Photovoltaic and the RoHS Directive

  • Duration 05/2010 - 06/2010

Photovoltaic is one promising renewable energy technology for a future sustainable energy supply. The photovoltaic sector accordingly undertakes numerous efforts to reduce production costs and increase efficiency.
As a result various substances can be used as semiconductors in photovoltaics. This variety has gained particular importance in the field of thin-film cells. In this application, especially cadmium telluride (CdTe) is used as an alternative to silicon. The use of gallium arsenide, indium phosphide and other substances that sometimes promise significantly higher efficiencies are discussed for future developments.
Some of these substances raise toxicological concerns, which also applies to a number of other input materials such as lead used in solders. The use of such substances in electrical and electronic equipment is therefore regulated by the EC Directive 2002/95/EC (RoHS). PV is, however, not yet covered by the RoHS.
Against this background, it should be discussed whether it is necessary to extend the scope of the RoHS directive to PV.


Project team

Co-ordination

Staff

Client/sponsor

  • The Non-Toxic Solar Alliance e.V. (NTSA)

Photovoltaik und die RoHS Direktive

  • Laufzeit 05/2010 - 06/2010

Photovoltaik ist einer der vielversprechenden Energieträger einer zukünftigen nachhaltigen Energieversorgung. Dementsprechend gibt es bei der Photovoltaik zahlreiche Bemühungen zur Verringerung der Produktionskosten und zur Erhöhung des Wirkungsgrades.
In der Folge dieser Bemühungen, kommen insbesondere bei den in der Photovoltaik eingesetzten Halbleitern eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Stoffe zum Einsatz. Diese Alternativen haben insbesondere bei Dünnschichtzellen an Bedeutung gewonnen. Hier wird neben Silizium gegenwärtig insbesondere Cadmiumtellurid (CdTe) eingesetzt. Daneben werden für den zukünftigen Einsatz Gallium-Arsenid, Indiumphosphid und weitere Stoffe diskutiert, die teilweise deutlich höhere Wirkungsgrade versprechen.
Eine Reihe dieser Stoffe ist als toxikologisch bedenklich einzustufen, das gilt ebenfalls für eine einige weitere Einsatzstoffe wie etwa Blei in den verwendeten Loten. Die Verwendung dieser Stoffe in Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten ist daher in der EG-Richtlinie 2002/95/EG (RoHS) geregelt. Die Photovoltaik wird jedoch bisher nicht von der RoHS erfasst.
Vor diesem Hintergrund soll daher diskutiert werden, ob eine Einbeziehung der Photovoltaik unter den Geltungsbereich der RoHS geboten erscheint oder nicht.


Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer

  • The Non-Toxic Solar Alliance e.V. (NTSA)