaschutz zu fördern.