CDM Post 2012

Further Development of the Project-Based Mechanisms in a Post-2012 Regime

  • Project no.2249
  • Duration 11/2008 - 09/2009

As part of its CDM/JI Initiative, the German Environment Ministry (BMU) commissioned a study on potential quality criteria for a reformed CDM. What led to the research study was the ongoing criticism of the lacking additionality of CDM/JI projects. Also, many observers question whether the project activities really do promote sustainable development in the host countries, as called for in the Kyoto Protocol. The aim of the study was therefore to develop concrete options for improving the CDM.

Recommendations on CDM Reform
The study recommends integrating additional binding approval requirements into the CDM rules. These should ensure additional benefits to foster sustainable development and boost the environmental integrity of the mechanism. The additional requirements should take in, among other things, closer scrutiny of the environmental and socio-economic impacts of project activities. For example, consideration should be given to air and water quality, effects on biodiversity and safeguarding local cultural heritage at the project location.
In addition, the authors recommend prescribing significantly greater public participation. A monitoring plan should assist documentation of these additional requirements and compliance with it should be subject to binding verification by the Designated Operational Entity (DOE). Also, the climate impact of projects should be secured by means of more intensified assessment of additionality, including through the use of standardised baselines and a more robust financial analysis.

Implementation at UN Level
The study recommends implementing these changes at UNFCCC level. This would overcome the scepticism shown by many host countries regarding more stringent evaluation of a project’s contribution to sustainable development. If binding additional requirements were introduced for all host countries, the feared competitive disadvantages could be prevented. The study also develops alternative scenarios for rules for individual states or groups of states.


Further project information

Links

CDM Post 2012

Weiterentwicklung der projektbezogenen Mechanismen in einem Post 2012-Regime

  • Projekt-Nr.2249
  • Laufzeit 11/2008 - 09/2009

Im Rahmen seiner CDM/JI-Initiative hat das Bundesumweltministerium Qualitätskriterien für einen reformierten CDM untersuchen lassen. Hintergrund für das Forschungsvorhaben war die gegenwärtige Kritik an der fehlenden Zusätzlichkeit von Projekten. Auch stellen viele Beobachter die Frage, ob die Projektaktivitäten tatsächlich die nachhaltige Entwicklung in den Gastländern befördern, wie es im Kyoto-Protokoll vorgesehen ist. Das Forschungsvorhaben sollte daher konkrete Optionen für die Verbesserung des CDM erarbeiten.

Empfehlungen zur Reform des CDM
Die Studie empfiehlt, zusätzliche verpflichtende Genehmigungsanforderungen in das CDM-Regelwerk aufzunehmen. Diese sollen Zusatznutzen für die nachhaltige Entwicklung sicherstellen und die ökologische Integrität des Mechanismus stärken. Die Zusatzanforderungen umfassen unter anderem eine erweiterte Prüfung der ökologischen und sozioökonomischen Folgewirkungen der Projektaktivität. So soll beispielsweise die Luft- und Wasserqualität, Folgen für die Biodiversität als auch die Bewahrung des kulturellen Erbes am Projektstandort berücksichtigt werden.
Darüber hinaus schlagen die Autor(inn)en vor, eine deutlich erweiterete Bürgerbeteiligung vorzuschreiben. Ein Monitoringplan soll helfen, diese Zusatzanforderungen zu dokumentieren; dessen Einhaltung sollte von der Designated Operational Entity (DOE) verbindlich geprüft werden. Ferner soll die Klimawirkung der Projekte durch verstärkte Prüfung der Zusätzlichkeit sichergestellt werden, unter anderen durch standardisierte Baselines oder eine robustere Finanzanalyse.

Umsetzung auf UN-Ebene
Die Studie empfiehlt, diese Änderungen auf Ebene der Klimarahmenkonvention (UNFCCC) umzusetzen. Damit könnte auch die Skepsis vieler Gastgeberländer überwunden werden, den Beitrag zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung stärker zu prüfen. Denn wenn verbindliche Zusatzanforderungen für alle Gastgeberländer eingeführt würden, könnten gefürchtete Wettbewerbsnachteile ausgeschlossen werden. Die Studie entwirft zusätzlich alternative Szenarien für Regelungen einzelner Staaten oder Staatengruppen.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links